2002 Acura TL Reviews - Page 10 of 13

2002 Acura TL S-type from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Bad investment

Faults:

Tranny failed 3X - 30K, 65K, 85K...

Rear view mirror broke off.

Clear coat on door jam falling off.

6 Disc CD player - broke twice.

General Comments:

After getting a real job, and a little more money I upgraded from a '94 Tbird to an '02 Acura TLS. MY BAD!

I have had 2 transmissions in this car - 1 at 30K and the other at 65K. I am coming up on 85K miles and it is in the shop again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2006

2002 Acura TL Type S 3.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

A lot sportier than I thought, not as plush on the interior as I would have thought

Faults:

The CD player jams with CD's in it and won't play. After online research we were able to fix it at home. Seems this is not an uncommon problem when using burnt CD's.

General Comments:

This car is a rocket and I have never driven a car that handles so well. I once had an older Porsche 911. This car would beat the doors of it, granted the Porsche was 20 years old. It is nice on the inside but my GMC pick up is more comfortable and quieter on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

2002 Acura TL Type S 3.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43500 miles
Most recent distance163000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

No Problems here

Faults:

At this point, nothing is wrong.

General Comments:

Had the car for 1 month. No problems. Every thing is working perfect. Transmission is perfect, windows are perfect, engine feels and sounds perfect. Bought it with 43k from dealer, car looks new and feels new, perfect paint, no scratches or dents.

To be safe, I purchased the extended 3 year warranty. I don't plan on using it.

My las car was Honda. It ran perfect also except for regular wear and tear like every car has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

20th Mar 2006, 23:12

My TL S-Type is running perfect, no problems at all my friend just went over 270k on his 2002 with no problems still ran like a top. I wish all you guys the best of luck My tranny shifts like heaven maybe it's a factory issue because I have never heard of this before till now. Take care guys...

2002 Acura TL S 3.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1700 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

My car is trying to kill me!

Faults:

My car has been to two dealers a total of four times because of a really serious problem. I can be pulling out of a parking place or driving down the street, and the engine starts to rev, causing the car to accelerate, even when my foot is on the brake. The only thing that stops it is to put the car into neutral and step on the emergency brake, then turn the motor off. Has anybody else had this problem? I am afraid to drive this car.

General Comments:

I loved the car before this problem started happening. Now I just want to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2005

25th Nov 2005, 23:09

Saw this once on a "Twilight Zone" episode. If you keep this car, it will indeed kill you. Your only hope is to sell it or park it on a rail crossing. Good luck.

12th Apr 2007, 08:38

I had the same problem with my 02 TLS. It was a defective IAC valve.

However I, ve spent way too much on this car. Unfortunately the trade value is too little to get rid of it, so I'm going to try to drive it into the ground or me into the poorhouse, whichever comes first.

27th Sep 2007, 14:46

How do you step on the emergency brake?

2002 Acura TL Type-S from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Not worth the cost of the car

Faults:

The transmission has gone out. This was replaced by Acura without cost to me. The fact that many people have had to replace the transmission more than once is unacceptable for this brand. I will never buy another Acura or Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

5th Sep 2007, 15:11

6/10 for performance? This is not a sports car and most people are surprised as hell to find out how much power it has for a 4 door sedan. Not sure what you are expecting, but last I checked it is a entry level performance luxury car from Japan, not a Lotus. Prior to the Infinity g35, let me know what sets your performance expectations high enough to give it a 6/10 in its category.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews