2002 Acura TL Type-S 3.2 V6 from North America

Summary:

This is an AMAZING car. It's just sad that they're not built in Japan where quality is still a given

Faults:

Transmission needed replaced.

General Comments:

We bought our TL for $2000, knowing that the transmission had to be replaced. We found a used transmission for $1200 (shipping included) with about 80,000 miles on it. Our friend is installing it for $350. The previous owners took extremely good care of the car, no rust, all maintenance records (done at Acura or Honda dealers), the interior is absolutely pristine.

With respect to the transmission problems, I don't blame Honda, the problem is that this car is built in Marysville, Ohio. Had the car been built in Japan, I believe there would be no issues whatsoever. Sad to say, but "American quality" with respect to cars is so ridiculously low that it's pathetic - so pathetic the Government had to rescue Detroit from self destruction. I would love to see Honda close up shop in Ohio, and have their cars made in Japan, where quality is still a given, unlike American auto workers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2012

2002 Acura TL Type S 3.2 from North America

Summary:

If the transmission was reliable, it would be a great car

Faults:

I bought this Acura TL used in very good condition.

The transmission had recently been serviced.

At 160,000 miles, the transmission started slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear.

RPMs revving like it was not in gear at all.

Otherwise, the car has been comfortable and reliable so far.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable.

The defrost system does not seem to be adequate in very cold climates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2010

30th Dec 2010, 15:17

You are lucky the car even made it to 160k, check out other reviews on the site.

My girlfriends 2004 Accord has been sitting in the driveway for about a month now, the transmission won't shift and we cannot afford a new one for a few months at least as money is tight. She is driving an old Geo Metro we got for $500 until we can save up the $3000 for the new tranny.

We are hoping to get it fixed and sell it, no more Honda's for us!

2002 Acura TL S 3.2 from North America

Summary:

Fast, fun, trouble-prone transmission (apparently)

Faults:

Car has been relatively trouble free until transmission problems that recently surfaced.

General Comments:

Great car... but the transmission repair will cost some US$4,200. Time to get rid of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2010

2002 Acura TL from North America

Summary:

I'll not buy another Acura anytime soon

Faults:

I have a strange transmission slip. I say strange because it does not lose power or halt, but it makes sort of a grinding/vibrating noise. I push on the accelerator, and it immediately goes away.

I have not had the car serviced for this problem; I'm afraid that if the dealer does something, I'll need a new tranny in a short time. The car runs great otherwise.

I do not like the need for high test gas, but the performance (except for the tranny noise) is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2010

23rd Jun 2010, 15:03

If not under warranty which is unlikely for a 2002, I would suggest you take to an independent transmission shop to have it checked out. They will be cheaper than a dealer. A local shop here rebuilds trans for around $2500. Waiting only allows the problem to get worse.

2002 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Faults:

I bought this car as a used car, and it was running perfect for a couple of weeks, and then started to slip the transmission. When I called the Acura dealer and tried to find out if it's a recall, they actually don't care and I was very disappointed with their customer service. I would not recommend any one to buy from 2002 till 2004 Acura TL 3.2. I think 99.9% have transmission problems.

Temour Sayed.

General Comments:

Don't buy the Acura TL 2001 till 2003 or 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2010

15th Jan 2010, 16:59

The writer buys a 8 year old car apparently without any warranty, does not say what mileage and expects the manufacturer to replace the transmission. Don't think so.

I drive an 03 TL Type S with 68,000 miles with no transmission problems. Does that mean I am in the .1 per cent, as writer would have us believe 99.9 per cent are bad?

16th Jan 2010, 09:50

I bought one brand new first trans went at 28000 miles. I started looking for another car afterwards.

5th May 2010, 03:04

I have a 2002 Acura TL Type S with 229xxx miles on it with the original transmission. I'm the only owner, and I never had any problem.

I don't know what happened with the rest of Acuras. The only thing I did is the transmission flush every 30000 to 35000 miles.