2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 18 of 18

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Veloce 2.0 Twin Spark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Spark Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo HGT

Summary:

Superb, need I say more?

Faults:

Nothing so far (I know this is tempting fate!)

General Comments:

After hearing what most people say about the dealer that they bought their 156 from, I am pleasantly surprised to find that Alan Gibson (Basingstoke) are always ready to help, and are genuinely interested in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 Twin Spark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Spark Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

On delivery: Stiching loose in the seat, front bumper mark, paint problem on a door, security etch poor.

Since: Selespeed oil problem, has been in twice, still not fixed!

Plus other annoying problems.

Have very little faith in the dealer's ability to resolve my issues!!

Heard of another owner having taken her car in 6 times for Selespeed issues...

Also my brother in law has had Selespeed issues...

General Comments:

Great car, looks good, drives well, all round great car to drive. If it could be more robust it would be even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark S1 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7200 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Brilliant car that cannot be ignored at import prices!!!

Faults:

Sticky switch for the air-con system.

General Comments:

Absolutely superb driver's car that feels solid and well built. The engine loosened up at around 6000 miles and performance improved noticeably. I cannot recommend this car highly enough - drives and looks brilliant.

I do worry about something major going wrong although this is based more on reputation than evidence. The only disappointments have been the lack of practicality (ie. cramped rear seats that do not fold) and fuel consumption (although this varies dramatically with driving style).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 Twin Spark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Spark Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Reliable, sexy and powerful with change

Faults:

Nothing at all so far.

General Comments:

Really need to spend the money to add the leather seats, spoilers, skirts, sunroof and metallic paint to get the all round luxurious feel and comfort.

Great driving, really holds the road. The F1 gears on the steering wheel take a bit of getting used to but give you unbelieviable control and acceleration especially on secondary roads. On motorways you have to watch your speed as 90 normally would feel like you're only doing 60.

For price and performance, well worth considering with Irish car prices.

Certainly above all its competitors and the normal 156.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 220 Coupe T-bar

Summary:

Gorgeous

Faults:

Absolutely nothing! (Yet!)

General Comments:

I live in abject fear of something going wrong with this aesthetically stunning car. This is not due to any worrying noises or vibrations but solely due to the constant whining of dissatisfied 156 owners.

Touch wood, after 6 months my Alfa Red 156 moves me in exactly the same way as it did when I first turned the key in the dealership. Everything about this car screams style with performance. If you like the look of the thing, buy one! It's as simple as that. If you want a massive dealership network then go buy a Ford or Vauxhall. To be honest, if you are really that concerned with servicing, repairs and the like, you are not an Alfa driver. I hear Volvo do a marginally exciting car these days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

14th Dec 2000, 07:38

It's easy to comment on the 'constant whining' of other 156 drivers when nothing has gone wrong with your car yet....

22nd Feb 2001, 09:37

I doubt people like whining about their 156, considering all of those who complain about the problems still love the car, me being one of those. But when you spend this much money on a car, you expect good quality. This was a past winner of European car of the year, you kinda expect a little more. Enjoy your 156, get back to us with your problems!

1st Jun 2001, 06:06

Everyone told me to buy a Toyota, because they are the most reliable cars ever... well I have had an Avensis for about a year now: big problems! Bad starting, loosing oil.. I never had such a problems with my Alfa 155. Right now I am selling my Toyota to buy a 156!

17th Jul 2001, 06:17

Just you wait... the problems will come ;-)

Mine was decomposing after 3300 km and the engine self destructed after 10500 Km.

14th Jan 2004, 13:47

Is a 156 that special? I love cars and I like my 2.0 T-spark, but its not that sporty, its not that fast, its not that well built, its not that comfy, its not that exclusive. Its certainly not boring, but in the face of big bills I'm getting a solid, boring, older German or Swede. By stopping the dead money trickle through my fingers with my newish, but depreciating 156 I can then make it interesting. Subtly tuned 1.8T SE A6 in grey/black on big rims anyone? Sub £5k big engined Volvo S70 2.4T SE/T5? Blame Autotrader for planting these naughty ideas in my mind.

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed Veloce Leather 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance750 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf GTI & Cabrio

Summary:

Beautiful if flawed diamond

Faults:

Nothing (yet!).

General Comments:

Comfort on Veloce suspension better than anticipated, especially if tyre pressures lowered to 2 bar (29psi). Roadholding first class and refinement likewise.

Engine freeing up nicely, but no match for my Mk1 Golf GTI at low revs.

Leather seats more comfortable than alternative Recaros.

Selespeed system takes some getting used to - very clever, but not as clever as a human brain/hand/foot!

Radio/CD unit has nasty little buttons & the display cannot be read in daylight. The red dash analogue clock pointers are also bad to see. Nasty passenger vanity mirror.

The car could do with more toys (like a trip computer). Otherwise, all's fine so far. Despite the quibbles, you want to drive it just for the sheer pleasure, which is how an Alfa should be!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 62 reviews