2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Reviews - Page 6 of 11

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Who needs reliability when you're having fun?!

Faults:

ABS and automated driving aid warning lights came on for no reason. This could be resolved by turning the engine off and on again, but the frequency of the warning became tedious. Problem due to a faulty brake sensor and was fixed under warranty - apparently this fault should have been picked up in the pre-delivery checks. I bought this car from Wundercars and saved over £3,000 on the UK list price, but the car was filthy and the tyres dangerously over inflated. The company have since gone bust - you get what you pay for!

Under tray is hanging down underneath the car - possibly caused by me driving into a "ramp" on some resurfacing works too fast! Parts currently on order as these are falling off right left and center. Not covered by warranty, but only £35 to fix back on or can be taken off completely. Still, a bit miffed as it sounds like a design fault to me.

General Comments:

It's know as the black dream - metallic fire black and it goes and looks like a dream! Red leather interior is well upholstered and fun, but a bit garish for some tastes.

I love the look of the exterior, but the cockpit sold it to me. Classy, fully loaded, solid. reminded me of the Audi TT which was over £12,000 more!

Sounds great too - how many cars will you drive for an hour with the stereo turned off and the windows open so you can hear the engine singing to you?

Rear seats a cramped and the latch to move the seats forward on the 3 door look and feel fragile.

Drinks plenty of oil, but this seems to be the norm for 147s.

I hate dealing with garages and being without the car for a while, but on balance it's worth it - just look, listen and feel it!

It could do with more pace from 0-30 mph, but from there it does fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

7th Oct 2004, 09:28

Metallic black exterior and red leather interior, that's exactly what will be arriving to me next week. I bought the 147 because I fell in love with it on the passenger seat. I've never even driven it. Here's my excuse: I'm a victim of Alfismo.

The car has a 10-CD-changer in the back, but after reading several reviews I wonder if that was worth it: It seems I'll be listening to the music of the engine all the time.

Isabel (Geneva)

7th Oct 2004, 12:09

Mine is fire black with raven dark grey leather.

Would love to hear from other owners to discuss ownership / problems / modifications etc.

Sts89@hotmail.com.

9th Oct 2004, 21:51

I got one black 147 Ti a month ago. Great leather seats, fantastic 17" wheels and engine sound from heaven. I'm thinking of changing exhaust and air filter in the future. Fuel consumption is more than just high for my 22yrs old standards... I LOVE IT!!

Stathis (ATHENS)

16th Apr 2006, 16:57

Got the 147 1.6 with full body kit and twin exhaust. Gun metal grey - sweet! Took it for a spin on the back roads of Wicklow, handles beautifully. The body kit really makes this model stand out from the normal spec ones. Its true about the engine - sounds beautiful!

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 LX 1.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and attractive and it gets you there and back at a brisk pace. Just very good

Faults:

Nothing wrong.

General Comments:

I bought it because it was a looker and it does command attention.

In third gear it is superb and tricky overtaking is a cinch.

Can reach 140mph.

Looks great inside which is rare. The BMW is awful inside and so is the Toyota MR2 but the Alpha is very special internally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 2.0 Twin Spark from South Africa

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Spark Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance29000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 145

Summary:

A perfect performance hatch!

Faults:

I have had absolutely no trouble with my Alfa since the day I bought it. It is an extremely reliable car.

General Comments:

I am in love with my 147, it handles like a sports car, it looks like an Italian exotic, it goes like a bat out of hell, and it will probably stay together just as long as a BMW or Mercedes. I just love the way it looks, love the way it drives and love the way it sounds. Mine has the optional MOMO Leather, and the BOSE sound system; both are a worthy upgrade. Well what can I say? It is a great car, and I will never sell it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

17th Dec 2003, 06:01

Honestly. It sounds like you are working for Alfa.

26th Sep 2004, 19:42

Honestly, if you own an Alfa, you're working for Alfa... Magic!

5th Jan 2013, 14:34

Read, people, read! The review summary column says this person drove the car from 2002-2003 (one year) and covered 29,000 km - nothing too unusual if used as a rep car or travels long distances within a year. The review was also from South Africa - ever drove Johannesburg to Cape Town? It's perfectly possible that despite this being an Alfa, driving one for merely a year may not show any problems.

9th Jan 2013, 02:26

You make it sound as though problems are to be expected if driving an Alfa. Not so! If you look after them, they will reward you.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 42 reviews