2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 16 of 18

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3300 kilometres
Most recent distance10500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

If only they built it well

Faults:

Passenger side A pillar trim came off 3 times.

Glove box lid warped.

Internal rubber door seals warped.

Damaged engine. Apparently one of the bearings disintegrated requiring my car to be towed to the service after only 10500 Km. The call-out service person could not believe it.

General Comments:

Exhilarating performance once you get the engine over 3000 RPM, but the build quality is absolutely shocking.

The engine problem is simply unbelievable. I had many cars before and I NEVER experienced an engine failure. Closest I ever got was a cracked harmonic balancer on a VR Commodore (for the Australian audience).

Additionally, the Alfa sales and service is absolutely appalling! Amazingly the Alfa dealership is owned by the same group that runs the SAAB dealership where I bought a used SAAB 9000 CD to replace my Alfa 156, and their service is simply amazing! I never experienced such a good service with anything before.

Perplexing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Very disappointing

Faults:

The car was late being delivered. Had a flat battery off the ship which was jump started from a truck which fried a number of electric components.

Major problem is a battery drain after two days. The dealer is unable to fix it. It has now left me stranded 7 times.

Build quality is dreadful.

The leather seats are becoming apart.

The interor trim is falling apart.

Passenger door handle has broken.

Missing parts of screen wash.

Selespeed has a habit of selecting neutral at high speed.

Dealer is not all that bothered, never been called when parts have arrived.

So far has been in the garage for 7 weeks.

General Comments:

Do not buy this car.

Drives great for when it goes, but quality is so poor.

I am trading it in for the new Mercedes sports coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

12th Aug 2001, 07:49

Mercedes, says it all my friend, enjoy your boring euro saloon!

1st Aug 2002, 10:35

I think you are wrong to state "don't buy this car" as not all selespeeds are this bad, I for one have had a selespeed for 18 months with NO issues (other than dealership ones) at all.

29th Nov 2003, 15:03

I agree Alfa have not changed, there cars are still of very poor build quality. I recently traded my 156 for a Nissan 350Z. Got sick of calling road service, or worrying if the car will start after a night out. Yes I agree Alfa make cars that look and drive great, but reliabilty is appalling.

The 350Z drives better cheaper to maintain and insure, and has great build and reliabilty.

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 Twin Spark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Spark Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

The best looking car in its class

Faults:

Delivery - N/S head lamp washer not connected.

6000 miles - water in the boot - rear windscreen sealant problem.

8000 miles - City switch on the Selespeed failed.

General Comments:

Brilliant design, looks good from every angle! And the touches only Italians can bring!

Performance and road handling have brought a smile to my face (well! my last car was a Honda CR-V).

The dealer (Hylton Worcester) has been excellent (they did not do the PDI!).

A bit twitchy in town - but on the open road it is FUN!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

24th May 2001, 13:44

Good to see someone else is pleased with Hylton.

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 from Taiwan

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Sprint

Summary:

A performance car with a bad gear box control unit

Faults:

Gear box sucks! Changed the control unit 3 times.

General Comments:

Selespeed's gear box really sucks. I wish I bought a 2.5 manual for better reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

1st May 2001, 14:41

Selespeed! Glad to know were not alone. Our car to date has had four Selespeed actuators and its most recent visit to the dealer lasted five (5) weeks. We have had this car from new and 18 months on nothings improved. These issues with the Selespeed system are not only about reliability but also road safety, considering that the car will stick in gear or even stick its self into neutral at any time, and at any speed.

We have also had power steering failure, interior trim problems, excessive front tyre wear on inner edge, heating problems, and other gear box problems.

This car cost us nearly 23000.00 pounds sterling, and in 18 months has probably spent 2.5 to 3 months off the road.

We will never buy Alfa again.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 62 reviews