2003 Acura TL Reviews - Page 5 of 12

2003 Acura TL TLS 3.2 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired22 kilometres
Most recent distance63500 kilometres
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Love the ride, hate the transmission!

Faults:

Very frustrated, my Acura 3.2TLS is about to have it's fourth transmission installed tomorrow! I have 63,400 KM.

Distance covered from its 3rd transmission to 4th transmission is only 1,500 KM! How does one ensure that they will continue to honor replacements, as I know I will need another, and then another, and then another transmission! Help me if you can!

General Comments:

Everything else about the vehicle I love!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2007

2003 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Not looking so good

Faults:

I just got a call from the Acura dealer saying the P0740 code came up in on my car's computer. I bought this car used from the same dealer less than 16 months ago and have driven less than 16k miles. I was not aware of the transmission problems at the time and am wondering what recourse I have. They obviously knew of the recall and supposedly checked this car during the recall. The car is experiencing all of the problems (not switching gears, stalling, etc) that other buyers have seen. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

General Comments:

Until now this was a great car. I just had the 60,000 mile tune-up (at 56,000 miles) I am very concerned with the P0740 code.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th November, 2007

2003 Acura TL Type-S 3.2L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance70800 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

Very nice car

Faults:

Sept 2004; 19,400mi.; Warranty: Recall for automatic transmission, excessive heat on 2nd gear, inspect and install oil jet.

OEM tires were not very good for several reasons, so those were replaced at 40,000mi.

Feb 2006; 44,100mi.; Warranty: VSA and lights activate when turning right, right front wheel sensor replaced.

Mar 2006; 44,600mi.; Warranty: CD's sticking in changer, replaced in-dash CD unit.

General Comments:

My first new car purchase since 1982. Handles well, gets good gas mileage with good performance, reliable and comfortable.

I now have 70,800mi. on the car and it still feels tight and new. It's quiet inside and looks good outside.

Overall an 8.5 out of 10.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2007

2003 Acura TL from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great riding car, but not worth it if tranny is bad

General Comments:

I'm glad I'm reading all this feedback on the vehicle. I bought mine at Carmax over the weekend. With all this feedback, I'm thinking that I'll return the vehicle within the 5 day return window that they offer. Its such a shame because the vehicle rides like a charm. I don't want to just pick up the extended service plan, because you never know where you will be when the tranny fails. Its potentially dangerous! I called an Acura dealer today to perform a buyers inspection. I asked the service guy about the tranny problem. I told him that it had 50K on it. He said that he usually finds that they fail before 50K! He offered that Acura will fix them for free up to 101000 miles. Small consolation, though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th October, 2007

2003 Acura TL 3.2TL 6 cy from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cy Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

I hate my Acura 3.2TL!

Faults:

My transmission failed after only 4 weeks I purchase the car. My car's vin no. is not on the recall list so I'm on my own. Getting a remanufactured transmission. Will get rid of the car soon.

General Comments:

The car is fast, but expect the transmission to fail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2007

2nd Oct 2007, 12:22

The VIN number is not an issue. If you have had multiple repairs, you may be protected under lemon laws. I had the same problem with my Acura and turned it in and received a repurchase check, after 5 transmissions & multiple attempted repairs. One of the replaced transmissions only lasted 1 day.

12th Oct 2007, 18:07

If you own a TL and have had transmission issues, most likely you can prevail in a lemon law suit. If you are experiencing the standard run around from Acura service, call a lemon law attorney immediately. Most likely you will have a case due to the nature of the recall and Acura's inability to resolve the defect.

2003 Acura TL Type S 3.2 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Transmission defect imposes a severe safety hazard to Acura drivers and passengers.

General Comments:

The intention of this review is to advise current and prospective owners of Acura automobiles that are subject to defective transmissions.

After 5 replacement transmissions, I finally reached a settlement with Acura, after having to retain a skilled attorney. It is too grievous to mention the time, energy and frustration resulting from American Honda's ability to make good on the repairs. Being nice, such as trying to work with the dealerships, better business bureau, mediation, Acura client service, etc. does not work.

I recommend anyone experiencing any issue with transmission to obtain an attorney right away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

27th Sep 2007, 19:17

"Lemon"

- I am very surprised to read that remark about this car after having heard many times how "world class" it is.

28th Sep 2007, 15:55

Apparently you haven't read too many reviews about the TL on this site... soo many blue faces.

3rd Aug 2009, 18:14

I agree. I am the owner of a Acura 2002 and my transmission is gone for the 3rd time in less than 7 years. This should be a a recall and complete refund to these owners for repairs and time... Rita.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 45 reviews