1990 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1990 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.7L Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7L Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A solid fun car

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump, cost me about $200. I also had the timing belt brake at 110K miles (I thought the previous owner had changed it before I bought it, so it was just a misunderstanding), and that cost me $1600. I had the front control arm and front bearing replaced for $400. A/C compressor failed at 90K miles. I also replaced the rear shocks at 120K miles, and the front ones will need to be replaced soon.

General Comments:

I definitely have loved having this car. It's not a cheap car to maintain. Parts aren't really all that expensive, but labor is. I guess if you want a car like this, be ready to pay the maintenance costs. It is really fun to drive, though. To me it has been well worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

1990 BMW 3 Series is 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance217000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A good 'ole Bimmer that still turns heads

Faults:

Clutch release bearing was totally worn - replaced, and threw in a new clutch too.

Replaced all 4 shocks/struts.

Installed "Powerstroke" cross-drilled front rotors. Padgid pads.

Replaced the water pump and timing belt - watch for a loose timing belt tightener!! A loose tightener results in poor timing, fuel economy, overall performance, and oil consumption!

Cleaned the intake manifold and fuel injectors. Recommend blowing Penzoil FI cleaner through the injectors with a bicycle hand pump, while applying 12V DC to the injector. Runs like new!

General Comments:

Solid, solid car! I love it because I can work on it myself. Even if you have to pay someone to fix it for you, it's still a great car for the money. Rear wheel drive, in-line six, 175HP... you can't get that in a new car for less than $40,000. But you can get a nice used 325 for under $10,000 and put a lotta love into it... (and it will be returned).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

1990 BMW 3 Series 325iX 2.5 liter injection from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 kilometres
Most recent distance200900 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

Serious killer on the road

Faults:

Air conditioning out of order.

Driver's seat is broken.

Oil consumption.

General Comments:

Great fun driving this car. It was tuned by Schnitzer in Germany and is extremely fast. 4 wheel drive touring version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

18th Mar 2008, 11:10

Your opinion is sound. It is a fantastic car to drive. Road noise is high. It is a pure sport ride. It is a great car for winter with superior braking and handling. The cost to maintain is high.

1990 BMW 3 Series 325ic 2.5 straight 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

Sexy, fast and topless..

Faults:

I rescued the car from an abusive owner and have had to do maintenance that should have been done at 60K miles. Replaced front control arms, struts, mounting plates, rear shocks and mounts, all wheel bearings and passenger side outer axle bearing. The real bugger of a problem was an elusive and massive trunk leak. It's fixed now, but I lost the CD changer and the jack to water damage.

General Comments:

I love this car and have named it "Lara." It gets looks just about everywhere I go (brilliant rot color), and handles like a dream.

I took it to the Utah Salt Flats and drove on the Bonneville Race track. The car reached 135mph before I finally chickened out. The engine is stock, no modifications yet, and it zooms around town like it's running on NOS. And the cornering is superb. I have fish tailed only to straighten out as the limited slip kicked in and saved my butt.

I have driven the car from Seattle to Key West and from there to Connecticut, and I have to say the seats are less comfortable than granite.

The BMW dealers are patient and always help me when I come in with my neurotic search for the little pieces of the car that have no impact on looks or performance, but are just missing.

BT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

9th Sep 2004, 03:07

Same goes for me!

Flooded trunk, lost carpet, lost CD changer, lost jack.

There must be someone who knows why this happens, just with the 1987-1990 models.

Besides all this the car had done almost 325000 km.

The last 4 years for a total of 1000$ repair and maintenance. My wife is a quiet driver.

Still running with the original softop. Using a hardtop since 5 years. Has never seen the inside of my garage.

This is reserved for my 911 3.6 convertible.

I live close to the German borders and the 320i convertible it is by far the most popular convertible.

10th May 2005, 11:03

If anyone knows how to find that leak, I'd love to know too! I'm guessing, as the brake light failure indicator keeps going on, that it might actually be the "middle" light installed in the truck lid. I also see condensation there. Might be the seal there... I replaced the rear light assembly seals, but that hasn't stopped the indicator light. So my next guess is that one unless someone knows more... maybe it's the whole trunk seal?

Thanks,

Kevin

Brooklyn.

13th Jun 2005, 12:19

Just picked up an '89 325ic last week - haven't had much opportunity to get it out on the road, but so far no leaking (even on the 'wet coast' of Vancouver).

Can anyone tell me if and where you can get a hard-top for one of these cars?

3rd Dec 2007, 10:38

I also have the leak problem. I have found a hard top, and don't figure I'll ever have the rag up again. I'll set off the hard top if need be, but the rag is history. I may even remove it all together for weight.

Man I love my car. Problems, quirks, gripes, and all.

11th Jan 2011, 22:02

Coupe trunks leak water too. Sometimes, it's the tail light gaskets. They dry rot and over time water gets pulled in... It happened to me and I was surprised at the amount of water that got in. I installed new gaskets and no longer have the problem.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 31 reviews