2002 Acura TL Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2002 Acura TL Type S from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired81 miles
Most recent distance57600 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I want to get rid of it!

Faults:

Transmission has had to be replaced twice.

General Comments:

I am very concerned about this transmission problem. This is the second time I've had a new transmission installed. The car is at the dealer being repaired with the second transmission as I write this. There are numerous complaints about this very problem on the National Highway Safety and Transportation Board website. Many people have narrowly missed accidents because of this problem which increases my concern.

My lease is up in December, but we have gone over our mileage so we were going to buy the vehicle, but now I think we should be let out of our lease since this seems to be a recurring problem and also a safety issue. I've also read that the value has significantly decreased on this car because of this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

22nd Feb 2005, 19:27

You are so lucky that you still have the choice to get rid of this car.

Like me, I went back to dealer 2 time for transmission problem, 2 times for the seat belt, 1 time for the moon roof, and 2 times for the dash top vent.

Finally, got the transmission replaced, seat belt replaced, the whole dash top replaced. Just wondering, when the dealer will replace my 02 TL-S.

2002 Acura TL Type S from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Good car with specific serious problems

Faults:

The transmission hesitates when going from 3rd to 2nd at 30 miles per hour.

The tires wear unusually fast.

The leather seats are already cracking.

General Comments:

I like the overall performance and comfort, but Honda made some serious mistakes on the transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2004

20th Apr 2007, 21:10

The Acura TL seems to have consistent transmission issues. Apparently there is a recall on 1999-2003 models. Not sure how Acura is taking care of customers with defective transmissions.

2002 Acura TL TLS 3.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Safe, reliable, but boring

Faults:

Really, nothing. One tire leaked a bit of air and I have had to keep an eye on it. Other than scheduled maintenance, I have not put a dollar into this car in 3 years and 60000 miles.

General Comments:

The car was dependable, but boring. I have zero complaints about the vehicle from a repair standpoint. It started every time I turned the key. It has excellent power (I have the "S" which is no longer available). It just was not that much fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

11th Nov 2005, 21:40

I sort of agree with you about the boring drive of the 02.Have you driven the new model? It looks, feels, and IS sportier and WAY more fun to drive than the prior model. Even the type-s. Plus there is a lot more "toys" in the new version. XM radio is standard. Plus 5.1 Dvd audio surround sound. (Can you tell I LOVE it?) Go take one for a test drive. You should have enough equity in the 02 by now to be able to get some $ out of it for a down payment.

Sincerely

Acura owner 4 life.

2002 Acura TL Type S 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I would have been better off with another civic

Faults:

Rotors replaced.

Moon Roof repaired for noise.

Control Arm replaced.

Leather is cracking.

External temperature gage gets stuck.

Front bearings replaced.

General Comments:

Before my TL-S, I owned at $16,000 Civic which was traded in at 50 K and never gave me one problem. Considering I doubled the price paid on my TL-S, I would have expected absolutely no issues from a car manufactured by...Honda. I am immensely disappointed with the never-ending issues I have had with this car. I am more dissatisfied with the fact that considering all of my negative experiences have been prior to the expiration of my warranty, not all have been covered under it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

2002 Acura TL Type S 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55800 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A great high performance sedan

Faults:

The cars transmission went out about 30,000 miles. Has more road noise than I would expect for a upscale sedan. I did not like the Michelin tires.

General Comments:

This car over-all was very good. Even though the transmission went out at 30,000 miles, there were no other problems. Acura took car of the transmission and it did not cost me a dime. They also extended the warranty on the transmission to 75,000 miles. The car's performance is very good. The internals are still like new (no rattles, etc). Leaving out the transmission issue, my over-all satisfaction of this car was very good and better than the previous cars I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews