2001 Acura MDX Touring from North America - Comments

17th Jun 2009, 14:59

Our 2001 MDX ran fine until about 125,000 miles. While on a six hour road trip the transmission temperature light came on. We kept driving and eventually it went off. Our local mechanic flushed the transmission and said it's going to go.

Just keep driving it until it does. It began slipping at 151,000 miles and after a $2400 rebuild it seems to be fine.

It's a good thing we took out an extended warranty at 125,000 miles.

It cost us $1000 and they paid us back $2175.00 against the repair.

Does anybody else have a whistling noise when accelerating. It stops when you lift off the gas? It's been there since about 75000 miles.

26th Sep 2009, 00:48

I must say after reading all the bad stuff about the MDX, I was very cautious about buying mine.

However, I did enough research on the vehicle to know that the MDX I bought already went through the spring replacement and the trans fix. I am not sure if was replaced or had the second gear cooler installed.

So far I'm impressed with it, it's got enough bells and whistles on it to please me. I like the black leather interior and all the compartments to store things.

I have owned mine now for 10 months, and it has 123000 miles on it. The only thing I noticed was a little down shifting irregularities coming from highway speed to a stop sign. I have learned to live with that and it has not gotten worse, it just happens once in a while.

I too have that little whining sound during acceleration, I was told that was a characteristics of the vehicle and not to worry about it.

I was told my a friend who is a mechanic that Acura MDX is one of the best vehicles. He has seen very few come into the shop. I trust his opinion, he has been in the car biz for 10 years and knows cars pretty good. I am confident mine will go the distance, with normal maintenance.

6th Jan 2010, 12:13

I bought my 01 MDX back in November 2005 with 70k. In September 2006 the transmission went after parking on a steep hill. I had an extended warranty, so they replaced it at the dealer for $100 deductible.

This week, after moving the SUV in the snow in Boston this past Sunday, the transmission went again. The dealer told me the warranty was expired as of September 09. I have to get it rebuilt for $1900. I have no choice because I cannot afford another car that size. I loved Acura, as this is my second one, and I have referred the MDX to 3 other people that bought one. BUT NEVER AGAIN!!! I'm done, things are tough enough out there.

5th Feb 2010, 21:52

The transmission on my 2002 MDX went out this week at 129,000 miles. It cost $4,700 at the dealer to replace it with an Acura re-manufactured unit. This is the second total transmission failure I have had with Honda/Acura on cars I bought new. The first was a 1994 Honda Accord EX whose transmission went out at 80,000 miles. I will not buy another Honda or Acura. I paid a premium for a vehicle I expected to get 200k out of, but I did not even get close to 200k. I can buy a Ford for a lot less, and will do that next time.

7th Jul 2010, 17:34

My transmission went out at 110,000 miles. I had an extended warranty that when to 100,000 miles. My dealer Hopkins Acura, Fairfield Ca. replaced it and gave me a warranty for $250. It needs the front struts replaced now, but at 195,000 miles it's due. This is a great car and great service, better than the BMW and Mercedes cars and dealers I've dealt with.

22nd Jul 2010, 15:10

I have an 2001 Acura MDX Touring, and have noticed for the last 2 years that when I take off from a stop sign, I feel a vibration only when accelerating, like it's going over small speed bumps. The ones that warn you you're coming up to a stop sign. And also it varies while driving. Never past 40 miles an hr.

The other day was the first day it started making a noise. My husband thought it sounded like the anti-lock brakes, but it never does it when I brake; just accelerating.

It has 97000 miles on it and has the maintenance done when should be. Any ideas, I would appreciate it. I don't have the money for a new vehicle, and since I just paid it off, I would like it to last a lot longer.

Thanks for any advice anyone could give me. Rhonda.

12th Sep 2010, 21:37

Hi Rhonda.

It is the torque converter. Same thing happened to me and that is exactly what I observed with the small speed bump feeling. Common for these.

14th Sep 2010, 19:06

I have a 2001 MDX with 159k miles... NEVER a problem, although I am now starting to have the 2nd gear slippage that I have read about... I LOVE these cars... Problems are rare in Acuras... I have had the original CL... Then a CL S-Type and now the MDX... These truly are great cars...

PS... Whoever was having the speed bump noise... This is the torque converter, a friend went through the same thing... Good luck.

30th Sep 2010, 22:04

Have a 2001 MDX with 128k. Needs a new tyranny, though it's been a great car. No warranty, but my Acura dealer contacted corporate for me, and was able to replace it new for $850. Seems like a good deal, though they uphold me on another $1200 worth of repairs and services.. belts and diff service. Very reasonable.

17th Apr 2011, 10:40

Sounds like the torque converter in your transmission. Common problem with that year. Only replace the converter, not the whole transmission.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site