2005 Acura TL Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2005 Acura TL 3.2L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

A fantastic car for those in the market for a sports sedan!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. My car is still running as if it had just come off the assembly line.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic! A friend of mine owns an Infiniti G35 - which has a little more power - but I like my car better. The one little complaint I have is the center armrest. Although you can adjust the armrest, it just never seems to be in the right position. Besides that, the only other I would change would be to get the navigation system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2005

2005 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my Acura TL since I purchased it in March 2005.

General Comments:

It has ample power, solid ride, good road grip, and best of all, its style is extremely sleek and "sexy".

It does look much like the BMW 745. The new C class from Mercedes or the 330 from BMW, doesn't even come close in terms of reliability, power and style. But then again, it's all a matter of individual preference and taste.

I love my '95 C-280 too. But it had too many electronic problems from day 1. I hope the Acura will not offer me a repeat of the same treat. I don't need it.

Unlike other reviewers, I have not had any rattling noise from anywhere in the cabin. That could be due to the fact that I have less than 2000 miles on it.

Overall rating: 9.5.

Recommended improvements: 1) Front seats need to be more level for comfort. 2) Armrest needs to be closer to the driver's (full) elbow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2005

30th Jun 2005, 22:55

Agree with your comment about the drivers seat, very uncomfortable IMO..

8th Aug 2005, 21:06

Definitely. An arm rest would be nice indeed, especially when you're driving long distance with cruise control. Instead, Acura put 2 glass holders, right where the arm rest should be. Besides, glass holders shouldn't be too close to the gear shift because of potential spills. I bought my 2005 TL in January 2005. I had a Honda Accord before. It had a comfortable arm rest, I'm spoiled.

28th Aug 2005, 08:45

Our Acura TL is driven mostly by my wife. She absolutely loves this car. I haven driven some of the 1200 miles on the OD and I have to say that I don't miss the arm rest! I find my driving position to be both hands on the wheel and trying to stay only 10 mile over the speed limit!!

8th Nov 2005, 00:10

Just in case you didn't know. The armrest on the TL slide forward for comfort on those long drives & you can level out the driver's seat. I Love my new 06. I drive about 1000 miles a week in it. the navi is almost effortless once you get taught how to work it. My wife now drives my 04 w/o nav it has over 90,000 miles on it and it still runs like a champ! the guys at my dealership are wonderful. If you are within a couple hundred miles of south jersey you must check out Acura of Turnersville! They delivered my car to the house, because of my busy schedule. I wish I could put into words the joy I had dealing with them.

Sincerely,

Acura owner for life.

2005 Acura TL from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3700 miles
Previous carVolvo S60

Summary:

Until this happened - I loved it!

Faults:

At approximately 3650 miles the transmission would not go into reverse. I had it towed to the local dealer who sold me the car. They had it for a week and could not duplicate the problem.

The factory recommended replacement of a couple of solenoid valves, so the dealer did so and I picked up the car on May 31.

The very next day the exact same problem happened.

The car is now back at the dealer - and they are now saying that they once again cannot duplicate the problem and want to replace the transmission.

I told them I do not want the car back, and have filed a case with American Honda - who have yet to call me back to discuss this matter.

I will post the results for all to see.

General Comments:

I am extremely unimpressed with American Honda's lack of any sense of urgency.

Apparently once you experience problems such as this you become an adversary instead of a customer.

If our company treated its customers like this we would be out of business in about 2 months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2005

4th Jun 2005, 01:26

How was the Volvo you had prior to this car, in terms of performance, reliability and overall style in your own opinion?

Thanks!

4th Jun 2005, 15:07

There is a law firm specialising in Lemons... I heard the owner on the radio recently, but can't recall which city he is based out of. California some where. With the right legal firm the manufacturer will normally give in apparently.

Good luck !

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews