2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Looks aren't everything


Selespeed system failure on 3 occasions causing the steering to lock up.

Gear selection problems causing the car to change from 2nd to 5th (resulted in a new gearbox).

The car would slip into neutral from 2nd gear while accelerating.

VDC system failure followed by a complete electrical system and engine shut down, causing me to wait for 10 hours for a breakdown truck in freezing weather (Jan 30th 2003).

Air-bag warning light permanently on as a result of loose wiring under the passenger seat.

General Comments:

Compared to my previous Alfa the general build quality is much, much better.

The interior look and feel as well as the 'toys' are high quality, but fairly cramped other than in the front seats.

The handling is pretty good in all weathers.

The car's performance is more than adequate on UK roads, but it does drink fuel and oil.

But the BIG problem is reliability. The car has been off the road on 4 separate occasions, and the root cause always seems to be electrical.

This is definitely the last Alfa I buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

2nd Feb 2003, 07:02

Could it be, as is often the case when new technology such as the Selespeed is introduced, that people simply do not know how to use it? I can imagine many drivers trying to force the Selespeed lever into gear the old familiar way and...it's arrivaderci to the poor, battered Italian gear box!

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 Twin Spark from Greece


A true value for money in an enchanting package..


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The car is probably among the most beautiful cars that are on the road today. It's handling is unique both for experienced and inexperienced drivers. Every time I enter in my garage to leave from home I keep staring at it, admiring it. Try to purchase the 16" alloy wheels and if u can afford it a sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

13th Apr 2003, 07:54

The amount of pleasure you can get when driving this is unique. The fast steering wheel with only 2.1 turns makes it ideal for the drivers that are keen on driving fast. After all only these drivers can really understand the term "alfisti".

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 from Greece


Best 1.6 value for money car


No problems up to this point.

General Comments:

This car is really stable on the road and comfortable under any circumstances with the 15" wheels. However 16" wheels are recommended for a "cuore sportivo" driving skill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 1.6 120 hp Twin Spark from Greece


As comfortable as an Audi, as fun to drive as a Citroen Saxo VTS


Some minor noises from the interior.

General Comments:

The car handling is magnificent. Full of traction and sporty feeling,it makes the 1.6 engine look weak.

The steering wheel is very quick and accurate.

The gear shift is a bit loose.

The brakes are great, but on jumpy roads the anti-lock braking system becomes too sensitive.

The front spoiler tends to hit the ground easily, at least on Greek roads.

Rear seat belts are a bit hard to manipulate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland





General Comments:

This is simply the nicest car I have owned.

The interior is beautiful.

The exterior is class.

Mine is black with 17" sports alloys and 10CD changer, leather interior.

It is responsive.

It is cool.

It holds the road in all conditions.

This car really is a dream, and the cost if bought on import is excellent.

One thing, it does consume petrol around town... but who cares!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Superb car, that won't disappoint!


Other than a faulty key fob, nothing has gone wrong since purchasing the car.

General Comments:

Although slightly apprehensive of buying an Alfa, due to their well known unreliability and build quality issues, I am relieved to say that I am unable to fault this car in anyway.

It handles brilliantly. Thanks to the firm suspension, which some how also remains forgiving when hitting any lumps or bumps to be found in the road.

The engine sounds great.

It looks fantastic, both inside and out!

All the toys you would reasonably require are included as standard in this model. Dual Climate control, cruise control, Good quality CD player, electric windows, etc, etc.

It's very comfortable on long journeys.

You do pay a bit more for the luxury, but in my opinion it's most definitely worth it!

All in all it's a great car, which although Italian seems to be very well made and solid throughout. Unless anything better appears in this market area, I will be buying another in 18 months time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002