2000 Audi A6 Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2000 Audi A6 1.8T SE 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fantastic used buy

Faults:

None whatsoever.

General Comments:

I chose this car as I had a baby on the way and wanted something with plenty of room, decent performance and a quality marque.

I initially wanted an A4 Avant, but a car dealer suggested the A6 as the boot space was huge and the price was much more reasonable - I would pass this advice on to anyone with a young family.

I bought mine privately at 18 months old with 9,000 miles on the clock for half the price of a new one. I have now owned it for 3 years and nothing at all has gone wrong. I have never owned a car that is so reliable.

The ride is very comfortable on long journeys and there is plenty of room as you would expect from a car of this size.

The interior is typical Audi; high quality functional materials.

Dealer servicing is reasonable when compared to Mercedes and even Renault. Also,it doesn't need that many of them.

The car really comes into its own on the motorway, where it is quiet and sufficiently fast to get you out of trouble. I get 32 to the gallon in general and I'd definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2005

2000 Audi A6 Avant 2.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

Good, but expensive to repair

Faults:

Front trans/axle damage from parking lot concrete block six months ago.

Both right and left cam seals are leaking with drips on the exhaust and comcommitant smoke and smell.

The left front trans/axle boot is damaged and must be replaced.

General Comments:

The performance is good on all conditions of roadway (except rutted tracks).

The cabin comfort is high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004

2000 Audi A6 Q 4.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G35

Summary:

Not what I expected from Audi

Faults:

The transmission started to "jolt" when downshifting.

Needed some oil after only 2000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has a nice interior and it's comfortable to ride in.

The sunroof is too loud when it's open.

Audi mechanics are rude and condecending. They have a long way to go on their customer service skills.

Customer Service is also very rude.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

2000 Audi A6 2.6 Quattro from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50200 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 230E

Faults:

Transmission bangs into high gear when decelerating. Once car is shut off, trans is OK again. Sounds similar to the problem mentioned earlier. Car has only 50k and runs otherwise ok. Miles are all highway and never abused.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

2000 Audi A6 2.7T 2.7T from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Great car with durability problems

Faults:

We had many problems while under warranty. However, all were eventually fixed, except for a problem with the manual transmission which we unfortunately did not mention to the dealer until the warranty expired and the problem became annoying to a fault.

General Comments:

When the car is operating without problems, it is an excellent car. It handles well and the turbo motor has an excellent power curve with massive torque at low rpms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

2000 Audi A6 2.7T Quattro turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

This is one of the best cars I've ever driven

Faults:

Brake rotors keep warping. At 22000 miles I am on my fourth set, and they are now warping. Dealer is very cooperative in replacing the rotors, but has not been able to resolve why this is happening. My driving is almost all freeway, I don't brake hard, I do not ride the brake, and I do not have dust shields. There is no explanation for this. My warranty will be up in 7 months and I am getting nervous.

The brakes create a lot of brake dust on the wheels. Aggravating to a clean-car fanatic, but a minor inconvenience.

The Bose stereo had to be replaced because it would not hold the preset radio stations. It took almost a year to get the replacement from Bose, but I still had the old stereo until the replacement came in so it was a minor inconvenience.

General Comments:

This is a fabulous car! Were it not for the rotor problem, I would have rated it all tens. I love driving it and for the first time snow and ice don't scare me as it did with my BMW. The paint is shiny and very resistant to scratches and chips. The sport package and sport seats make it comfortable yet able to handle the road with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

10th Feb 2004, 17:20

I'm seeing the same problem with pulsating brakes on my 2001 A6 2.7T. Rotors have been resurfaced or replaced every 10,000 miles so far and the problem keeps coming back. I'm now at nearly 60K miles and looking for alternative solutions. Are there after market brake rotors that dissipate the heat better?

Aside from this the car has been terrific.

5th Mar 2004, 03:41

If you haven't tried them, maybe vented brakes would help.

21st May 2004, 14:33

I have to agree with the rotor warping problem. I have a 2001 A6, 2.T, quattro. I have had the rotors repaired 3 times in 3 years. I don't understand why Audi can't get to the root of this; it is obviously a common problem. No matter, I am about to get a 2004 A6 becausse its power and its stability make it a superior driving car. And I love its understated elegance..

10th Oct 2004, 23:46

2000 A6T.

I have owned my Audi for 1 year, I am extremely happy with it's performance and beautiful interior. The only major problem was the regulators for the driver and passenger windows $550.00. For those who complain about money, just remember before you purchased your fine GERMAN automobile you already knew that they were going to be expensive to work on. (you just had to have it, RIGHT!!).

29th Nov 2004, 06:40

I also had problems with the preset radio stations on my 2003 A6 Avant Quattro. It was first believed it was the radio, but after thorough investigation it turned out that it was a fault in the antenna base. This was covered by the 3 year guarantee.

Ib.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 29 reviews