7th Oct 2009, 15:59

I own a 2003 Acura 3.2 TL, and the transmission just died at 74,000 miles. I was also not part of VIN list that got the automatic power train warranty extension to 100,000+ miles. I paid for 1/2 the transmission cost, but feel cheated because I'm sure Honda knows of this problem. I started a Yahoo alias group for owners who didn't get extension. I figure the more we are, the more likely Honda will include us in the extension, or we file a class action law suit to include us.


Make sure you also file a complaint with http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/index.cfm

9th Oct 2009, 06:48

I avoided further grief by disclosing the defect and selling ours at 41000 miles. I figured someone could use its parts.

14th Oct 2009, 18:59

My Acura 2002 TL seems to be jerking seriously. I almost had an accident and am really scared about driving it now. Also my D5 light started flashing as well whilst driving. This car has 164000 miles on it. Someone please help me on how to get this situation fix. Thanks, this site has been helpful!

16th Oct 2009, 09:17

To the Oct 14th poster with the flashing D5 light, I'm no mechanic, but it sounds like your transmission. Mine did something similar - it was jerking and it was flashing several D4 and D5 lights. You need to take it to an Acura dealership if you still think it is under warranty or take it to a trusted mechanic who works on Acuras or Hondas. You might even call the dealership first if you are worried about driving it.

2nd Nov 2009, 09:56

I have a 2002 TL-S. I wish I had done more extensive research before I bought this car to find out people were replacing tranny multiple times. I figured that original owner had replaced the part under warranty earlier so nothing to worry about. Ya right!

Fluid changes and tranny fix stuff has only "band-aided" the issue. Have the 2nd to 3rd gear shudder regularly now. I'm worried about a complete failure on the highway so looking at getting it done at Mr. Transmision for $2975 Ca plus taxes. Crap!

11th Nov 2009, 16:59

I have a 2002 Acura TL-S with 99000 miles on it, and it has performed flawlessly, but noticed a slight transmission slippage the other day. Took it to dealer and they put in a new tranny the next day under the special 100k transmission warranty, and hopefully the new tranny will last 100k miles also.

18th Nov 2009, 18:21

I have a 2003 Acura 3.2 TL Type S with 72K miles. I bought it used at a dealership 10 months ago. Already the transmission is starting to go out. I've been having the same exact problems as everyone else with a messed up TL transmission. Excessive jerking and slipping especially in 2nd and 3rd gear. VSA light and d5 lights comes on. I run a diagnostic on the car and the code p0740 comes on just like everyone else.

I take it to an Acura dealership and they say my car isn't included in the extended warranty and they want to charge me $3700. I think that's crap, even though my car has the exact same symptoms as everyone else with a faulty tranny. Obviously they didn't fix the problem in the 2003 models, but they didn't want to extend the warranty either.

19th Nov 2009, 13:40

I have a 2003 Acura 3.2 TL Type S with 73k miles. My transmissions seems to be having the same problems as everyone else also, and I need to get it replaced. And like a lot of people, my VIN number is not covered under the extended warranty. I feel like I got cheated.

If you have a complaint make sure you file it with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Their website is:


Our voices need to be heard. We shouldn't have to pay so much to fix such a poorly made product. I mean it's a luxury car.

27th Nov 2009, 23:53

I just bought a 20002 Acura and it's shifting hard. However because it has 159000 miles, it's not covered.. Does anyone have any advice for me, email junglehulk2@yahoo.com

22nd Dec 2009, 23:27

I just purchased a 2003 TL-S with 61k on Dec 19 2009. Now after doing this research, I am a little sick. I found out the recall fix was completed in '04 and the tranny was replaced in '06. Does anyone know if the tranny replaced in '06 is the redesigned model, or am I screwed like the rest? There is only 18k on this tranny now, and it's working fine. Any suggestions on whether to trade in or keep for a while?

27th Dec 2009, 15:31

Hello, I have a 2002 TL Type-S with 82,000 miles on it and it is driving like a dream, but I have read all the horror stories everyone has encountered, Is there a reason these trannys are failing? Wrong fluid? Using the Sport shifter wrong?


27th Dec 2009, 17:53

Why trade it in if it's working fine? You'll be sure to lose money on the trade-in through sales and property taxes on a newer car. That's money out the window every time you purchase a newer car.

I'm like you in that I have a replaced tranny in 06 and assume it's a good one, but not certain. However, right now it's doing great. I'm not trading in my car, I just make sure I have enough money to replace a transmission if I should need too. If I end up never needing to replace the transmission, then I'll put that money towards the purchase of a new car. It never hurts to have a little money in the bank.

29th Dec 2009, 19:20

Took my 2003 Acura TL Type S in for service because I noticed the tranny slipping at about 85,000 miles. The dealer suggested I should replace it. The cost is $4,500, but they said Acura would complete it for under $1,000. It's not under warranty, but wonder what others have experienced with having the tranny replaced, and at what cost for the model not covered under warranty?

6th Jan 2010, 06:38

Have a 2002 Acura TLS with 97,000 miles. When the transmission recall came out, we took our Acura in for service, which was supposed to take care of the transmission issue Acura had, and still is having. Now at 97,000 miles, the transmission in slipping between 2nd. and 3rd. gears. With 97,000 miles, what can I do to get Acura to replace my transmission?

12th Jan 2010, 17:34

Hi everyone, what a great site. I too have a 2003 Acura TL-s type. Had no problems till last week. The flashing of d5 and d4 lights, the vsa light, check engine light all came on. I drove it home very carefully, the next day just the engine light was on. I took it to my mechanic; he said the codes were for the tranny. I am taking it to the Acura dealer on Saturday. I hope they can help me.

The car has only 60,000 miles, but that seems to be the time the tranny goes. I was a very faithful Honda buyer, but after this I will not buy a Honda or Acura again. Will let you all know how it goes.

15th Jan 2010, 17:07

2002 Acura TL S-Type bought in 2001. 1st transmission went out at 30k miles (Acura replaced in 2003). I have taken great care of the car, and replaced two motor mounts just due to age. Replaced transmission just went out last night at 124k miles. Took it to Acura and was told that I have to pay half of the cost - $2200! Sounds like everyone's replacement transmission is a problem. Glad I am not the only one!

If we have enough people that have had the same issue, please be sure to file the complaint (takes about 10 minutes):