1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 10 of 14

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

The worst car ever imaginable

Faults:

The exhaust started to blow as soon as I drove the car home.

The gearbox needed replacing after I had done only fifty miles.

The clutch kept sticking.

It leaked oil.

The brakes wore badly and quickly.

General Comments:

This was an awful car and I put 1000 miles on the clock because it was so bad.

The leather seats were very uncomfortable and felt like plastic.

The gear box crunched every time I changed gear.

The dashboard is very tacky and cheap looking.

The car was not as I expected.

My 10 year old Cavalier was so much better than this and I am going to buy a newer Cavalier as soon as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 04:46

UPDATE!! 9/8/2001.

Just been out and brought myself another Cavalier, this time an 'N' reg 2.0i - very nice. So much better than the Alfa Romeo piece of crap that I previously owned! My advice to anyone who is thinking of buying an Alfa is DON'T!! Please save your money and buy something else.

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 TS Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Import from Spain with full UK spec sports pack 3.

Only issue was headlamp wash-wipe not fitted, got a £90 rebate from the dealer.

Local dealer Arnold Clark in Edinburgh have done the 12K and 24K service.

Bad squeak from the brake discs after 9,000 and 18,000 miles. Manufacturer fitted front tyres replaced at 22,000.

Intermittent cabin warning flashing, noticeable in the winter when dark, dealer unable to rectify as yet, claims it could be the alternator, out of warranty now.

General Comments:

Order the boot-lid dealer fit spoiler, the default manufacturer fitted one is too big.

Cosmos Blue with natural leather goes very well.

Excellent hi revving performance, handles much better than my 4x4 Cavalier Turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 V6 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carFiat Coupe

Summary:

Over-rated, but pretty to look at

Faults:

Bottoms-out on undulating surfaces.

Poor ride - the consequence of a Veloce pack with lowered suspension perhaps.

Electrical faults - minor and various.

Irritating buzzing from dashboard - not fixed.

General Comments:

Oddly un-exciting.

Very heavy on fuel - 24mpg overall at very best.

Heavy on front tyres - 10,000 miles and £150 each!

Comfortable, well-equipped and refined - apart from the poor ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

14th Jul 2001, 14:52

£150 each on front tyre, where are you going my friend, Italy? Try Bathwick if you have one in your area, sorry can't remember V6 tyre size off hand, but as an example Yokohama A539 195/50/15 VR are approx £46 fitted inc balance and VAT!

If not, shop around or buy mail order, you will pay approx £5 a tyre to have it fitted anywhere. But stay out of your local huge tyre centre's, you'll get ripped again!

As for the electrical niggles, I'm afraid that's Alfa's for you. If you can't put up with them, a nice new boring BMW may solve your problems!!

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Coupe

Summary:

Great looking, but rapidly losing patience

Faults:

Air conditioning didn't work when first purchased.

Engine over-revving at idle.

General Comments:

Brilliant car to look at, but am beginning to fall out of love with it.

Alfa dealer doesn't seem interested in fixing the revving problem. Air conditioning was fixed and hasn't been a problem since.

Had some advice when on holiday from a good dealer in Northern Ireland to change the water temperature sensor and get a system upgrade for the ECU. Unfortunately they didn't have the parts so I had to rely on my local dealer in England on returning.

The English dealer (who had previously done a diagnostic but couldn't find anything) has done something, but the problem has not gone away - I seriously doubt that they have done what I have asked them.

Has anyone else had this problem and how was it fixed?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

17th Dec 2002, 14:36

I have a 80000 k 98 156 v6 and have had no problem with a/c or anything else. I went to clean the throttle body with wd40 and now I have a high idle and sticky throttle now. Did you replace temp sensor yet? Did that solve your idle problem? Thanks Vince USA.

5th Oct 2004, 06:07

I've got a `99 2.5 V6.I too cleaned the throttle body as it was all sooted up. Not nice and shiny as per new.

All I did was spray with WD40 and then clean with a rag.

I put it all together again and hey presto the idle was extremely erratic and the car was undrivable.

It cost me over £500.00 to get it fixed.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 52 reviews