1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 155 2.0

Summary:

I talk to the dealer more than my wife

Faults:

A beautiful car to drive and look at but the after service from the dealership is appalling. They really have no interest in fixing my problems. I have a dash rattle, dodgy climate control and the locks play up.

General Comments:

None of the problems are life threatening but very very irritating!!! Dealer seems to think just cause I paid nearly £20000 for this work of art, I shouldn't complain. If you want a straight answer then yes I recommend this car, but it's not perfect, it still has build quality problems, and you'd better wake up if you think the dealer cares once you've bought the car. By the way, I've moved on to my third dealership, it must be a conspiracy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2000

13th Jan 2001, 22:21

See my review 1999 "Look forward to...".

I've had my first scary experience with an Alfa dealer after only 8 weeks and am wary of what's to come!

Alfa Head Office do not seem that interested in the performance of their dealer network!

Any comments re. Alfa dealers gratefully received at julianwellings@bigfoot.com.

Thanks.

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Good car but let down by the dealer network

Faults:

1. Airbag electonics faulty on delivery.

2. Child lock catch slips to lock.

3. Climate control not efficient (still ongoing battle with Alfa dealer to fix it).

General Comments:

1. Power not smooth, only over 3000rpm.

2. Can't see speedo even after tilting steering wheel (I'm only 5' 10").

3. Good looks.

4. Dealer network not interested in fixing faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2000

13th Jan 2001, 22:24

Although I love the car, after 8 weeks of ownership I've had my first scary experience with an Alfa dealer and am wary of what's to come!

Speaking to Alfa Head Office they don't seem that concerned about the damage some (not all) dealers are doing to the Alfa brand image.

See my review 1999 headed "I look forward to..."

25th Aug 2009, 12:17

I'm thinking to buy an Alfa 1999 soon. Can anyone advise me if it's a good car or not and why, thanks.

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 twin spark petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin spark petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5500 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles

Summary:

Sleek, sexy, irresistable love beast!

Faults:

Nothing except for a poor reliability image inherited from some of its predecessors.

General Comments:

My hire car for three days. I have never driven an Alfa Romeo before but had heard a lot about poor dealer service, and poor quality, faulty cars which rusted if left out in the rain overnight. However, I absolutely loved this car. I drove it from Aberdeen to Manchester (via Wales!) and back, and enjoyed every minute of it. This car is possibly one of the sexiest on the market - I loved the attention. Motorway cruising was effortless and the car never needed to be thrashed to get respectable performance out of it. Fuel consumption was adequate, handling good and performance excellent. I did suffer a sore back after 3-4 hours behind the wheel and my girlfriend complained that she couldn't see the speedo from the passenger side, but who cares? Being a hire car it was probably abused before I drove it, but it didn't seem to be any the worse for it.

I loved it so much that I didn't want to give it back, and as soon as I've graduated I am going to forego the pleasure of having kids and spend my money on one of these instead!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 1.8 twin spark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 twin spark Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33 16V 4WD

Summary:

Fast, comfortable, classy car let down by dealership backup

Faults:

Stereo failed, electric door mirror failed, engine management failed two weeks after I bought it. Leather seat stitching ripped under little stress, speaker panel hanging off, dashboard rattle, poor finsh to interior in parts.

Power steering hose leaked (very dangerous if unnoticed).

General Comments:

This car has given me a lot of trouble and it's only done 7000 miles. My most recent and still unsolved problem is a noise from the engine which has not been fixed by the dealership, three visits later! Still I love the car but be warned, it's well known that the Alfa dealership network is well below par, don't expect good service, I didn't get it and many others don't too. You don't think about this much when you buy a car but believe me when things go wrong, you are at the mercy of the dealership and if they let you down, you are stuffed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2000

13th Jan 2001, 22:28

Yes, after 8 weeks of ownership of a used (Alfa approved) 156 Selespeed I've had my first bad experience with the local dealer.

They are entrusted with looking after the Alfa Romeo brand image and unfortunately some of them are letting the side down!

To all those who are dissatisfied, make sure you complain to Alfa HO and eventually the customer views will sink in!

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 1.8 Twin Spark petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 Twin Spark petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Car is only two months old, but it is a dream come true!

People tell me that everytime they see me in the car, I'm grinning like a Cheshire cat!

Imported from Holland, with no problems.

I'd recommend the car and the process to anyone...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2000

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Suspension much too soft.

Had to replace oil sump due to damage going over a moderate crest.

General Comments:

Firmer suspension would be an improvement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 1999

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 S3 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Fantastic car to drive - sounds good, looks good and if you are feeling down just go for a spin and it will put a big cheesy grin on your face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1999

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with car this far. It's much too expensive to take the car to the service station.

General Comments:

For some time I had a chance to try a 156 3.0 V6. I find the 2.0 TS much more fun to drive. The smaller engine of the two feels much stronger!

Best buy: 156 2.0 TS!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 1999

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 52 reviews