1992 Acura Vigor Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1992 Acura Vigor LS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 kilometres
Most recent distance186000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Quality, quality, quality...

Faults:

Had to replace rotors, pads and bearings. Normal repairs. I found the parts to be far less $$$ than I had expected. Guess that has to do with the Honda relationship ?

Recently repaired rust on the fenders and letter "V" on the trunk. I see a lot of Vigors in this area with the same ailment. Cost me $650 to fix, otherwise the car is in perfect shape.

General Comments:

Still love the styling after all these miles.

Can't find a better combo of sedan, stick and performance.

The brakes are fabulous and the ride is superb.

Take a close look at the build quality and you'll know why I would only replace this with another Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2000

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5L I-5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L I-5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carBMW 325E

Summary:

Best car value there is

Faults:

Nothing except normal maintenance items (tires, brake pads, timing belt, etc). Just the things that need replacing on ALL cars.

General Comments:

Real good performance, nice lines and interior, super-reliable. I especially like the real wood on a Vigor's dash and doors. Frequently, I get asked if my Vigor is a "new Acura". That says a lot about the styling. And the quality of Acura paint!

If you don't need rear legroom (and I don't), I can't imagine a better car in its class. It's far better appointed than my 325E and would blow the doors off it in a minute! (Or less!)

The Vigor is Acura's best kept secret.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 01:03

Real wood? You wish buddy. Trust me, it's fake. But, the car is still bad ass. I love mine.

21st Mar 2001, 15:16

Actually, Zebrano wood trim was used in 1992, buddy.

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 inline 5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carDodge Stealth R/T

Summary:

Sport and luxury at their finest

Faults:

Timing belts, ABS brake sensor in the right rear brake and bent front suspension.

General Comments:

I've had some pretty fast sports cars, and with the Vigor you get the feel of a sports car, and the luxury of one of Honda's finest cars.

I lowered mine 2 inches, added 17" wheels and a performance muffler, and now it has the looks and the ride I love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1992 Acura Vigor GS 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carBMW 535i

Summary:

A cheap mans BMW

Faults:

Timing belt, ball bearings and CV joints needed to be changed.

General Comments:

If you haven't driven a Vigor with manual transmission, you have not really driven a Vigor. I was impressed with the clutch and stick shift of the Acura.

This car is very fast and the leather seats oooo la la. Very nice!! Dash is very nicely done, very handsome. However, I was disappointed with the plain looking factory wheels. So I upgraded them to 17 inch BBS RX rims and I put Eibach springs on the car.

Vigor is the cheapest way of making BMW owners wonder why they paid so much money for their cars. Get a Vigor!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2000

27th Mar 2001, 17:41

I owned a 5 speed 1994 Vigor GS from 10/93 until I traded it in on a 5 speed 2001 BMW 530i in 1/01.

I'll defer on the issue of price differential for a moment to say the first time I took my Vigor in the canyons, I was totally surprised by how well it tracked corners. The suspension was also very good at eliminating just the right amount of bumps and jiggles but still leaving you with a good feel for the road. Of course the manual tranny gave it some extra zip too.

Yes, the Bimmer is probably the "Ultimate Driving Machine", but my 5 speed Vigor was a very close second and a lot less dough. Acura would have had a repeat customer if they kept it in their lineup!

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Very reliable, higher-performance bargain for the money

Faults:

In the nearly 6 years we have owned this car, the only problems we've had are a leaky steering rack (which has not needed replacing after 4 years); new master cylinder at 135K; worn muffler (have not replaced yet); and the factory stereo lost power to the display (but it worked - you just couldn't see what station you were listening to). This is pretty incredible for a car with over 150K miles!

General Comments:

We definitely did not go wrong with this purchase! Except for horrible legroom in the rear, this has been an outstanding deal and incredibly reliable. All original equipment (except for stereo) is intact and working properly. Engine and major systems have not had any (knock on wood) problems. Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2000

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Faults:

Many many engine problems with gaskets. Constant running warm problem.

General Comments:

Very disappointed with this car considering the price I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2000

1st Mar 2001, 20:37

Looks like you got a bad one my friend because mine has 200,000 on it and it runs like the day I rolled it out of the lot. I have never heard a bad comment made towards this car, until now, so I had to respond. I guarantee you if you were to buy another one you would not have the same problems, you just had a little bit of bad luck.

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 liter inline from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter inline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance102658 miles
Previous carSaturn SL2

Faults:

The car has excellent reliability due to the fact that it is made by Honda, so not many things have gone wrong with it, but the parts for the car are extremely expensive. The rear seat legroom is very cramped.

General Comments:

I LOVE the my 1992 Vigor GS. This car has the power to move, especially after I put in a performance muffler, which gave it an extra kick in the higher RPM's. The leather is very comfortable. Good for long trips. The handling is great, and the styling is outstanding. I added custom 16" rims with 225/50 Michelin tires and Eibach springs. The handling is now superb. Can outcorner any Maxima, Accord because of a large wheelbase and my upgrades. Very reliable and nice car. Highly recommended

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2000

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5L 5cyl. from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.5L 5cyl.
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing, except CD changer made by Alpine.

General Comments:

Small rear leg room makes this car less desirable than the Legend. Otherwise an excellent car for the money.

Only available in 92-94.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 44 reviews