2002 Acura TL Reviews - Page 11 of 13

2002 Acura TL Type S V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Faults:

Recent transmission "service" prior to my purchase (34,000 miles) a few months ago. Carfax was clear. The car was a one owner lease. I have only owned it a few months, but I totally love the car and knew of the transmission weakness that seems inherent with the newer models. The warranty expires next year or 50,000 miles and I understand the transmission warranty extends beyond that. I have only changed the oil, filter and haven't had any problems. I hope Acura Engineers are working overtime to resolve the transmission issue. I love the Type S and the performance is awesome. My only issue might be better brakes. I have a black model with black leather interior and love the marble look on the console. I had a new Acura Legend as a company car in the past and drove the bosses NSX a few times. Both of those models were great. I bought this as a used personal vehicle my last car was a Pontiac Bonneville which was a really great car. If Acura redesigns their transmissions I will stay a customer as I love this car. As it is now I am afraid to go on a long trip!

General Comments:

Great Car...Engineers need to work overtime and redesign the transmission!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th July, 2005

24th Jul 2005, 18:58

There's a type s for 2005?

5th Aug 2005, 07:51

This is mislabeled as a 2005 Tl type S when it is really a 2002.

3rd Sep 2005, 09:40

I wrote the review and somehow it got placed with 2005 model years. My car is a 2002 Type S and yes I am well aware that the Type S is no longer available. I like the looks of my exterior better than the newer models. Why was the Type S dropped??

30th May 2006, 01:52

Minor correction to the above comment: The 1999-2003 3.2TL actually had 225 horsepower. The TYPE-S version added in 2001 had 260 horsepower.

2002 Acura TL S Type from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Faults:

Well by chance I wanted to see if there are other people out there having the same problems as I am with my transmission. I have a 2002 TL S type and just got my second replacement transmission. Each one went out just over 50,000 miles. It seems that I will have to try and sell this car as fast as I can. This is a real shame because I love it and was looking forward to diving it at least another 3 or 4 years. What I can't understand why Acura refuses to fix the problem and just rebuilds the same trans with the same problem so we can have these issues over and over again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2005

7th Mar 2006, 17:20

I just bought a TL type s. It is a beautiful car. However, I have noticed that the transmission sometimes shifts very hard and that it does not seem to be as powerful as the first couple of weeks. What were the signs or symptoms to your trans going?

9th Apr 2007, 14:28

My 2002 TLS is the last Acura I will buy. Its been nothing, but trouble ever since it hit the 100,000km mark. Besides the 3 transmissions, I, ve had it in for all kinds of service problems that never seem to get fixed. I, m,back this week for the 5th attempt to fix the SRS problem.

2002 Acura TL TLS 3.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance133600 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Great car, just a bad transmission

Faults:

On my 2002 3.2 TLS Acura, my transmission went out at 46,000, got it replaced (Acura paid all) and then #2 trans went out at 133,600. They don't want to pay for the 2nd trans ($4000).

General Comments:

They know they are having transmissions issues, and I don't understand why they are taking the low road on such a fine car. All my miles are highway miles. Still on the original brakes, and they are fine.

If you all know how to get their attention, let me know. Email me at wing1500@aol.com

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2005

17th Jan 2005, 14:59

I agree with the above review. I am also having problems with my 2nd transmission @ 64k miles. The first one went out

@ 30k miles. I am getting ready to take the car in. They better pay for this transmission also. Everything else about the car has been great. But the transmission is a '0'. And is the reason why I am getting ready to sell this car...

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews