25th Aug 2004, 12:01

I have a 2001 A4 that was bought new. Add me to the list of people with cam seal problems. Just over 50,000 miles and out of warranty. Goodbye $1,300.

15th Oct 2004, 08:11

I have a 1998 A4 also with the cam seal leak. The local dealer told me it will be $1600 to repair and that, no, Audi would not be willing to participate in any way with the repair costs. That's not very nice for what appears to be a pretty common problem.


4th Nov 2004, 09:30

My 2000 A6 has been kept in super shape. I have only 30,000 miles. My dealer has just informed me my valve cover gaskets need to be replaced for app. $1,400. I'm disappointed. I want to do something to reduce my cost.



15th Nov 2004, 08:32

2000 Audi A6Q.

I also owned a '96 A6 -- the finest car and best stereo ever built! It's still working beautifully for a friend at 140K miles. I miss it terribly.

I bought another A6, but like everyone else here I am extremely disappointed with the problems and reliability. It now has 71K and I either put another $3,500 into it or trade it. (for upper control arms, timing belt, brakes. I just put $1,700 for seals and other Audi problems) I was going to keep it until I read all about the CAM seals. After reading Consumer reports reliability marks for VW and Audi over the last 4 years, the manufacurer is definitely slipping. This will probably be my last until they get their act together and stop charging outrageous prices for the cars and service.

4th Jan 2005, 12:42

Have a 2000 A6 2.7T and have experienced the same rotor/brake problems. Have replaced the brakes three times in 75K miles, each time due to warping more than thickness of brakes. Have talked with Audi customer service and they carry the company line (waste of time). This is my 4th and probably last Audi. I love the car and quality of the the ride, but after owning a few and not able to get any satisfaction from the regional Audi people to help address the brake issue, I'm through. Audi seems to be a cyclical company. Whenever they become a "hot" car, quality and customer service drops. Wish they knew how to service a customer on a regular basis, not just when they are looking to rebuild their image/reputation.

22nd May 2005, 22:01

I bought a used 1998 A4 2.8 about 2 1/2 years ago. It had almost 50,000 miles on it then and almost 75,000 now.

I bought an insurance policy covering much of the car to 100,000 miles or 3 years. Such a policy is great for the chronic problems I am reading here. Seals, bearings, brakes, steering racks are all covered in my plan. They recently sprang for a steering rack, tie rods and alignment. You have to read carefully what is and isn't covered, but they've been good about paying for what is.

2nd Jun 2005, 23:01

I am the original poster of this message chain. I traded in the 2001 A6 a couple months ago. The warranty work over the 3.5 years since new included: cam adjuster seal, battery, lockout switch, hazard switch, instrument cluster, fuel sending unit, another battery, and turn signal switch. The rotors and pads were machined 5 times. And, the ABS light came on sporadically, but no problem could ever be found. Having said all that, I really did like the car and miss not having an Audi. All the repairs were covered under warranty and I always had a loaner provided. However, I was afraid to own the car out of warranty, so it had to go. My new ride is a Jaguar. It is rattle-free, has nicer leather, and generates so many compliments. But, I have a feeling I could still return to the Audi brand one day.

15th Dec 2005, 17:21

I have a 2001, Audi A6-2.7T for two years now. I will spare you for all the service trips, while the car was still under warranty, but what happened after the 50K just blew my mind.

Driving in a parking lot, I heard this weird cranking noise from the wheels. I had to tow the car back to the service, where I was told that the car has a broken drive shaft. This happened when driving with 3 miles/hour. If I were in the highway driving 65 miles/hour, I wouldn't be here to write this comment.

I have never heard of any car with a broken drive shaft under normal driving conditions. Audi blamed it on me. $1400 later, and lucky to be alive, I am still looking for someone to buy the car for $3K under the market value.

4th Feb 2006, 12:24

I recently went from a BMW 525i to the sharp "looking" 2001 Audi A6. It has 49k mile on it and is under a certified pre-owned warranty for 2 more years. I must say I feel like an idiot for buying this car. In the one month I have owned this lemon it has been in the shop twice. The check engine light came on after 3 days. It needed a new temperature sensor. Trip 2 to the shop was to be a simple alignment turned into new Tie Rods. Now on my 4 week anniversary of owning the A6 2.8, the turn signals stopped working last night. This will be trip 3.

My BMW that had 207k mile on it went to the shop for repairs about once a year. Routine things like brakes ect. I am feeling much remorse and want to trade this thing back to the dealer ASAP.

2nd Mar 2006, 14:04

I own a 1999 Audi A6 with 64K miles on it.

As I write this the cam seals are being replaced.

3rd Mar 2006, 00:36

I own a 2000 a6 2.7t 77,000mls... I've had more problems on this car then on my 03' Mercury Mountaineer!

My rotors and brakes went bad got a great deal to fix them $700. Then I had an engine oil leak, then my ABS system got messed up; my ABS light turns on, my car got very very slow and don't know why.

I have to replace my tie rods for the 2nd time, my heater is making a weird noise. They're telling me I need a $1,000 tune up and change my timing belt for $250. I'm sick and tired of the car!!! I need to sell it!!!

29th Mar 2006, 10:24

After reading all of these bad comments about this car and manufacture it makes me extremely concerned about the 2001 Used Audi A6 2.7 (72,000miles) that I am purchasing next week.

I am going to play it safe and I going to purchase an extended warranty to help eliminate my concerns. But these reviews makes me ponder and think that after all these bad reviews, are their any good ones or are all these Audi's just lemons?

I have just sold my 1992 Subaru SVX LS/L for this Audi. I am always on the road, it is my hope that this 2001 Audi A6 2.7 will keep up and not sit on the side of the road waiting for a tow.

I will post some more reviews down the road, any suggestions do not hesitate to email me.



New To the Audi Family...