2003 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2003 Audi A4 1.8T 1.8 Turbo 20V from South Africa

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Turbo 20V Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

A disappointment.

Faults:

Poor shock absorbers and soft suspension.

General Comments:

Bouncy suspension. Very poor ride.

Very sensitive brakes which are hard to control.

Suffers of Turbo-lag and it is rather underpowered for a car which is marketed with a sporting character.

Nice design and otherwise a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 11:40

This car was entirely great! I loved it the first minute I drove it!

15th Apr 2004, 17:12

Come on...Boys!

Get yourself into a Pug 406, and Feel the difference, in terms like: Handling-cornering-riding.

Generally speaking, DRIVEABILITY and LONGLIVEABILITY.

And all above, surely cheaper. Unless you are snob.

18th Apr 2004, 18:07

Many people do not get the opportunity to test drive the cars they buy and even if they do, it is usually a short "around the block" test drive.

A prestige car such as the 1.8T may seem to be responsive on a quick around the block cruise, but its lack of real performance may only become apparent once attempting an overtake manouvre on the open road.

By the way, I did not write the original review, but believe that reviewers should be encouraged to tell it as it is (after an ownership experience) without being berated by narrow minded people.

Finally, I agree that the lesser Audis do not live up to their sporting image. However, fork out more money and buy an S4 or RS6, and there are very few cars that can keep up with them on the road.

Oh and don't bother trying to test drive one of these cars - most dealers won't let you test drive until you leave a deposit!

2003 Audi A4 Avant 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A lot for the bucks

Faults:

Strange noise when turning while indicating, dealer says it was the airbag spring. Fixed under warranty.

Fuel indicator stopped working due to corroded sensor. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This is an attractive car and quite enjoyable to drive.

The Quattro system is amazing, the car can be driven hard on any surface.

Braking is really weak and has caused many scary moments, dealer says brakes are OK. Have considered upgrading the brakes, but it will void the warranty.

Automatic gearbox is not great, there is a big accelaration delay in 'Drive', while 'sport mode' is too high revving making it uncomfortable to drive.

I don't regret buying this car, the Quattro alone is worth the dosh, but I miss my 328!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

18th Mar 2004, 23:16

Quattro system is amazing, but braking and acceleration a little dull huh?

I resisted the temptation to buy another high maintenance European car, and recently traded up from my Audi A4 for a fabulous high performance "All Wheel Drive" Subaru. My opinion:

1. Quattro vs All Wheel Drive (AWD)? - AWD is just as stable (if not more).

2. Performance? The Subie kills the Audi, and puts a smile on your face for driving it, not just posing in it.

3. Braking? I kinda thought the Audi had good brakes, 'til I bought my Subie...

3. Features? I now have climate air, front and side air bags, leather, power sun roof, cruise control and after market sat nav - with around Aus $5,000.00 change over a base A4. And you can have an Avant type shape if you want.

4. Reliability? Have you read all the carsurvey.org reviews about the lack of reliability and high maintenance costs of the Audis. Now go and have a look at the reviews on the Subaru WRX's and Libertys. The A4 I had was the most expensive to maintain car I have ever owned.

5. Value? If you want to pose, consider an A4. If you're past posing and want a real driver's car instead, have a look at the Subarus. Oh, unless you want to spend four to five times more and buy a proper Audi such as an S4 or RS6. And if you really care about posing and not driving, spend the extra for the convertible. Of course the extra depreciation each year would probably almost be equivalent to a new WRX or Liberty every year.

Look past the badge (a very illuminating experience).

31st Jan 2007, 18:28

Interesting analysis. I've driven Subaru's and found that they are an excellent automobile, but they fall short in a few areas that are important to Audi owners. One being the overall level of sophistication, something that needs no further explanation. Secondly, drive-ability. No Subaru that I've driven can compare to the road manners of an Audi. It's like comparing wines, one can always appreciate a fine wine.

1st Feb 2007, 09:07

While I agree about the quality part (although Subarus are vastly more reliable than any Audi), the reality is Audis are boring cars similar to big American sedans. Subarus are much more fun and prove their rallying roots. Why Audi doesn't do this given its quattro changed the driving world forever is beyond me.

I will say that I swapped out tires on my Impreza for sportier ones and that made the difference.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews