1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 13 of 14

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 T-Spark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 T-Spark Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10500 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo ST24 V6

Summary:

I look forward to getting in this car every day

Faults:

Faulty RH side door speaker.

Selespeed buzzer stopped working.

General Comments:

Superb design, performs as well as Mondeo V6 (previous car). Handling is awesome.

Recaro seats are hard although you do get used to them! Selespeed box is great fun - ignore the cynics.

Only gripe is the Selespeed buzzer stopped working, this is covered by the year 2 warranty, however I was charged 2 hours labour (£100) for diagnostic time - this never used to happen at Ford dealerships!

Nb. If you buy an import, the local dealer is unlikely to give you free courtesy car if it's off the road!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 2.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Vitara

Summary:

An affair you can share with your wife!

Faults:

Weak rear demister.

General Comments:

Brilliant handling.

Beautifully revvy engine marred only by crap Australian fuel (95 R.O.N), solved by using Shell Optimax (98 R.O.N) which GREATLY eliminates lack of performance under 3000 rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

17th Jun 2001, 02:13

June 2001. Just bought an August '99 156 - 2.0 TS 5spd in red. A bit unsure about what we've gotten ourselves into but, having owned a '92 164 for about 4 years, I remain reasonably confident that our recent purchase won't end in grief.

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 V6 2.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Smiles in and out

Faults:

Every 3000 kilometres the auto transmission error light comes on. Is reset by turning car on & off (mildly annoying).

General Comments:

Great car - best stress relief ever invented - can't believe that there hasn't been rave reviews about the Q-system auto transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2000

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 Lusso 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carJaguar XJS

Summary:

Like wearing a pair of stilletos - good looking but uncomfortable!

Faults:

Only had it 6 weeks and I'm getting rid it before my back goes completely.

General Comments:

Beautiful car, well balanced, easy to drive, lovely to take round country lanes and very quick without being flashy (no spoilers - nicely under stated) but so uncomfortable on the motorway. Alfa dealer says no lumber support on the car because the seats hold rear passenger air bags - I have tried to live with this car because in every other respect it is perfect but it's going to have to go!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

17th Dec 2003, 12:53

I had the same problem with the lumbar support in my 156; 60 minutes was the max I could sit in the car. The rest of the car was great.

1999 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E250 TD

Summary:

Truely great saloon for the money with zero post-sales care

Faults:

Engine blew up after 6,000 miles coming back from Spain. First service not due until 12,000 miles and it is well looked after.

General Comments:

Great car, truely enjoyable drive - not that grippy but great handling for a frustrated sporting driver forced to own a saloon. Almost hard to tell its front wheel drive! Yes it is that good.

Engine blew (disintegrated piston) at 6,000 miles and dealer service/experience has been dire throughout. Zero customer service, zero interest in the car or owner. Truely 1970's poor. Thankfully this is a company car and is not my own investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

13th Jan 2001, 22:18

I'm a 156 Selespeed owner and have already had my first scary experience with my local dealer. Spoke to Alfa Head Office who seem to think dealers can operate as they want and don't appreciate that dealers have been entrusted with their valuable brand!

Any comments from other readers re. poor Alfa dealer service would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

julianwellings@bigfoot.com

20th Feb 2001, 05:43

I hear what is said about Alfa dealers in the UK. For what it is worth, I have been using Northgate Garage (Canterbury, Kent) for the past six years and have nothing but praise for them. Knowledgeable, helpful and with a real understanding about customer care. Adrian Pile (their head Alfa technician) has won Alfa Technician of the Year awards several times recently. The dealership has also an impressive array of "Gold Cloverleaf" customer service awards. For any of you with seemingly incurable irritations, do yourselves a favour - run it past Northgate. It will be worth the journey for those who live far afield.

Tel: 01227 765561

St. John Harvey (Bethersden Kent)

P.S. I do not - repeat DO NOT, work for Northgate!!

1st Sep 2001, 04:35

I have a vision in my mind after reading the comments about this fabled Alfa Romeo dealer.

On Monday morning, they will open their roller shutter doors to a wondrous sight. Horizon to horizon will be a shimmering sea of metal - Alfa Romeos, in all shapes and sizes, requiring immediate healthcare. From dawn 'til dusk, they will traverse the sacred service centre floor, to emerge on the other side, revving their charismatic Italian engines, their Latin spirit revived.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 52 reviews