1992 Acura Vigor Reviews - Page 7 of 10

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

A snotty little Acura

Faults:

I have not had any major problems with this car so far.

The only major part replaced has been the clutch, which the person who owned it before me did.

The leather on the driver's side is starting to wear a little.

General Comments:

It is a snotty little car for a 5 cylinder.

It rides very smooth.

The car just wants to go!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

1992 Acura Vigor GS Inline 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Inline 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance165500 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Buy one, drive it, love it, keep it

Faults:

Complete service history since new:

Re-attached rear mudflap.

Replaced the seal at the front edge of the hood.

Replaced the cracked stereo knob.

Replaced the power antenna mast.

Replaced one axle.

Replaced a distributor O-ring.

That's it!!

General Comments:

Do you see what my car has needed in 165,000 miles? That should speak for itself.

This car shifts firm, and the automatic will chirp in second gear if you let it.

www.acuravigorclub.com is a valuable resource. I do my own repair work with help from what I found there. Great network of owners.

Replacement parts are only available through dealer in most cases. Aftermarket and performance parts are virtually non-existent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

22nd Dec 2002, 09:40

I own a 1993 Vig GS with the 5 speed - awesome machine and still running like brand new. I noted that you mentioned that performance parts are virtually non-existent for this classic. I just installed a "RACTIVE" performance muffler as well as a performance air filter (not from K&N). The difference is quite noticeable - more power and improved mileage. I would recommend these changes.

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 liter 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carHonda none

Summary:

A great car to own

Faults:

This was a dream car when we first bought it, but in the first few months it had a major engine failure, seized cam shaft, burnt #2 rod, #2 rod bearing pancaked.

General Comments:

We believe that it failed due to the previous owner. This was bought as a teenagers car so it was devastating to the kid. With lots of dedication and a wonderful Acrua dealer and lots of internet connections, we were able to rebuild the engine with about $6500.00 in expenses and lot of hours spent under the hood. What a great learning experience for a kid to know his car inside and out! It's now up and running like a dream again and our #2 son is extremely happy.

We change the oil on a regular basis and there's not a notable usage problem, and it works like a top. Would we buy another Acura, absolutely, and we look forward to a large and happy family of Acura ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2001

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 Liter inline 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter inline 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Oh my God!

Faults:

There is no back seat leg room. This is because the manufacturer moved the rear wheels forward on the chassis to give the trunk more room.

I had to have the brakes replaced, because this car will fly.

I put a new rack and pinion in it because I broke the axle, but other than that, nothing.

General Comments:

This is an awesome car!

Very powerful engine.

Good setup.

Comfortable ride.

Easy steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 I-5 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 I-5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance161500 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Wow

Faults:

The power antenna was replaced. One axle joint replaced. Leather is wearing thin on the driver's seat.

General Comments:

The head and oil pan have never been removed at 161,000 miles. Still blows away boy-racers in their Civics. handles great. Automatic transmission is very firm. Tires chirp when shifting into second gear at 3/4 throttle or more. Scheduled maintenence is a little pricey, but if it's done on time, there's no reason this car won't hit 300,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

1992 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 liter 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance201237 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Well worth your money if you want a reliable, quick, stylish, sexy, mid-sized sports sedan

Faults:

Not a lot has gone wrong with it. Just small tedious things. Beware of Constant Velocity Axles on this front wheel drive car. I have replaced at least one per year.

Other than scheduled maintenance, the car is tip top. I keep the oil changed every 3000 miles and there is a slight oil leak, but that will come with any car that is 10 years old.

Air Conditioning still blows ice cold after all these years. It has only been recharged twice.

General Comments:

Extremely fast at the top end (137 so far).

Quick off the line and up to 60 also. It will spin in 2nd sometimes and I have an automatic!

Agile and quick through the corners.

Premium sound system (factory radio with digital sound processor).

Very fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

24th Jan 2002, 18:22

I've noticed a lot of vigor owners commenting about a small oil leak. This vehicle has an oil cooler that is attached to the engine with three bolts and the oil filter is screwed onto it.

There is an O-ring behind this oil cooler that gets hard ; when this happens a leak will occur. I bought an oil cooler O-ring kit for about $20 from the dealer it took me about 30 min to repair this problem. The only spot this car should leave is in peoples memory when it's gone. NO VIGOR should leak. Your friendly mechanic.MLC.

4th Jun 2003, 01:52

There is also a common leak behind the distributor, also an easy fix.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 44 reviews