1991 Bentley Turbo R from North America - Comments

10th Oct 2005, 12:49

Once I fixed the problems they fairly well stayed fixed.

The only one that didn't was the mysterious gas smell. That stuck around the whole time I had the car. My mechanic tried and tried to resolve it, but was never successful.

My advice would be that if you are planning to acquire one of these have it gone over very well. The investment in the pre purchase inspection will more than pay for itself if it keeps you from having to fix a bunch of stuff at the outset.

26th Jan 2006, 06:11

I have a 1996 turbo R. I would say the gas smell is a leak in the A/C as I had a similar strange car odour, which I finally tracked to a stone ding to the front (very low) A/C radiator causing a slow AC fluid leak.

If buying and RR/Bentley get the car fully checked by the AA/AAA first.

28th Feb 2006, 19:20

HELP HELP!!! I just got a 1991 turbo R with a broken belt in the distributor. We replaced the belt and I don't have any info on setting the distributors back in or firing order.

Please if any body out there can get me some info or contact me with any person who can help.

Thanks.

Juan Jose Recavarren.

British Columbia. Canada.

17th May 2006, 11:27

Hi,

I can help you about that. Just give me your email address and I will send you information about that.

17th May 2006, 14:26

I am surprised at the poor gas mileage noted in this review (7.5 mpg). I own a 1983 Rolls-Royce, and though my gas mileage is not great (12-14 mpg) it is certainly better than this owner (and not much worse than many new SUV's)! I suspect there is another problem he hasn't identified which is causing his high gas consumption. I heartily agree with all his comments on both the quality of the R-R and Bentley products as well as the high maintenance and repair costs.

31st Aug 2006, 23:40

Any automobile is supposed to be serviced at 3000 miles, not 6500.

31st Oct 2006, 16:50

Serviced at 3000/6500?? like what?

I don't completely agree with the previous comment. I have a civic 06 and if that guy means regular service then he is wrong cause civic regular stuff is around 5500.

29th Dec 2006, 16:43

I have owned a 1988 Bentley Eight for the last 3 years. I owned a Silver Cloud in the 70's and was never thrilled with the hood ornament. I purchased the car sight unseen, and after fixing a few items (The car had been neglected) it's a pleasure to drive. The things that have been fixed have STAYED fixed. I just had 4 new Michelin tires installed, and I never knew how wonderful the car drove. I had a succession of Mercedes over the years, but this is better. I have it serviced at a facility that only does Rolls & Bentleys.

22nd Mar 2007, 10:22

I concur with the owner that suggested going ahead and getting under the car. I have a '49 Mk VI and next week will add an '89 Turbo R to the collection. A good shop manual and a few hand tools can solve a lot of expensive problems fairly reasonably. Replacement Parts has been a good source for NOS parts. Does anyone know where I can get a Flying B hood ornament for my newer toy? Thanks.

30th Mar 2007, 16:59

Hello to all I actually work on these cars mentioned above and would like to say that they are and engineering master piece. The cars that need the most repairs are ones that have been previously repaired by people that don't know what they are doing. I have worked on everything Jaguar, MS, BMW, Rover you name it, but the Rolls-Royce and Bentleys are truly unique in their functionality. They tend to be a bit more complicated, so when repaired by someone who is not patient and doesn't know what they are doing creates quite a mess. My advice to anyone buying a used Rolls or Bentley is to make sure it has not only had a good repair record, but also to investigate who has been fixing it. A car that has had ten different shop working on has probably had a poor repair or two or more. As far as you're need for ornaments for you're new Rolls Royce and Bentley goes give Flying Spares a try, they are in England, but you will save quite a bit over anything in the states.

Cheers to all.

2nd Apr 2007, 07:17

Thanks for the tip regarding Flying Spares - I will look them up. Google didn't find them.

Our trip from Orlando to Virginia Beach was uneventful in KCX25677. The Turbo kicks in very impressively out on the interstate. We averaged just at 15 MPG and could have done a bit better if I had put a couple more pounds of air in the tires.

So far just about every small problem such as with recalcitrant seat belts and radio antenna has been fixed with a wee bit of WD-40. Everything is now retracting and extending the way it should. Since we got the car in an "As Is" condition I expect to find a few more problems. It appears to have been stored and nothing done for the past 4-5 years. Bad for it, but reversible.

5th Apr 2007, 18:04

I recently purchased a '89 Turbo R with low mileage and it's in a class by itself. 0 to 60 in 6 seconds it gets 11 miles to a gallon. Smooth at high speeds, it's a pleasure to ride. Replaced tires at $600 each - have yet to experience the cost of maintenance. Driven 1500 miles a year, hope not to have too much repair. Great car.

7th Apr 2007, 04:45

I have a 1988 Turbo R a great car to drive. My problem is when I stop after cruising and the engine is hot, the car will not restart. I have taken the cover off the starter relay and with the ignition key on I can start the car by manually operating the relay. No more problems until the next stop. The car starts OK when cold or around town.

Any ideas, thanks Dave.

14th Apr 2007, 10:59

Another road trip with KCX25677 to report on and a new question for the forum. I pumped up the tires by two more pounds 32 front and 37 rear. We drove 300 miles into the Blue Ridge Mountains. Driving the Blue Ridge Parkway was a nice 100 mile stretch of ups, downs and roundy rounds. We got 16 MPG this time.

I checked the brake fluid again and once more I am down a bottle. Without any signs of a leak??? How much fluid do these things use and is this normal? Where to look?

Thanks.

14th Jul 2007, 08:25

On the brake fluid problem: I hate to be obvious, but these cars use mineral oil hydraulic fluid, not regular brake fluid. This is indicated by a green cap on the fluid reservoir. Anything other than the proper oil will cause costly damage. There was a recall on 89-90 RR and Bentley requiring a shield between the right front brake caliper line and the oil cooler line because they were too close together and could cause loss of fluid. Hope this is helpful.

25th Jul 2007, 17:44

I know about the mineral oil. That is all I put in. The problem finally made itself very clear. It was the left hand level ride device. A warning to others: If you keep putting in mineral oil it will eventually find a happy home on the carpeting in the trunk. Yuck! I found a very good mechanic in Richmond, VA (David Word) and KCX25677 is now leak free. We are still getting 11 MPG around town and 16 on the highway. Just about the same as a large SUV would get.