2005 Acura TL With Navi 3.2 Liter V6 from North America


Needs a lot of work, improvement in quality, improvement in customer service


4 Transmissions in the first 30K miles.

Seats have started to wear badly at around 8K miles.

Navigation system reset on me 10 times while driving.

You can't drive down the road without rattles!!

CD's got stuck in the stereo!

Heat shield chirps when driving 50mph+!!

Bi-Xenon headlight wore out in the first 8k miles!

Horn does not work, even after 3 repair attempts!!

There's plenty more, if you want any more info, please feel free to email me at ClairAcuraSucks@gmail.com.

General Comments:

Rattle Box on wheels! It's a great price because they use the cheapest materials out there, and the quality of the build isn't all that great either. Too much torque steer, too much body roll, too many problems!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2007

20th Aug 2007, 09:42

This review does not make sense at all. First of there is no recall on 2005 Acura TL's for a transmission defect, and second there is no known problem to cause continuous failure of the transmission unless it was driver error.

7th Feb 2008, 13:59

Uh. it's a front wheel drive car. of course you are gonna get torque steer. obviously you had a LEMON, this is not a common issue or their would have been a major recall. please use some common sense and don't bash a car because you happened to had one that was lemoned.

29th Jan 2010, 02:56

Bash the car all you want, it's your story, just cause nobody else had this lemon, doesn't mean you can't warn people like me.

2005 Acura TL from North America




I have had to take my TL to the dealer multiple times to check on the rattling, wearing out of leather in the center arm rest and internal noise.

General Comments:

I love my car except for the issues with cheap construction. The dealers are very responsive, but you'd think that when you buy a luxury car, you won't have to deal with the issues mentioned above. I'm not sure I'd buy another acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

12th Aug 2007, 20:44

You have noticed a few issues that could have happened to other cars. Take in mind that the Acura has a sporty suspension that shakes the car jitter causing rattles. I would think wearing down of leather, etc could have happened to any car and it is not because it is cheap. It not a 50,000 car after all.

13th Aug 2007, 10:54

The RL is 50K; not the sport suspension, like my TL.

2005 Acura TL from North America


Hit a curb, blew a tire, and had to have the car realigned which I expected. HOWEVER; the roof ALSO crumpled around the sunroof due to the hit (and the curb I hit was no worse than hitting a pothole). Have to have roof replaced as the dents cannot be repaired. My "curb" incident is now deemed a full-on accident by insurance. Found out this is VERY common for Acuras as per several Acura blogs and websites. Apparently the roof flexes on even a small impact and the end result is the large dents that now appear around my sunroof. Wow! I feel safe in this car now. Hit a curb and my roof integrity is violated. AMAZING. What would have happened if I had actually hit a car? Is there a class action lawsuit out about this since it appears to be fairly common? If so email me at jdsully@roadrunner.com.

General Comments:

Up until this point, I loved this car. Now I'm not sure I'll ever have an Acura again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

20th Jul 2007, 22:45

Look at the crash tests on NHTSA and the insurance institute. These cars are very safe, and I challenge you to find anywhere this car is on the bottom of the list of safe vehicles.

21st Jul 2007, 05:45

Hes not saying that it is indeed not safe, what hes saying is that for such a small impact, there was a lot of structual damage, and he is WONDERING what would happen in a more severe collision.

The car is probably safe, but it just wasnt designed to handle minor impacts well seeing that his roof has to be replaced from this minor incident.

21st Jul 2007, 20:55

What are you doing hitting curves? Pay attention to the road! You also said it was not that hard. What, do you hit curves on a regular basis? You probably hit it hard.

6th Jun 2008, 16:09

Indeed, they may not be as tough as German cars, but acura's hold up extremely well, I bet it was more than a canyon than a pothole...

21st Nov 2008, 16:18

You must have hit the curb very hard. Were you drinking coffee, on the cell phone, not paying attention on the road or just got out of a pub? Blaming the car for your poor driving habit?

25th Mar 2009, 22:46

I hit an island with no ramp on it, curb was at least 6 inches high, I was making a left turn in the night, going maybe 15 to 20 mph, my 04 TL hit the curb so hard, I thought I got hit by another car. Pulled over to inspect for damage, for sure I thought I split the tire and rim in half, as my car lifted up at least 7 to 10 inches in the air, well, only thing happened was, my aspec spoiler had a major scratch on the bottom, and the whole front end plastics were mis-aligned, I hit it back in place, it snapped back in. That was it!