2002 Acura TL Reviews - Page 9 of 13

2002 Acura TL 3.2 - Type "S" 3.2 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Best Car I've Ever Owned

Faults:

Not Much.

Black trim on the outside is tape & is starting to develop bubbles. Not a good choice f/outside use.

General Comments:

This is my second Acura. First one was a 1990 Legend "L". Absolutely great car.

So it was natural that I'd upgrade to the 2002 Acura 3.2 TL - Type "S". This is the BEST CAR I've ever owned. It does everything well. Reliable, solid, quiet, fast, agile & smooth. Oh yes, did I mention it is *fast* too?

Only wish it had come with: an electronic compass & a computer that calculates miles-to-empty, current mileage, etc. This is a top notch car, but these little items should have been included. But, in fairness, there are lots of other high-end goodies included with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

10th Jun 2006, 05:15

I have the same year and model and am at a loss about the trim. Are you referring to the door side mouldings? I have a black Type S with black leather interior as well. With a black car (not my first) I try to keep it garaged or in the shade as much as possible. Not always the case though. Anyway I have not had any trim concerns. I on on my second transmission 38000 miles and had the water pump bracket recall. There was also a recall on the drivers power window. Other than that it has been an excellent vehicle. I also owned a Legend which prompted my TL-S purchase. The Legend was the best car I ever had and I sold it with over 100000 miles.

28th Jun 2006, 17:44

Has anyone had problems with the brake system in a 2002 Acura TL? I'm at 72,000, original owner, have had transmission replaced thankfully while still under warranty. Now I'm having major brake problems... Honda service department (they were half the price of the Acura service department 50 miles away) has turned the rotors... front and back... problem was worse and took it back the next day. They turned the left front rotor again. It still has a "knocking" sensation in the brake pedal and service department is saying brake pads need changing even though they look fine, and if that doesn't fix the problem, it could be the brake calibers. Bottom line is that I'm trying to find out if this is a common problem with this model.

2002 Acura TL V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Stay away

Faults:

Had the transmission changed at 30,000 miles under warranty. It is now at 129,000 and will now cost $4000 to 5000 to fix plus I'll have to rent a car for a week. Tough call whether to do or junk. It was very reliable otherwise. When first transmission was changed they changed the computer which cause my auto starter to need a new key and reprogramming. Would consider buying a new Acura if they backed this issue, but I think I will go for Lexus or BMW. Comments?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2006

8th Jun 2006, 16:29

I do not see the value in an auto starter. In fact my mother blew a head gasket on her Buick as she was not able to see her guages on her Buick. I had a key fob reprogrammed for free by my Acura service mgr. Now on my 3rd Acura, they have been really great to me!

2002 Acura TL from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Too bad Acura will not stand behind their product - tranny: (

Faults:

I heard others complain about the 2002 TL transmission problem, but I never had any problems. Then at 50,000 miles mine went out and with no real warning. The dealer replaced it at no charge.

General Comments:

Based on my experience and tales I have heard from others - - my confidence is shaken in Acura. I was thinking of trading my 2002 for a new TL, but am rethinking that now and will likely replace my 2002 TL with a Lexus or an Infiniti. Too bad for Acura because they generally have good products, but if they don't stand behind their products completely with good service and follow up on identified problems, then I don't have much use for them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

8th Jun 2006, 08:45

Your transmission was replaced by the dealer at NO CHARGE, yet you state that Acura does not stand behind their cars???

What did you want? Dinner & a movie plus a new car???

Give us a break! It just goes to show you that some people are NEVER happy!

27th Sep 2010, 08:00

I sold mine for a third of its price at 3 years old because of safety concerns I had. The trans failing on the Interstate is scary.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews