1995 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1995 Acura Legend LS Sedan V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103348 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

An expensive car so far

Faults:

I recently bought this car. So far I had to replace the driver side half shaft, both tie rods including (have to do wheel alignment after this).

I have recently learned that I will have to replace radiator and thermostat since the top tank started to leak. We could not find this problem when we were buying the car.

I had to also do a complete tune up like spark plugs, fuel filter, air filter, air intake valve, transmission oil change. Brakes were making noise off and on, so had to replace the brake pads with silicon brake pads.

May have to change the new spark plugs again!

General Comments:

It handles good on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1995 Acura Legend Sedan LS 3.2L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired94383 miles
Most recent distance97298 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Faults:

So far the only problem was getting the radio code, which the dealer charged me $70.00 for a 5 digit code.

The rear right wheel (lower suspension arm) also was a bit noise, but some silicon lubricant seems to have temporarily fix that.

General Comments:

The car handles great.

Compared to my 97 eclipse, its much more responsive and faster when accelerating.

The car is also a bit bumpy, I was expecting a smoother ride, but I can live with it.

The car is fast, but not very fast. The problem is that there are no mods for this car.

Currently the engine has about 200 horses (Type 1 engine) and about 210 for torque, not bad, but it weighs 3,550lbs.

If it were to compete with BMW and V-8 cars, it would need to have over 330 horses/torque, something only available with a high end supercharger or turbo I say at least 15-20 pounds of pressure, plus internal engine mods. However, there are no such mods for the legend.

Passing cars on the freeway is a breeze.

Overall, I love my legend, its faster and better looking than the eclipse, especially when it comes to performance. However, the advantage of the eclipse was that getting mods for some serious power (for a four banger) was easy and not that expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2003

4th Apr 2004, 11:40

Maybe you have a coupe. The 93+ coupes have a Type II engine with 220 hp. so does the GS, which is a sedan.

24th Jul 2004, 00:02

Actually, the Acura Legend Type II V6 has 230 horsepower, not 220. All other 91-95 Legends have 200 horses.

17th Jun 2005, 20:30

Whats the difference between type I and type II engine? variable valve timing?

1995 Acura Legend LS COUPE 3.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Used it is a quality bargain

Faults:

Nothing to date. The brake light is going on and off, think I may have a bad master cylinder like my 94 legend.

General Comments:

Front seats are a little tight for my wide American tush, but the car accelerates and handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

4th Oct 2006, 10:38

I have the 94 L sedan, and the 95 LS coupe. I love the LS coupe. The quality of the interior is amazing, the way the doors close automatically and the type 2 engine make this car so appealing. Also the way it looks is just beautiful. The 95 LS coupe is a classic, I love mine.

1995 Acura Legend LS 3.2 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.2 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Luxury, style, and performance in a sedan package

Faults:

Although this car was 5 years old when I purchased it, I have had no major problems from this car except:

The Airbag (SRS) Light came on. I had the system checked and it was a bad wire.

The Bose C.D. changer sometimes can't read the disk.

The sunroof sticks occasionally.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is one of the best cars I have ever owned.

It handles like an Integra with a V6. I sometimes forget that I am driving a luxury sedan. The 3.2 liter engine is responsive and powerful with 200 horses. The transmission shifts smoothly and quickly.

The interior is beautiful and gives the true meaning of luxury. The leather seats are comfortable and relaxing and the heated front seats will warm you effectively. The layout of controls are perfectly placed except the sunroof button (which is on the far left side of the steering wheel). There is plenty of room for 4 adults maybe even 5. The trunk is large and spacious and can hold plenty of luggage for highway traveling.

The exterior is gorgeous. The head and tail lights are attractive and highly visible.

The gas mileage is marginal and on a good day average for a car of this size and power.

I thought I would never find another car that blends luxury and performance and offer plenty of space like my 1994 Nissan Maxima SE, I was wrong. Although the Legend doesn't out-perform my Maxima, it comes very close.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

30th Nov 2004, 10:38

94 maxima can't touch a legend with a stick. I've drove one before and ran up against two 96 max.

14th Jan 2005, 13:18

Coincidental that you replaced a Maxima SE with a Legend! I have thought long and hard about what car I would be willing to do that with. I have had a 93SE 5sp since 1997, love it, but am about ready for a change. Your review confirms what I think, a Legend would be fabulous, but to be quicker than the MaxSE I'll have to find a GS.

Thanks for your review.

17th Jun 2005, 20:33

Yo if you can find any legend in good condition, pick it up, its well worth it.

19th Jun 2007, 19:44

In response to the comment from July 6, 2004. The 1994/95 Legend 4 door sedan only came with the Type-II (230HP) engine in the "GS" trim, and the "L" or "LS" had only 200HP.

However, the 2 door coupe only came in L or LS, and both had the Type-II engine with 230 horses.

7th Sep 2008, 07:30

Hello, I purchased my 95 Acura Legend July 2007. The first few months were great!! Then the problems started. First the temp. gage would bounce from hot to cool. I replaced the thermostat, problem did not go away. I had to top off with antifreeze at least twice a week. Next I replaced the radiator, problem still there. Replaced the radiator cap, that helped for a little while but the problem came back. Then I needed to replace the CV joint on the passenger side. While getting that replaced, found out that the Master Cylinder was going bad. Had that part replaced. Over heating problem was still happening, but the car never cut off while over heating. Next I had to replace the intake valves and the radiator again. Finally found out that the Water Pump was bad. The car is being repaired right now for the water pump and the timing belt. The first few months were great, after that, its been problem after problem since. People tell me that since I have put so much money into the car I should keep it. I am really ready to get rid of it because I am afraid that something else is going to go wrong. If that happens, the car is history.

27th May 2013, 00:13

Did you have anymore troubles with overheating after the water pump?

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 13 reviews