1992 Buick Century Custom 2.5 from North America


Good reliable transportation with the 2.5L


Replaced battery and alternator, new sparkplugs and wires, fuel filter and air filter. Replaced one coil pack. Speedometer occasionally stops working. Rusty doors. Needs front brakes. First set since I have owned it. Replaced the windshield. That is it. Not bad for an old car. The previous Pontiac 6000 had 300,000+ miles and still going.

General Comments:

This has been a very reliable car. The 4 cyl engine may not be a a rocket, but it is reliable and gives good fuel economy. The car rides OK and and is fairly comfortable. The handling was poor until I put some performance tires on it. Makes a big difference on the freeways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

1992 Buick Century Custom 3.3L V6 from North America


Very fast, very nice car!


The A/C Compressor has been frozen up (it's pretty much rusted solid) since I bought it in January 2002. The person who owned it before me just re-routed the fan belt.

The car now drives to the right (tires or something)

Several oil leaks (according to Buick) internally on engine, doesn't seem to effect it any.

Buick told me that there was an anti-freeze leak about 1 inch from a header in my engine. That was about $700.

In the cold the door lock freezes.

Also in the cold, it does not want to start.

Replaced rotors and brake pads ($100)

Gave a car a tune up on the original spark plugs and wires at 118,000 miles!

General Comments:

Very very nice car! My car does not have ABS or airbags, (so I will be selling it shortly) but I love it.

The ride is unbelievable. It is definately a ride of luxury cars!

Acceleration is top notch. It is so fast, I'm surprised the 3.3L can move such a boat like this.

Steering (besides the problem I have) is excellent, very loose in the feel, but very tight when turning.

Braking also is excellent! I can stop on a dime and it doesn't chew through the brakes.

The seats rule in this car and the trunk space is ridiculous!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2004

1992 Buick Century Custom 3.3 liter V6 from North America


Not a car for students!!!


The alternator has gone several times in the four years that I have had the car.

The seat tore and broke, now the seat is permanently reclined (did not withhold to normal wear and tear)

General Comments:

It is a great running car, except it idles poorly.

It is definitely an older persons car, I am young and I can't stand the looks of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

24th Feb 2004, 02:33

If you didn't like the looks of the car then why did you buy a Buick?

If you don't like the way it looks get something less classy like a Yugo.

13th Apr 2004, 13:48

OK to the person who responded to me above, I was given the car for free and the car sucked. It was by far the worst car ever made. I know people who have them all different years and they hate them too. I have since gotten a new Pontiac Bonneville SSEi that is amazing so maybe you should get yourself a new car.

1992 Buick Century Custom 3.3 from North America


A solid, reliable, powerful and fairly comfortable car


I had the electric coolant fan replaced because it failed. the crank position sensor was replaced. the car died on my way to the mall and I had to get it towed to my mechanic.

General Comments:

This car is solid and well built. It's built with thicker metal than new vehicles. The 3.3 v6 is very powerful and its very reliable. the cars body style lets you have great visibility looking out in all directions. parking this car is easy. The rear tail light is a long one piece design. It looks nice,but is expensive to replace if it gets damaged.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

4th Dec 2002, 12:14

I must agree, the 3.3 v6 rocks! I've driven 4.0 jeeps before, and it doesn't have the guts to compare to this sedan. My crank shaft sensor went, and well as the alternator, but other than that, it has been problem free. Some other minor things like a broken power window, power lock, and power antenna don't work, but when thinking about a 10 year old car, and minor. Everything is great, including the heater and A/C which I have heard to not work very efficiently. I feel safe in my car, it being so heavy and solid. It's weight also makes it remarkable in snow, which living in northern Connecticut, is definitely a plus. None of the million tale lights have broken, even after being rear-ended, which is awesome. The gas mileage is soso, but as is expected from a powerful, heavy car. It's also very comfortable. Anyone who rides in it usually wants to fall asleep, and on cold winter nights, don't want to get out of it's cozy, roomy cabin.