1986 BMW 3 Series 325es 2.7 inline 6 cylinder from North America


I'm glad I didn't get that Civic


The shifter is worn and needs replacing.

General Comments:

The car is quick and agile. It's like a cat on its tippy toes.

The low rev limit is a drag. Get used to shifting right after you start.

The bucket seats are nice when sitting forward, but when entering and exiting, it can hurt your butt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

22nd Sep 2001, 06:23

You're right about those seats!

1986 BMW 3 Series e 2.7 6 Cylinder from North America


The most reliable, excellent handling, perfectly balanced, solid car for the money


The exhaust had to be replaced ($650) (this was because I backed up in deep, packed snow), steering rack ($250), front rotors ($75), and control arm bushings ($180).

General Comments:

This is a great car considering how old it is, although the previous owners had kept it very well maintained. I do have a shimmy in the front end right now that I can't seem to diagnose, except to replace both control arms with bushings, the front shocks, get new tires and have a 4 wheel alignment performed. But, this is estimated at around $1500. If I was assured that this would in fact solve the shimmey, I would gladly have it done and drive the car until it developed major problems even though I can afford something newer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

10th May 2002, 11:32

Your shimmy in the front is due to a worn ball-joint, I had the same problem ans used rotor that would scrape on the pads and make the car shake.

19th Feb 2006, 21:52

Or from unbalanced wheels, cheap enough to get checked out before paying the 1500.

Good luck.

1986 BMW 3 Series 325is 2.5 from North America


Best performance for the money, easy to modify


I have blown 3 rocker arms, but that is my own fault (driving the car under extreme performance)

General Comments:

This car has been extremely reliable. I have driven it for approximately 45000 km a year, and I haven't had any problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

1986 BMW 3 Series 325e 2.7 straight six from North America


It's worth every penny and hardly anything will ever go wrong with it


The oxygen sensor.

The driver's seat has malfunctioned more than once.

General Comments:

I love this car, it's fast, reliable and quick off the line.

It handles like a dream and the steering wheel is effortless to turn even though it came without power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

1986 BMW 3 Series 325 6 cyl from North America


Solid sporty sedan


When we first got it, the water pump needed replacing and also a bearing in the transmission.

There haven't been many problems with the car.

The driver's window does not work properly so we can't roll it down, it would probably fall out of the window.

The interior lights are non-existent and I haven't seen any light bulbs that look like they could replace the old ones.

General Comments:

I really like the car. It handles nicely and has a strong engine.

The interior is very comfy and has a sporty feel.

Although the dealer says the car is in bad shape, it runs great and feels solid. I will be sad to see it go, whenever that may be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

8th Feb 2001, 22:42

I have an '86 325 and it is awesome, mine seems to be in a little better shape, I only have 128,530 miles and my lights work. If I were you I would look my hardest to find replacement parts.

17th Apr 2001, 20:40

I have a 1986 325 E and I too agree, I love it. That car has been great. There are the obvious fixes, but most definitely a race bred car. Yeah, make minor fixes. I am looking for a new one 91 325 IS, I just wrecked mine. Definitely miss her already.

14th Jun 2001, 21:57

I have an 86 325, got it for under 2 grand, very sporty, no real problems other than the age, which I might say it is aging very well.

1st Jul 2001, 23:25

I just bought a 1986 325E...it is my first car purchase, just graduated from college and I love it. There are some fixes still left to do (the power windows stopped working the day after I bought it) but it drives like a sweet sports car. I love it...

21st Jun 2005, 15:00

I recently acquired a 1986 325 and I am quite impressed. It has a few minor problems which should be relatively inexpensive to fix. It handles like a true sports car and is quite roomy inside. It has an automatic transmission so the acceleration could be better.

2nd Apr 2010, 12:52

I guess I was sold a lemon Bimmer, because everyone keeps talking about how great this car is, but I have had mine for two years, and 2k has already been put in just to keep it running.

Every time I had a problem fixed, another major one would be found --- the newest one being fuel injectors leaking. I don't have the money, much less the time to put into this expensive P.O.S. so I'm selling it. Would I buy another BMW --- if I had the money? Yes. It's a great brand, but they're too expensive.