1991 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

If you're looking for a great older car, this is the one to buy

Faults:

Rear brakes replaced at 136,000 miles.

One front tie rod end replaced at about 115,000 miles.

Front brakes replaced at about 115,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car to drive. Great ride for long distance trips and it handles well. Lots of front seat space, but the rear seat is a little tight for taller people when the front seats are adjusted all the way back. There's a little more road noise than there should be, but it's not too bad.

It accelerates very quickly, faster than you might expect from an ordinary family sedan. Lots of torque.

The gas mileage is pretty good (20-25 miles per gallon), considering that I don't always drive it gently.

There are only a few minor things I'd change about the car, like the placement of the seat belts (they're mounted on the doors). Some of the instrument panel warning lights are hidden by the steering wheel rim. Other than that, it's designed very well.

I really love this car overall. It's extremely reliable. I used to have a 1990 LeSabre just like this '91, and that was a great reliable car as well. My positive experience with that car is what influenced me to buy this one. I wish I had a lifetime supply of Buick LeSabres. It wouldn't bother me a bit to drive one of these on an everyday basis even when it becomes an antique! I'll definitely buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

21st Oct 2005, 08:53

Is this a 90, or a 91? your review is under a 90 LeSabre.

Are you really sure your belts are on the door? Is this a t-type 2 door Lesabre? If it's a 4 door, the belts are 2 point, and are not mounted on the door. If it's a 2 door, then yeah.

How do I know? I've got a 91 4 door LeSabre Limited. Last year they made em in this style, and I love em!

1991 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Traditional Buick ride, looks, feel, and luxury

Faults:

Engine blew the rod bearing, killing the rod, and also for some reason, sheared the camshaft timing gear bolt off.

Gas tank.

Fuel and brake lines.

Struts, all 4.

Tires, all 4.

Brakes, total brake overhaul, all new parts.

Holes in body.

Tie rod ends.

Inner tie rods.

Ball joints.

Radio.

Exhaust has a leak.

A/C needs to be recharged.

Broke the el-cheapo antenna.

General Comments:

1991 Buick LeSabre

Deep red, with dark red vinyl top.

Red interior, and fully loaded.

What a beautiful Buick! Bought on the 18th of December 2004. Fell in love, instantly.

Looked at it, it was selling for 1500 dollars. Parents took it for a test drive, determined it needed work, and were able to lower the price for me, to 500 dollars. I did not realize, at the time, that it was going to be a money pit. It was a 13 year old car, so it was expected. What was NOT expected was the engine throwing a rod, 500 kms away from home, on an island. Paid 860 to have it towed home and a new engine stuck back in. This happened right after I bought it. I was doing the work myself, so it was not until April 6, 2005, that it was finally running again, with a low KM engine, 122,000.

Replaced the tape deck with a Delco, Cd-player. Just plugged it in, and it worked good enough for me.

Very, very roomy interior. Very well put together, to give the feeling of luxury. I love the door trim, and the seats, very comfortable. Can seat 6, in comfort. No need for minivans!!

Very smooth, responsive, and livley engine. I bought the car, on the knowledge that the 3800 was indestructable, reliable, and long mileage lived. Guess I just got a lemon.

The new engine, runs VERY well. Gets REALLY GREAT gas mileage. Why own a small cheap car, with a wimpy 4 banger engine, when you can have a large car, with a V6, and yet, can get comparable mileage.

It is also quite fun to go from 0-100. I love the exhaust note this engine produces.

The ride is, or was nice. The struts are worn, therefore the car bounces arounds on fun roads. It is so bad, it bottoms out, and I've also had the car flying. It however soaks up bumps, with excellent composure. It is so nice to have independent suspension too.

Overall, it's a wonderful car, if you can get one with low miles, and something that was not driven through canadian winters. If its been well maintained, you won't have a problem. Wonderfull car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

2nd Oct 2005, 00:28

Actually, I took the car to my mechanic for a 4 wheel alignment a week ago. He asked me how I was able to keep it on the road, the way it was so outta whack.

After he'd done, It was quieter, not as bouncy, and soaked up bumps better.

The struts are worn, I have not the money to replace em yet, and I feel I don't need to yet. Its just on a really hilly road, that it's a problem.

BTW, its not my first car. I had a Chevrolet Citation before this. I have driven other cars before I got my Buick, a Mazda Protege, (didn't like it) a Pontiac Sunfire, and a Ford Aerostar..

I am a mechanic, so most of the stuff is easily done. Just that struts are 130 bucks a piece for the Monroe Reflex, plus, it'll need another alignment.

1991 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Unbelievable 4-door sedan

Faults:

Bearing started to howl, (replaced)

Camshaft position sensor broke.

Alternator replaced, water pump replaced.

Regularly scheduled maintenance.

General Comments:

I have never driven a finer vehicle. This thing has perfect throttle response, outstanding driving feel for extended trips, and beautiful fit and finish. Can handle a load, and is capable of hauling a trailer.

This car has never seen the inside of a garage, and never been touched by anyone other than me and my great grandfather, from whom I purchased it from in '95. It is easy to work on, and very well engineered. As soon as the engine was broken in, nothing, but full synthetic Mobil 1 has been used for oil.

I get good gas mileage, considering this car weighs more than some full size pickups. I usually average about 20 in the city, and 25 on the expressway. On a real road, doing about 60 MPH I can easily get 30 mpg, obviously depending on driving habits.

All in all, I don't think I could ever be happier with a full size sedan, than I am with this one. It's a "must-consider" for those who are in the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

12th May 2005, 20:19

A correction should be noted in the text above: This vehicle has never seen the inside of a garage should read, "This vehicle has always been garage-kept." I should proofread my writing more often.

3rd Sep 2006, 11:14

I have a '91 Le sabre. Great interior room plus decent gas mileage (close to 30M.P.G. on highway). What more could you ask for.