2002 Acura TL S 3.2 from North America

Summary:

Fast, fun, trouble-prone transmission (apparently)

Faults:

Car has been relatively trouble free until transmission problems that recently surfaced.

General Comments:

Great car... but the transmission repair will cost some US$4,200. Time to get rid of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2010

2002 Acura TL from North America

Summary:

I'll not buy another Acura anytime soon

Faults:

I have a strange transmission slip. I say strange because it does not lose power or halt, but it makes sort of a grinding/vibrating noise. I push on the accelerator, and it immediately goes away.

I have not had the car serviced for this problem; I'm afraid that if the dealer does something, I'll need a new tranny in a short time. The car runs great otherwise.

I do not like the need for high test gas, but the performance (except for the tranny noise) is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2010

23rd Jun 2010, 15:03

If not under warranty which is unlikely for a 2002, I would suggest you take to an independent transmission shop to have it checked out. They will be cheaper than a dealer. A local shop here rebuilds trans for around $2500. Waiting only allows the problem to get worse.

2002 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Faults:

I bought this car as a used car, and it was running perfect for a couple of weeks, and then started to slip the transmission. When I called the Acura dealer and tried to find out if it's a recall, they actually don't care and I was very disappointed with their customer service. I would not recommend any one to buy from 2002 till 2004 Acura TL 3.2. I think 99.9% have transmission problems.

Temour Sayed.

General Comments:

Don't buy the Acura TL 2001 till 2003 or 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2010

15th Jan 2010, 16:59

The writer buys a 8 year old car apparently without any warranty, does not say what mileage and expects the manufacturer to replace the transmission. Don't think so.

I drive an 03 TL Type S with 68,000 miles with no transmission problems. Does that mean I am in the .1 per cent, as writer would have us believe 99.9 per cent are bad?

16th Jan 2010, 09:50

I bought one brand new first trans went at 28000 miles. I started looking for another car afterwards.

5th May 2010, 03:04

I have a 2002 Acura TL Type S with 229xxx miles on it with the original transmission. I'm the only owner, and I never had any problem.

I don't know what happened with the rest of Acuras. The only thing I did is the transmission flush every 30000 to 35000 miles.

2002 Acura TL Type S 3.2 from North America

Summary:

Fun car, very unreliable

Faults:

I owned the car for 4 months. The car had 68,000 miles and the transmission went bad. Acura extended the warranty on this model year because it had known problems - apparently known to everyone but me.

The rear seat leather has not worn well.

General Comments:

Great car, fun car, but not nearly as reliable as the Acura reputation would have you believe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2009

2002 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Faults:

My transmission was fine until I reached 98k miles when it slipped and would not go into gear after 3 hours of trying. Acura towed my car and replaced the transmission for free, and even through a return line in the transmissions cooler are for free. I have never had problems with my TL except for the transmission, but I honestly think that if you drive the car like an adult, you'll be fine without worrying too much. After all, the transmissions at the junkyard are getting cheaper and cheaper with age if you have to pay for them yourself. Put some Cheveron/Shell 93 octane and Valvoline 5w/20 oil in the car on a regular basis, and you'll be fine after your factory recall on the transmission's coolant area is taken care of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2009

28th Sep 2009, 10:38

Glad you like the car, but have you read any comments on this site about the transmission recalls, 2nd gear slippage and factory defects? You say the car needs to be driven like an adult and it won't cause any problems? Comments like these are just plain wrong. I implor you to do more research.