2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Reviews - Page 3 of 11

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 3D 1.6 120hp from Israel

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 120hp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance39000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Kappa

Summary:

A real classic head turner

Faults:

Well, I own it since November 2004, two maintenance treatments were made at the main dealer's garage, and besides the electric window of the passenger (mechanism was oiled free of charge by the dealer), nothing went wrong for its 3 years on the road' very reliable.

General Comments:

The car is a great example for great Italian styling and motoring attitude. It drives well and sounds great. The gearbox is pretty accurate and the plastics and other materials are seem to be in very good quality. The interior is well styled and well equipped and with the bright colors (like I have it) it matches great to the exterior metallic green. A nice car indeed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2005

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 1.6 from Greece

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance53000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

A beautifully designed and very well put together vehicle

Faults:

Rattles from front doors. Fixed by dealer.

Screeching noise from gearbox while in reverse. Fixed by dealer.

Key code recognition antenna failure (part located inside the steering column cover). Replaced by authorised service station.

Warped front discs. Replaced by dealer under warranty.

Temperamental CD Player. Would seek non-existent CD changer. Fixed itself.

General Comments:

I previously drove an ALFA 156 1.8 company car and was disappointed by its poor reliability and built quality. I absolutely adored the 147's good looks so I decided to give the manufacturer a second chance.

After three years of ownership this small ALFA has given me a few moments of headache and very many hours of happy motoring. The dealer from whom I purchased the car proved to be totally inadequate, but I subsequently discovered a small authorised service station and I've had no problems since.

The car's performance is spirited. Cabin is spacious enough and gorgeous to look at. The electronic climate control has performed impeccably in the (very hot) Greek summers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

4th Jan 2005, 01:42

How many kms did you do on your original discs? I have a 147 (33000 kms) and think my discs are warped since I experience vibrations on the steering wheel when braking from 130 kms/h.

10th Jan 2005, 09:29

I started experiencing vibrations on the steering wheel (while braking) at around 26.000 Km. At first the dealer refused to allow the repairs to be covered by warranty claiming that it was my fault that the discs were warped. It was after I spoke to the head of customer care at Alfa Romeo Hellas that my problem was resolved (although by then my warranty had expired).

4th Mar 2006, 04:01

Screeching noise from gearbox while in reverse. I have the same proplem. you know what is this?

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Anyone got a spare £20k for a GTA?

Faults:

Cambelt snapped at 44000 miles.

General Comments:

Odd niggling faults, but when a car looks this good and drives this well - who cares?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

11th Jul 2006, 17:23

On both 147 and 156, the cambelt and tensioners should be changed every 60K kms or 35k miles..

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance19684 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

Turns heads, but it's turning my pockets and bank balance out also!

Faults:

Experiencing suspension problems -

Rear track control arms and upper suspension bushes replaced.

Now the front end is now starting to 'clonk' and a feeling of wandering from the steering has manifested itself.

It now looks like I'll have to have the front lower wish bones replaced.

General Comments:

Having admired the shape of the 147 for a while I took the plunge to purchase one for myself. A very fine 'looker' which turns heads (especially as she's in red) and the interior is set out with that Italian flare.

But I am dismayed that I'm now having to deal with problems that I would expect on a 5 year old vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

23rd Aug 2005, 07:06

My Alfa 146 has the wondering and a clonk when on the spot - the fault is warn bushes in the steering rack I have been told, and that this can happen on very new cars also.

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Twin Spark 5 door 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

Italian Passion with Reliability

Faults:

Plastic strip at front spoiler fell off.

Water in the Diesel Warning - I use Petrol! Fixed with a new 'upload' of software.

General Comments:

Gem to drive, don't need to turn on the stereo.. listen to the music of the engine.

Very Strong performance from the 2.0 L.

Beautiful looks, excellent handling if you enjoy driving a kart.

So far so good, very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 42 reviews