2003 Audi A4 Sport TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Practical loadall with a touch of class

Faults:

Front wiper blades arms.

Rear wheel bearing.

General Comments:

Above problems sorted by a local garage at little cost (ordered the parts myself).

Car has proved very reliable through the winter etc.

Performance on par with my previous car (Mondeo 2 Litre diesel).

Good fit and finish; very secure and solid.

Ride a bit harsh in Sport form, but sure footed.

Running costs - find a good independent Audi specialist as this is the tough bit if you're on a tight budget. Also check out the various Audi drivers sites, as very good tips and recommendations for DIY or garages.

Economy - just been up to Edinburgh and back (650 miles in total) on 50 litres of fuel to collect my son and all his clobber, so pretty reasonable, albeit mostly motorway, so getting around 55mpg.

Overall pleased so far, and when I can, I would buy 2006 model or perhaps try a BMW 320 estate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2010

2003 Audi A4 Avant Quattro 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

All had been OK until I just got in car and cannot rev the engine. It idles fine, but no power.

ESP light is constantly on.

Coil light is continuously flashing.

All 3 faults have just come on, and all was OK this morning after driving for 10 miles.

General Comments:

Car is a dream to drive with great handling and fuel consumption.

Well built and quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2009

2003 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Summary:

Elegant, safe, and sporty all in one luxurious package

Faults:

Ignition coil went bad at 62,000 miles. Replaced all four ignition coils and have not had an issue since.

General Comments:

Understated exterior styling that attracts attention from people that like elegant and beautiful styling.

Interior is excellent for its class, and rivals much more expensive cars from other manufacturers.

Quattro provides confidence regardless of weather conditions. Tight in the turns and the car behaves beautifully in extreme circumstances.

1.8T engine is slightly underpowered considering the weight of the vehicle, but allows for great fuel economy in return. A simple ECU flash upgrade can make the engine pull significantly harder while maintaining great fuel economy when cruising.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2009

2003 Audi A4 Avant TDI Sport 1.9 turbo diesel 100bhp from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

VW/Audi TDi engines are not only reliable, but economical with torque that starts at 1000rpm and continues to max revs. Even this current 100bhp engine is delightful to drive. The previous "red-eye" at 110bhp was pretty quick. The current 100 is more rapid in the 60mph and upwards range. All stop at 128mph.

A little cramped for passengers in the rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2008

2003 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Summary:

Low quality, and manufacturer does not stand behind their product

Faults:

Engine replaced due to oil sludge at approximately 35,888 miles.

Poor connection in light housing at 35,888 miles.

Replacement of throttle valve house 37,729 miles.

Leaking turbo bypass valve & pressure hose at 37,729 (car miles, less than 2000 engine miles)

Replaced power steering gear assembly at 72,852 (car miles, approx 37,000 engine miles)

Replaced coolant temperature sensor 81,078 car miles, approx 46,000 engine miles.

Replaced 4 ignition coils at 81,078 car miles, approx 46,000 engine miles.

Current sitting at dealer with $4400 worth of engine damage from broken timing belt with approx. 65,000 miles on the engine.

General Comments:

I strongly recommend against purchasing any car made by this manufacturing. The repair list doesn't even include the multiple headlight changes, normal things like brakes, etc. Not just for the ridiculously high number of repairs, and on items that tend to be known problems with these cars, but Audi's attitude regarding standing behind their product. I had to research myself and only happened upon the oil sludge problem and had to "prove" my oil changes before Audi would replace the engine. Not even the dealer/service center volunteered this information, even berating me over it happening, until I faxed them info I found on the internet and my oil change records. Now, with the timing belt issue, a known problem, Audi first told me the service manager with the dealer would decide if it would be covered by Audi, and Audi asked for, you guessed it, all my oil change records, which I produced, showing changes at about every 5000 miles. Now, everyone knows the oil changes have nothing to do with the timing belt, but... Then, after I furnished all of those, and proved I had them, they said, Oh, we want you to pay approx $300 to have the engine pulled apart so we can see what caused the timing belt to break. OK, but the three reasons the dealer gave should all be things that should never have failed at 65,000 miles on an engine, just like the ignition coils I had to replace. And, after asking for specifics on what they had to find to pay for repairs, I have received no reply whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2007

23rd Nov 2009, 15:08

I agree with your post above. I owned a 2003 Audi A4 Quattro, and this car has been nothing but a nightmare and cost a lot of money.

In addition, the dealer gave me the run around, and on one instance even damaged my rear deck lid and did a cheap touch-up job, and did not release the car to me until the evening when it was dark so I might not notice. They adamantly refused to accept fault and instead tried to make it sound like I was pulling some sort of insurance scan.

I have owned many Audis in the past, but this car has made me realize Audi doesn't care about their reputation and relationship with customers - all they care about is the sale and making money. While this might benefit them in the short term, in the long run, they are going to lose many loyal customers and eventually go back to their reputation of the 80's when no one would touch an Audi. You might almost think the car is manufactured in China and not Germany.

5th Jan 2010, 23:03

I had a 2.7 biTurbo A6, purchased with 87k miles, worst car ever.

I came across a 2003 A4 Convertible, supposedly a 1 owner all records, 64k miles, I went thru similar problems; timing belt went out, engine cost 5k to fix. The car was 13k, and I spent total of 7k in repairs for the A4, and 3k for the A6. Audi should be sued for making disposable cars after 70k miles. By the way, Chinese cars are way more reliable, is more like Peruvian made.

31st May 2010, 23:26

I completely agree with your review. I had an Audi A4 Quattro and it was a really fun car to drive. I had it for about 2 years, and over that 2 years I spent about $15,000 fixing it. Near the end of me owning it, it was breaking down about once a week. I will never buy another Audi.