2003 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2003 Audi A4 Cabriolet 2.4 sport from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 sport Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz CLK

Summary:

The coolest cabriolet in its class.

Faults:

The Servicing is going to be expensive.

The Insurance is high.

General Comments:

In my view the new A4 cabriolet is the the most stylish in its class.

The performance is just what I wanted. It's a dream to drive and when you need that extreme power surge for over-taking, you just ask and it's right there like your shadow.

Motorway cruising is effortless and comfortable.

The car has real presence and, when parked against other competitors, the Audi's full glory shines and puts the other cabriolets to shame.

The interior is very well built and luxurious, the smell of leather and the quiet purr of the v6 engine; you sometimes forget just how fast you're driving oops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

31st Dec 2003, 10:45

Yes I agree the A4 Cabriolet looks great, has good build quality and a great image. The only problem is that in terms of road holding, handling and driving position the BMW 3 series convertible is superior.

17th Mar 2004, 10:25

You've obviously never driven an Audi Cabriolet with sports pack then!

Sports seats - the most comfortable car seats I've ever sat in, way better and more adjustable than BMW 3 Series seats.

Sports suspension - Transforms the car, perfect blend of supple ride yet excellent body control.

17 inch wheels - Look superb.

All for an additional £750, essential on the Audi Cabrio.

The BMW probably does "handle" better, but since the Audi is superior in looks, interior quality, price, image, cabin space, hood design and style I think we can afford to give the Beemer its one hollow plus point!

I'll stick with my otherwise way superior Audi Cabriolet Sport though I think ;-D.

Ari.

22nd Feb 2008, 18:30

I had a 2.4 Diesel Automatic Cabriolet and had problems with the clutch. Eventually had total clutch upgrade under warranty.. a friend also had one and his clutch failed twice!

Looks fantastic and loved the multitronic gearbox. Not good on economy at high 20's mpg. (In comparison I had a E320TDi that did over 40mpg on the motorway!)

2003 Audi A4 Cabriolet 2.4V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2300 miles
Previous carSeat Leon

Summary:

Excellent quality materials poorly put together

Faults:

Numerous rattles and creaks which are gradually getting put right.

Knocking from underneath, dealer cannot hear.

Rotational bearing type noise that is getting worse, that I am told is tyre noise, despite the fact that it starts at about 10MPH and gets worse as the speed increases and stays constant regardless of road surface.

General Comments:

Considering my previous car (Seat Leon) cost nearly a third of the price of the Audi, it was totally faultless in the 2 years in which I had it.

The Leon is part of the VW/Audi group, so why is the Audi so bad.

I very much doubt I will buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

2003 Audi A4 TDi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Faults:

No Problems.

General Comments:

I wasn't intending to buy from a main dealer, but thought of picking up a cheap BMW320D import. However I was bowled over by the politeness, thoughtfulness and professionalism of our local Audi dealer. During the test drive I knew this was a special car. With light steering and hugely responsive torque, it was a delight to drive around town. I really noticed how tired and cheap my own car was when driving home.

Now the car is mine and the cash spent, I have a the occasional niggle of thinking the interior is a little cramped, and miss an armrest, but as soon as the ignition key jumps out of the key-fob I know I have chosen this quality car wisely over the brash BMW.

There is a real feeling of safety and comfort in the cabin. The car doors lock at 15mpg, the display tells you everything is 'OK' and the stereo allows you to enjoy the music. The car then reminds you to take a rest after 2 hours driving.

At speed, on the open road, this car is fast, but feels too classy to race. Steering has the same lightness, which can sometimes be a little unnerving if you briefly take your eyes off the road.

There are plenty of toys on the 2003 model, and keeping the mpg above 50 is one of my current games.

All in all this car is my new best friend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

19th Jul 2004, 10:11

You seemed to like the car, but you rated it poorly. I'm looking for same the model myself and so assume that your overall poor rating is just a typo.

2003 Audi A4 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carMercury Mountaineer

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Nothing. It runs like a dream.

General Comments:

This car is very smooth and handles superbly. It is fantastic in rainy weather and feels glued to even a very wet road. It is my first "luxury" car and even though it is "low" end (though I have the 3.0 - the 1.8T is cheaper),it is very worthy of the "luxury" car label.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2003

2003 Audi A4 Sport turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Value with a strong bite!

Faults:

The only problem I have had with the car was a failed air sensor 8000 miles into my relationship with the car. It was promptly fixed at the dealership when I brought it in for a routine Oil Change.

General Comments:

I really enjoy driving this car. I drive more than you average person and love every minute while behind the wheel.

Although the car can be uncomfortable on longer trips over 1.5 or 2 hours, you must realize it is considered a sport sedan and this is expected.

The car is a dream to drive and I have complete confidence in foul weather driving.

The car has yet to give me a scare on wet pavement and I have pushed it in these conditions. Also note that during the last snow storm I drove this vehicle effortlessly in 8 inches of snow with factory tires.

Great, powerful little car, and this is coming from someone who grew up in American V-8's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews