1996 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 3 of 13

1996 Audi A4 2.8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Perfect winter sedan!

Faults:

When I got the car, the brake light was on. Brake fluid level was below the minimum. I put more fluid and after 2 weeks it was low again. Later I found out that two rear calipers were leaking. Replaced them and no problems then.

Valve cover gaskets are leaking - not a big deal, will replace soon.

General Comments:

This car handles so good, looks very nice, even though it is 1996. It attracts people, especially girls!

For its price (used), it's one of the best!

If you don't like caring about your car, can't fix it on your own - don't buy this car!!!

Parts are costly. Well, not as high as newer models. Still, i have good discount on parts and work in a garage, so I am fine with repairs.

My suggestion to all future buyers - buy it only from an original owner with all records, and only in a good shape! Otherwise you will spend lots of money on repairs! Buy a Vorolla and sleep well! :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2008

1996 Audi A4 2.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

I'm sticking with Audi/VW

Faults:

I had to replace two hoses after buying it (they were already worn).

Problem with the ignition that was repaired for free (safety recall).

General Comments:

I really don't understand how this car gets so many negative comments on the internet.

Mine is now 11 years old. I don't drive it like a grandma either, and the above are the only things that needed to be fixed. Solid car with a nice interior that still gets the "Nice car!" comment from people (This car is not modified in any way. All stock.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

8th Aug 2007, 09:27

Amen buddy, the negative comments come from user neglect. They'll buy the car used, run it on regular gas and put 10w-30 oil they got from the petrol station, and say the reliability sucks. Ha!

4th Sep 2007, 22:45

Seems that way to me too. Run around Audi forums and you find:

1. People that actually maintain their car (happy owners).

Or

2. People that do just as you said. They don't give the car what it requires, then they complain and say it's junk.

WARNING: People, it WILL cost you more to own an Audi. Gas, oil, and other things cost more. Cutting corners will ruin your car. Do it right and enjoy problem free driving.

14th Sep 2007, 07:51

Wow. I have never heard much positives about the A4. I take it the 1995 was amongst the best first Generation A4's then. I am going to buy a 1995 model.

6th Oct 2007, 00:39

Mine is actually a 96 2.8L. Not sure how it ended up on here.

-Original poster.

31st Aug 2009, 00:21

OP again. Around 130k on it, had to replace one tie rod end. 177 dollars installed. No other issues.

1996 Audi A4 2.8L quattro from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8L quattro Automatic
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Faults:

I have a 96 A4 2.8L Quattro with 91000 miles on it...

All I can say is it's not the best car to start off driving. Part of me is fairly sure I have the first A4 ever made. Anything you could think of going wrong has happened. From control arms to CV joints, I have had it all replaced and the car still runs terrible.

I love the appearance of the car and the drive when it runs semi decent, but the amount to service this car needs is getting out of hand.

I have a couple friends who also have Audis, and I get mixed feelings from them.. some of them love the car and haven't had any problems with it, and some hate it and want to get rid of it like mine! So you're pretty much 50/50 on whether you are gonna get a good one.

I would never ever buy another 96... with it being the first generation of the A4, it had too many kinks that needed to be worked out.

So far in the past 3 months, the car has been in the shop 3 times, and has cost me close to 3 grand... and it's extremely slow, and being 21 years old and a girl that's very into cars.. that's not a plus!

Plus these cars depreciate very fast, and hold no value as the miles go up and the years add on... they hold a very low trade in value, and just aren't worth getting in the first place.

Now I'm looking into getting a 2001.5 S4...can't get enough of the B5 body style!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews