1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 146 2.0 Ti -96

Summary:

Go get one!

Faults:

Two times the airbag warning lights have turned on, wish the garage solved quickly without charging anything for it (the first time it was a cable plug under the passenger seat that had disconnected, dunno what it was the second time).

That's it, oh almost forgot, last week one of the parking light bulbs broke ;)

General Comments:

This is a fully equipped car, with the extra "sport package". The body is lowered, it has 16" wheels, leather seats & steering wheel, kevlar interior, towing hook, side impact airbags, GSM antenna etc.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

5th May 2001, 09:54

What on earth are you doing putting a tow bar on a performance car??!

18th May 2001, 13:39

Towbar - I believe the 156 would look AMAZING with a sleek speedboat behind it!

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carVolvo S40

Summary:

Even with the faults I'd have another

Faults:

Fuse box cover opened constantly.

Carburetor body replaced at 20,000 miles.

Interesting quirk... central locking was repeatedly tripped by washing the car!!!

General Comments:

Tyre wear is excessive... luckily it is a company car. On my 3rd set of fronts.

My company has 5x 156's in the fleet. The drivers all love them, but beset by major/minor problems.. leaks, rattles, power steering problems, instrumentation.

Still the best looking saloon on the road, and the most comfortable (I'm 6'2").

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2001

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156 TSpark

Summary:

Always looks great

Faults:

Selespeed gear-box unable to select 2, often in cold start conditions. Workaround by selecting city mode. Then problem goes away after a few miles. Problem due to a known fault in the design of the gearbox actuator - waiting 3 months for a revised design (suspect a hydraulic oil leak).

Accident repair took months waiting for parts.

General Comments:

Great car - enjoyed the 156 manual company car so much I bought the Selespeed when I changed jobs.

Not as much room as you would expect in the back.

Constantly asked questions about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2001

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23700 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Love at first sight and so far a happy marriage

General Comments:

The car is beautiful stylistically and that was what sold me on it at first.

That said, it also drives extremely well, acceleration is very good, especially above the 3,000 rpms engine speed where you can have a lot of fun.

Steering also feels very tight and responsive, and the car feels extremely stable on curves.

The car's biggest weakness when driving is the gearbox, which is baulky sometimes, especially when you have to ram it into reverse.

The car is beautiful inside, with grey leather upholstery and wood on the steering wheel, which, if fake, is a very good fake.

The one drawback - quality. Having recently owned a late model Golf, I'm afraid the Italians still fall behind a bit on the fit and finish. Glove compartment and doors don't close so tightly. And you always wonder - based on the Fiat/Alfa reputation - when something will go wrong.

But so what. I love just looking at this car. I love driving it. And at about $16,000 used, it was truly a steal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

29th Mar 2001, 01:47

Thanks much for comments from S. Harvey in Kent (only checked your response just now).

Just curious, I assume the distance measures you were using were kilometers and not miles, right? In terms of service, etc? Or maybe they were miles.

Any tips on how often to change the oil on the car?

That's interesting about the lack of a synchro mechanism on the reverse. Makes sense.

27th Apr 2001, 05:36

Figures above are in miles. Recommended service intervals are fine for oil changes as long as decent (synthetic) oil is used. Vital to stick to service intervals with all Italian cars!

11th Jan 2002, 10:11

Hi my name is ROB. Is this beauty available in the USA or is it imported?

Many thanks.

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles

Summary:

Sweet!

Faults:

Radio didn't work. Needed recoding, it has taken the dealer well over two weeks to even attempt to fix it/purchase a new one.

General Comments:

Beautiful to ride and look at. Handles like a dream. Classy looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

11th Aug 2001, 10:16

Classy looks? I've never seen anything so ugly. Alfa Romeo can't even put the front number plates in the right place!

2nd Sep 2001, 08:00

Ugly?? It's the most beautiful car I've ever had. Handles like a dream and is wonderfully comfortable. Wife wanted to buy something like a Golf but when she sat in it said "this is Lovely." Bought on the spot. Sportwagon 2.0 Veloce with Recaro (beautiful) seats.

Seems to be regarded as a prestigious car by onlookers!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 52 reviews