1991 Buick LeSabre from North America


It's a junker that is costing a lot of money, but getting me around


Bought the car, and found out the next day it was leaking gas from the lines. Replaced one that leaked, and another one broke. Had to tow it to a shop to get fixed.

Both windows on the driver's side do not work. Front passenger window is very slow when going up, and stops after awhile. Have to use my hand to push it up.

Car still has a slight gas odor. Even with 3 air fresheners hanging up.

Bottom of car is very rusty.

Cruise control does not work.

There are wires going from the hood inside the car, that you don't know what they are for.

Only the defrosters work.

Front left and back right speakers barely work.

Hole cut out under the back seat, where gas lines were replaced at one time before I had it.

Gas stains under back seat from the hole.

Water leaks in from the front side of the driver's door.

Previous owner had to replace the brakes. A little damage in front from when the brakes went out and hit their housing.

Sagging headliner.

General Comments:

Drives well.

Gets low RPM.

Both front seats should have been powered instead of just the driver's seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2008

14th Sep 2008, 13:13

Sounds like your car was not taken good care of. I see several of these daily, which is pretty impressive considering they are close to 20 years old now.

1991 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 V6 from North America


One of GM's last built-to-last cars


All 4 shocks are bad,

Wipers are misaligned with the windshield (not badly).

Cam position sensor broken; wondering if it's causing the hesitation I get sometimes, more often when it's cold. Any help here would be very appreciated.

Front leather seats are badly worn, attribute this to previous owner neglect.

Sunroof was leaking badly in corners, cleaned the drain tubes, has been dry since.

Right rear passenger door won't open. Help?

Left outside rearview mirror missing mirror itself. Can I get away with just replacing the reflective part, or do I have to replace the whole assembly? They're power, BTW.

Also, what's the deal with the low hanging exhaust systems on this particular generation?!

General Comments:

Other than the complaints above, I have NO other qualms with this car. Great gas mileage for a car its size, very roomy. Smooth on the highway.

Very reliable, even at 205,000 miles. Loving the extra power I get from the 3.8 V6 vs. the four bangers I've had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2008

1991 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 liter 3.8 SFI V6 from North America


An excellent cheap, reliable source of comfortable and roomy transportation!!


Passenger power window failed at 145,000 miles.

Struts and strut mounts need replacement.

Top pad of dashboard severely warped.

Motor mounts failed at 155,000 miles.

Chrome window switches broke off.

General Comments:

Overall an excellent car for the money! Granted, repairs will be needed on a 17-year old car with close to 170,000 miles. Cabin is well thought-out and roomy! There is significant wind noise above 55mph. Acceleration is very brisk, and the THM 440-T4 transmission shifts flawlessly! The fabric choice for the interior (seats) could have been a little more refined, but overall, the seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2008

1991 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L from North America


Comfortable death trap



Lines gone three times in three years.

Blower Motor.

Struts and bearings.

Front Wheel Bearing.

Rear Wheel Bearing.

A/C Compressor.

Rear Wheel Cylinder.


Gas lines.

Gas tank.

Sending unit very questionable. Reads a quarter full when empty.

General Comments:

I have never had such an unreliable car in all my life. A constant headache from day one.

The engine is strong though. One plus.

I am sure this car was OK in its prime, but this is ridiculas. I've owned cars twenty years old that did not fail like this. Every week a new problem.

I just had the brake lines done for the second time. Now brake cylinders failing. Almost crashed due to third brake line failure in three years. First time on highway at 100 km per hour. Lucky to have survived. This car is a curse from hell.

This is the second time I have posted this review. Mysteriously it never shows up on the site. Kind of like they only want to hear glowing reviews about all cars. Well this is a 100% lemon. I've driven GM all my life. That is over. Toyota will be my next choice. All cars are subject to failure, but this LeSabre is a death trap. I could not in good conscience sell it to anyone. It must be in the junk yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

29th Oct 2007, 11:46

Ditto. I love the 3.8L V6, one of the best engines produced, but the rest of the car is disappointing.

19th Jan 2008, 19:34

I bought a one owner with 72000 miles on it 1 year ago. Cost me 2500.

The exterior had just some little chips on it. The interior was excellent condition.

After a month, I started hearing a knock in engine only when idling. And the oil light just started blinking on and off. I'm trying to figure what is wrong; oil pump, bearing etc. but I love the car.

The owner had it serviced regularly at a dealership and the oil looks clean after 3000 miles.