1990 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1990 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

A trusty and reliable motor

Faults:

Power steering noisy, maybe fluid issue.

Whole exhaust changed, rust holes etc.

The temperature needle goes above middle in heavy traffic, but normalises soon after.

General Comments:

A solid motor. Doesn't handle very well, but is quite nippy, especially with kick-down!

I bought it with genuinely low mileage and it does feel like a late model car. It is extremely reliable, has never let me down.

The Cabin is defitely gloomy, but the bmw red/orange dash light does it for me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

1st Feb 2006, 07:09

An E30 BMW that doesn't handle well?? That is a very rare thing indeed.

1st Feb 2006, 12:41

I've owned two of these cars and if it doesn't handle well there is something wrong with the suspension.

9th Oct 2007, 00:14

The guy above who says the e30 318 does not handle well is way off-base. This is the best-handling car I've ever driven (mine is a 91 318 sedan with 5-speed transmission). The car has its faults (noisy, hot) but you can't beat the handling.

1990 BMW 3 Series 320SE 2dr 2.0Ltr from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0Ltr Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

An excellent all-rounder

Faults:

One month after purchase, the engine blew. This was replaced with a reconditioned unit which, along with a new clutch, has made the vehicle feel as good as new. Numerous electrical faults have occurred, but these have been easy and cheap to replace on a DIY basis. For example, batteries on the SI board replaced, Electric mirrors now working and back lights for the OBC replaced.

General Comments:

I find the car a pleasure to drive, on either short or long journeys. The seats are comfortable and unlike with previous cars, I am not tired after a long journey.

The handling and steering have been excellent, needing no attention, just basic visual checks.

Good boot space for basic loads, shopping, suitcases etc, but I was very surprised to find that the back seats do not fold down. Even my 1964 Citroen Ami managed that task.

With the new engine and clutch, performance and economy is as it should be. Indeed, many a 'racing rep' have been annoyed at how easily the car can scream past their new cars, leaving me with a big smile on my face.

In fact, despite the expensive engine replacement, this car has been one big pleasure to drive and own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

1990 BMW 3 Series i 2.5 Liter 6 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter 6 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired194400 miles
Most recent distance199000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A great car to own

Faults:

I have had to replace tail lights and side marker lights. The brake lining light on the dashboard is on because a sensor wire is cut. I have not had to do any maintenance on it yet.

General Comments:

I bought this car even though it had 194,400 miles on it because the car was so well cared for by the previous owner. The dealer I bought this car from knew the entire history of the BMW. This car has no rust on it and runs very well.

I do not like the stereo console layout. The stereo is great, but because this car is much narrower than American models every thing is crammed. The left side of the stereo is hidden by the steering wheel. That makes it hard to adjust the volume or switch tracks when driving.

I still would buy this car and other BMW's in the future as the ride is very comfortable. I have driven 5 straight hours on a trip and I was not fatigued by the journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

1990 BMW 3 Series 325i Touring 325i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 325i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carNissan Prairie

Summary:

A real wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Split in Rubber air intake boot, cost £10.00 from main dealer.

Drivers seat has fair amount of wear, but fitted beaded cover, so can't see or feel it.

Hydraulic headlamp adjuster doesn't work.

Annoying rattle from somewhere in the back, after lots of investigation, it turned out to be slight wear in the tailgate lock, slight adjustment solved it!

General Comments:

I bought this car as it seemed very practical, loads of room in the back when the seats are folded (or removed).

Also a very solid feeling car to drive.

I didn't however, expect the performance, it has phenomenal acceleration, & sticks to the road well, in the dry, in the wet you have to be a bit gentle with your throttle foot, or the back end starts swaying!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

4th Dec 2006, 13:23

I have the same worn tailgate lock problem, my tailgate was so rusty that I've got a new one anyway (well, new to me).

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 31 reviews