2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 6 of 18

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47500 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Bora

Faults:

I bought the car and 4 days later the Gearbox had to be replaced. Fixed under warranty.

Gear change is slow

Vehicle is fitted with High Wing which hits the back window when boot is opened.

General Comments:

This car is fast and handles very well. However, it looks a lot faster than it really is.

I love my 156 and i can't wait to get it back with the new gearbox. I would highly recommend buying one but only from a dealers and with warranty, as reliability is not its strong point.

The interior is great and it really looks the part. The Recaro seats are comfortable and the Gear change on the steering wheel makes driving Effortless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

1st Sep 2004, 07:12

I have recently received my Alfa Romeo back with the new gearbox and the gear change is a lot quicker, especially when going faster. I don't know whether this is because it is a brand new box or because the old one was tired. Anyway, I'm not complaining as I don't have much to worry about now that the worst thing that could have happened has happened.

12th Sep 2005, 08:40

Don't forget the actuator.

Those things are a bomb to replace.

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 selespeed 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

A good performing unreliable failure

Faults:

Air bag light contsantly comes one.

Selespeed actuator failure @ 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Apparently the Air bag fail lights comes on due to some trapped wiring under the drivers seat. the dealer told me not to move the seat???

The real disappointment is the failure of the auto box... I really do think that reading the comments on here there are inherent problems with the selespead gearbox. The dealer only wants £1200 to sort the problems out and we have to wait for 2 weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

24th Nov 2004, 06:40

Hello, I also have an Alfa Romeo and my Airbag light is lit too. I just wanted to know whether the dealer fixed the problem and if so how much did it cost.

Thanks.

23rd Mar 2005, 05:33

That's bizarre! my Alfa 156 Selespeed has done 49,368 & the clutch actuator has failed. quoted £1500 & just authorised dealer to do the work. Apparently to do the work, the cambelt needs to be removed & can't be put on again, so the price includes new cambelt as well. Know there was a problem when a "hissing" noise could be heard on gear changes & unstable when coming to a stop (felt like car was going to stall). This is quite obviously a fault with the clutch. I love the car, but I'm gutted about the £1500.00. My next Alfa will have a normal gearbox!!! Beware the selespeed gearbox!

2000 Alfa Romeo 156 Selespeed 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Fantastic Italian Stallion

Faults:

Fabulous Italian Stallion.

Fault free motoring for 2 years now until I finally went to sort out a clutch judder which I suspected and confirmed was a Selespeed failure.

The clutch plates and actuator cost serious cash to get right - so much so that even though it was out of warranty my local dealer went 50/50 with the cost. Circa £1,200 which is frightening.

Other than that major item - it has been 100% perfect. No electrical problems, started on the button etc etc.

General Comments:

The 156 is a glorious car both for its looks and its driving style.

It beats the 3 series hands down on looks and driving ability.

Always produces a smile, especially on full throttle.

Makes a great noise and when you're in the mood for a play - the play station like abilities of the selespeed button lift you out of normality.

Bit short on space in the back, but capable of getting four adults to the match - just. Kids fine.

No cup holder! apart from that if you won't be disappointed.

Don't try to sell it as they depreciate like mad - but be a little different and live a little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

5th Jul 2004, 12:24

Obviously a frank yet biased review from the owner. The total experience of owning an Alfa has to include the reliability of a vehicle. I would suggest that the 156 appearance is unusual compared to the Germanic equivalents and some may consider it good looking.

Lets face it, no car with todays technology should put their owners through such large expense after a relative short life.

Cars are to be enjoyed not endured.

20th Jul 2004, 07:08

I concur with the 156 Selespeed contributor. I think you've got to own one to understand the attraction. This type of gearchange isn't perfect, but gets much better with familiarity. You need to understand what the computer is trying to do (read the manual!) then work WITH it to get best results. It can be every bit as involving as a manual car, and above 60% throttle and 5,000 revs, it up-changes in around 400 milliseconds - pretty much as quick as the best of manuals. (Why, after all, in this day and age, should we depress a pedal on the floor every time we want to change gear? I think the manual clutch will soon be a dead duck!).

Forget the automatic 'City' mode though - it's not good because gear changes come when you are least expecting them. If you want a proper auto - then buy a 2.5 V6 with the Q System.

I've had good reliability for 4 years and 57k miles. but the flexible front exhaust pipe has just blown (£175 - ouch!). Main gripe is some throttle on/off hesitation, a result of over enthusiastic emissions controls I am told.

A bit more horsepower would be nice (an Autodelta supercharger kit perhaps?), but all in all it's a great companion to my Mk1 Golf GTI and my stable of old Jowetts!

27th Jan 2011, 04:30

The Selespeed is only for those who understand what it is and how it functions (or thinks). Otherwise you burst it and start complaining of high costs.

A great car indeed, love the handling, was effortless at 200kw/hr. Now try the standard (not the M versions) German machines and tell me what you think.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 62 reviews