1992 Buick Century Limited 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


The car features the very best of 1980s technology and comfort


Needed to redo an alignment because it didn't keep the first time.

Put on new shocks and struts.

General Comments:

I run mid-grade or premium gas to get a little more power out of the small engine.

Car was built well, runs well and is easy to maintenance.

I regret that it lacks anti-lock brakes, but that hasn't taken away from my positive overall opinion.

I find the Delco radio, hood ornament and analog speedometer to be very nostalgic.

There is only one cup holder in the entire car, and yet it has three ash trays. Classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2009

10th Nov 2009, 02:55

I know it is hard to believe, but this too will become at least a moderately collectible item. Yes, I mean, the late 80s Buick Century.

26th Jul 2015, 19:36

Definitely agree! I myself have a 92 Buick Century, and I love her. She was my grandfather's car, then my mother's, and now she is mine. I treasure her, and have lots of memories in her. I will keep her in prime condition and will take care of her for as long as I live! And I hope I DO see the day that she will be at LEAST moderately collectible.

Thanks for the nice write up!

31st Jul 2015, 13:34

Sure, any car can become "collectible".

If it survives long enough.

By the time a '92 Century is collectible, new cars will be self-driving, electric-powered hovercraft!

31st Jul 2015, 22:02

Buy an earlier Buick such as a 1970 GS 455 Stage 1 would be my suggestion as a collectible one. Or a Grand National.

1st Aug 2015, 14:56

The last collectible Century would be the '79-'80 slantback coupe with a turbo V6. Good luck trying to find one.

1992 Buick Century Custom 3.1 from North America


Cheap and dependable


3 water pumps.

Rusted (my fault for not oil spraying).

Finally scrapped when the heater core went.

General Comments:

Greatest car I ever owned. Dependable to the max, was never afraid to drive it anywhere. I put 350,000 Km's on it, and enjoyed everyone of them. Great highway car with great gas mileage, rode like a Cadillac.

I cried the day I took it to the wreckers (2005) because of a busted heater core that was not practical to replace, and I remember the wrecker telling me that all the Century's in his yard had intact motors and transmissions, and most were there because of frame and body rust. I still stare at the ones I see still see on the road and wonder if I could find another with 100,000 Km's on it; I would scoop it up in a minute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2009

15th Jun 2009, 13:43

If it is actually a '92 then it must have either the 3.3 V6, or the 2.5 four cyl. Unless maybe you're not in the US, then I can't comment. Anyway the 3.3 is a vastly better engine than the 3.1 v6.

1992 Buick Century 3.3 V6 from North America


Reliable, powerful and rather stylish for a Buick


The transmission started to slip around 185,000 miles, but with that many miles we weren't surprised.

General Comments:

LOVED IT!!! This car ran strong for the time that we had it. It had a lot of power for a car, and being that it was front wheel drive, it was fairly good in the snow.

I am a fan of GM cars and I loved this one. I liked that the doors locked automatically when putting the car in gear. The power seats were a nice touch and they were very comfortable. We got a lot of life out of this car, and wish it didn't have to go, but it was time to move on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2009

3rd Jun 2009, 23:12

I had a 1994 Buick Century with 29,000 miles on it last year. If I knew you loved them that much I would have sold you that car.

Great story. Keep up the frugality. Guess what? You're in fashion these days.