1994 Acura Vigor Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 inline 5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A rare sports sedan

Faults:

Other than normal maintenance, I've had to replace the brake master cylinder and the relay in the blower for the air conditioning fan.

I'm in the process of replacing all the engine hoses (there are 14 in all) as one of them was leaking. It was just recommended preventative service that will cost a bundle (about $320 including labor).

General Comments:

I've loved this car since it first came out. The styling is sporty yet classy. The interior is a beauty, with real wood to boot.

Best of all, I've got a car that is very rare on the road (only about 32,000 built in it's 3 years). Rarity was the key for me. Reliability won't be a problem, since my last Honda had 230,000 miles on it.

If you're really interested in connecting with other Vigor owners, check out the website: http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/acuravigorandlegendclub

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

1994 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 Inline 5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Inline 5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend LS

Summary:

A sporty midsize 4 door that is really a coupe

Faults:

Right front bearing going out.

Brake light warning on the instrument display suddenly lights up, but everything else is flawless.

General Comments:

It's a very tough transition to go from a Legend to a Vigor. Although the Legend was a 1990, it was still really nice.

The Vigor is only good for 1 passenger because the backseat has NO room, but the trunk can hold a couple of bodies.

I have an exhaust and intake and I highly recommend a lowering kit! However, the Vigor is a classic because you don't see many around and they don't make them anymore.

It's definitely a very fun car to drive hard. It can take it because it's an Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

15th Feb 2004, 12:07

I love my Acura Vigor, however, finding parts is extremely difficult. You mentioned the lowering kit, do you have any recommendation of where to find parts. I have no problem in finding the springs, but can't find struts and shocks to lower my car. How did you set up yours? Please provide any info. thank you. Jason.

24th Sep 2007, 12:11

I was reading about the Acura Legend, and someone stated that you can order original parts for Acura at asian-auto-parts.com for reasonable shipping and parts. Hopes this helps.

1994 Acura Vigor LS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Better than the Accord V6, look out for ignition wiring harness problems

Faults:

Ignition switch wiring harness, look out for this. Do not pay for an entire new ignition switch, only the wiring from the switch to the fuse box. The part should only cost about $80 and you should not pay more than 2 hours labor max.

The problem occurs when you start the car and the ignition switch seems to spring the key from the start position to the off position not allowing the car to continue running. When starting, the key should spring from the start position to the "on or running" position normally. Apparently the wiring harness to the switch is known to burn out prematurely and is at fault. You can still drive the car with this problem if you hold the key manually halfway between the start and run position, but your hand begins to ache shortly after.

General Comments:

Great car, much more reasonably priced than other Honda products, mostly because the car is not well known among the general public, therefore not creating too much of a demand.

Much better purchase than an Accord V6 from the same years 92-94 (I've driven both extensively). Very smooth acceleration, surprisingly quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

13th Mar 2001, 20:56

I've had this problem with my vigor, I took the ignition switch out and noticed that the switch mounting at the back of the key-assembly was almost off, causing a lot of sparking and key-jumping back to the off position. All it needed was some tightening and WD40. haven't had a problem with it since.

17th Aug 2001, 20:33

Dude you got ripped-off! If you do a lot of short trips and turn the car off and on often, the two screws in the back of the ignition-key-assy loosen up. You'll notice your car will turn off by itself and you'll have to play around with the key to make it run OK. NOTHING GETS DAMAGED BECAUSE OF THIS FAULT. All you needed are some small lock washers on the little screws and vaseline on the plastic moving parts. Cost = $0. Unless you have to buy a small tube of vaseline.

6th Feb 2005, 22:30

The ignition switch is becoming a common failure in this vintage of Acura. Thankfully, it is a relatively easy and cheap repair. Backyard mechanics should have no trouble with this. Acuravigorclub.com has instructions on fixing this in the Timely Topics section.

10th Mar 2005, 20:49

Thanks... my vigor also had this problem. I didn't know what it was until I saw this thread... the part cost me about $75.00 and I put it in myself.. I ask all vigor owners to try to install this part themselves because the acura dealer charges at least $100 for the install...

23rd Feb 2007, 21:35

Easy fix for this was to add solder to the contact point of the little aluminum/metal wheel inside the white ignition switch.

Also clean the contacts...

13th May 2010, 18:42

I have a 94 Acura Vigor GS. My key had broken inside the ignition and I did more damage taking it out. I replaced the switch, and now when I turn the key to start it, nothing happens. All the lights come on, but nothing else.

20th Apr 2012, 19:02

I have a 94 2.5 Vigor with the same problem. I believe it's the switch.

1994 Acura Vigor GS from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

This car is very nice, I love it

Faults:

I have had my 94 Acura Vigor for 1 year and 3 months. For the first year everything went fine. But in the past several months I have had to replace the brake light switch, the ignition switch, and a rear calliper. Luckily I work at a Toyota Dealership and get work done for next to nothing, so I can't complain too much. Although if I did not work here I would have had to fork out some major cash, and parts for this car are very expensive. So, three things in one year and nothing major, I guess I can't complain. I also replaced the timing belt and all of the drive belts, water pump etc., (regular maintenance).

General Comments:

I love the look of the car, it is totally loaded out, I get looks from everybody. I would love to have another Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews