2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 9 of 13

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 2.5V6 24v from United Arab Emirates

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5V6 24v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint

Summary:

Fantastic car

Faults:

Temp/Kph switch loose connection.

Refueling tank pressure release valve replace... twice!

General Comments:

Excellent performance, fantastic looks and best of all is the V6 engine.

The AC is generally noisy.

Upgrading the suspension improves the already excellent handling.

Wish they make a 4x4 GTA version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

25th Jun 2006, 00:31

Hi, its me again. Same owner of the above car, same car. Now covered 130,000 km with nothing major to report.

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Veloce 1.6 TS from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 TS Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A head turning, beautiful and fast car!

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my Alfa!

Although it is only a 1.6 engine it really shifts - faster then my 1.8 VW Golf.

It handles really well.

The interior is to die for (the Veloce model). I think it looks really classy -cream leather and the dash is nice to look at.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Voloce Sport Pack 2 1.8 Tspark from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Tspark Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Great Looks, Top Perfomance and Relatively cheap

Faults:

Pop out ashtray broke, won't spring out anymore - probably because I keep tons of change in there!.

Electric reclining unit built into seat is loose.

Air Con isn't great.

Paintwork chips easily.

General Comments:

The car looks Amazing and drives really well, a little bit too easy to throw into corners too quickly, but the handling is top drawer.

I'm 6 foot and I can't see the speedometer past 60mph as the steering wheel impedes this.

The interior is stylish and the recaro buckets looks great.

This car with its EVO style spoiler and lowered suspension really turns heads. Get the sport pack to stand out from the crowd!!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Veloce Selespeed 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 220

Summary:

A superb drive

Faults:

Loose fuse box cover from new, but now replaced under warranty with a new design with a 'turn button' that locks it in place.

General Comments:

A fine example of a driver's car.

Looks 'to kill for'.

The selespeed is fun, but can catch you out in the wrong gear at roundabouts if you let it change down itself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great looks and engine, suspect build and quality

Faults:

The battery died after only 2 months.

The clutch thrust bearing has become noisy and is waiting to be replaced under warranty after 4 months. The brake servo has an internal leak (after 5 months) and is awaiting replacement under warranty.

Odd software glitches with the radio-CD player.

General Comments:

It's a great looking car, a pleasure to drive (it still makes me smile after 6 months and the catalog of problems). Cornering is a dream, the engine note is tuned to thrill, and heads turn when it goes by.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Veloce 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance6450 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

The buy of my life

Faults:

These are initial impressions only, as I only bought the car 4 weeks ago.

The fuel gauge is a bit random below 1/2 a tank.

The drivers door button sticks in the cold.

General Comments:

Although I've only had the car a month it's been absolutely brilliant - the engine out powers many other cars I've driven, and the looks are unmatched in my opinion.

The car is going in for service soon to get a couple of minor faults fixed, but apart from those the car has run like a dream. So far...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

24th Mar 2004, 10:18

I have a Veloce 156 and would like to ask you if you find that the power does not kick in until 3000 rpm on yours?

2001 Alfa Romeo 156 Lusso 1.8 TS from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 TS Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint

Summary:

Even better than it looks

Faults:

Rear suspension bushes replaced at 24,000 mile service under warranty.

General Comments:

I wanted a 156 from the moment I saw one. Circumstances dictated that I had to wait until last April.

18 months and 25,000 miles I am delighted with the car. Handling is superb, performance adequate (my one slight regret is that I didn't go for the 2.0, but the car on the top of my list next time around is the GTA, so that should solve the problem).

Build quality is the best I've ever experienced from Alfa Romeo and up there with the Germans. In terms of looks, style, desirability etc, it is streets ahead. I can't believe people buy ugly, asthmatic BMW Compacts and pay more for them than this!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

4th Sep 2005, 08:36

It's a good job it is better than it looks because it looks vile.

5th Sep 2005, 04:23

For the author of the 4th September comment: You probably admire the design of AMC Pacer, then...

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews