1986 Audi Coupe Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1986 Audi Coupe GT 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

An eye-catcher, powerful ride

Faults:

Fuel injector distribution sensor burnt out.

General Comments:

Bought the car on August 2000.

Car is in immaculate shape, inside-out.

The car had a hard cold start when I first purchased it, and would loose power at about 3000-3500 rpms. After replacing the sensor, it runs like new. Have not seen another one like it. Have been told that most owners decide to keep them and restore them. That explains how hard parts are to find. Found out that I have a 15 gal fuel tank which means that it's an imported UK version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

28th Feb 2005, 21:21

Greetings;

I have purchased a 1986 Audi Coupe GT (UK) version and am in love with it. My friends and family think I am obsessed with my car.

How rare are these cars?

I live in Vancouver, BC and have only seen 2. This car kicks ass and am in the process of restoring the bodywork and a new paint job soon.

Was going to sell it until some long road trips and almost got a speeding ticket; but alas, just a warning.

Linsey Ernst

Vancouver, BC.

19th May 2006, 09:50

AUDI GT Coupe

My father-in-law gave me an 86. I love it, but may have to sell it. Do you think this car one day will be worth a lot?

Knoxville, TN.

19th May 2006, 15:25

The only remotely collectible Audi from that era would be the Quattro, and even then prices aren't like those of Porsches. Not that there is anything wrong with Audis of the era, just marketplace whims.

3rd Nov 2006, 15:32

I agree with the eye catcher part. I notice people in their cars on the other side of the highway constantly breaking their neck to see what kind of car your'e diving. Coupes have a very low looking roof-line due to the steep angled windshield. I have pimped mine out over the years, a few modifications, and such. I have to have one of the meanest looking red coupe GTs in America.

1986 Audi Coupe GT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro GTA

Summary:

Quality does come cheap, buy one now!!

Faults:

VAG alarm blew up, replaced the clutch top up reservoir!

General Comments:

Truly quiet and luxurious after the Metro. A well engineered and built car + fun to work on.

Maximum cruising potential.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2000

15th Jun 2006, 15:46

I have a 1986 Audi Coupe. Unfortunately, had an accident and I'm having some problems to find the parts I need. Any help on where to look?

Zeca_manu@hotmail.com.

1986 Audi Coupe GT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVolkwagen Golf GTI

Summary:

Wouldn't sell it for the world - superb!

Faults:

Fuel pump failure @ 58,000 miles.

4 exhaust systems in 38,000 miles.

Needs a new nearside headlight - reflector tarnished. Currently searching for a S/H replacement!

General Comments:

Better built than my previous Golf GTI, more fun than my wife's Audi 80 2.0E.

Now getting old but no rust, body still looks like new, engine due for top end overhaul soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

19th Dec 2000, 17:55

I currently own an '86 Audi Coupe GT. I bought it in Norwich and drove it to Northern Ireland. I have to say that is one of the most fun drives I have ever owned.

It's in the garage at present due to a lack of funds. It drives but I have it stripped for a paint job.

It's not in anyway a cheap second car. Anyone who owns one will need to be handy with their hands in order to keep the repair bills down. On an '86 you can expect to have replaced most components other than the engine. In fact some things like clutch cylinders are almost every other year!

5th Feb 2002, 06:17

I own a 1986 Audi coupe quattro. It has covered 134,000 miles and is well looked after. The recent reduction by Audi to it's prices on older cars means that owning one of these excellent cars is so much cheaper now.

I have spent over £4,000 over the past 4 years to get my coupe back to its glory days. This included a respray and a top end overhaul. Also the usual jobs like rubber bushings and subframe bushes which are not inexpensive were done at 110k miles.

The fuel economy from my car is very surprising. 30 mpg around town! And up to 40 mpg on a long motorway run!

I am thinking about a new A2 in the near future so she will go to a loving home.

Thanks for the comments.

Jon Stoodley.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews