2007 Buick Lucerne CXL from North America - Comments

22nd Apr 2008, 11:00

If all of your front wheel drive cars were compacts then it is not surprising that they performed poorly in snow. The weight of a car also helps a lot. I have always driven mid-size or large front wheel drive cars and much prefer them to large rear wheel drive cars. I've followed policemen in Crown Victorias that fishtail around in snow and ice while my Buick stays nice and straight.

22nd Apr 2008, 15:01

I travelled 200 miles plus a day in bad weather in a rear wheel drive Crown Vic company car for years. The trunk loaded with equipment and catalogs (it is huge) and I found it a great bad weather vehicle in spite of the engine not mounted over drive wheels. They do quite well in the snow.

24th Apr 2008, 12:50

Our rear-drive truck based large SUV is the best vehicle in snow I have ever driven. It is much safer and has way better traction than any of our front drive vehicles (large or small) has ever had.

25th Apr 2008, 10:16

I also love my new GM SUV. I usually use the all wheel drive and it is great in all weather. I also have 4WD and used it twice, but AWD is really great overall...

12th May 2008, 03:25

I really, really wish some more Lucerne owners would post reviews here. I want to know what their experience with the car has been like. Someone? Anyone?

13th May 2008, 18:47

With Buick's average demographic, few of them are probably internet savvy. I think it's sad as I'm a young Buick fan at 23, but I am definitely the exception. It is surprising that there aren't more reviews, since the car has been out since '06 and there are about a quarter million of them on the road. I'm even more surprised that the Enclave has no reviews. There are several reviews for both models on Edmunds.com however (mostly positive I might add).

15th May 2008, 14:14

I don't think Buick owners are Internet illiterate, but I do think the demographic tends toward folks who are not really car enthusiasts as such. I'm an older semi-retired car enthusiast who comes from a family of car enthusiasts and mechanics. I see more younger people driving Buicks all the time, and I'm glad because the Lucerne and Lacross are great vehicles. My family members currently own one Buick (a LeSabre) that has 277,000+ miles with virtually no problems at all. They are some of the most reliable and comfortable cars in the world.

Members of my family have owned 5-series BMW's, C-class Mercedes, Lincoln Town cars, and Buicks. To me the Buicks have been more comfortable and definitely more reliable than the Bimmers and Mercedes (though on a par with the truly luxurious Town Cars). I'd recommend the Lucerne in a heartbeat based on our experience with Buick and GM.

22nd May 2008, 13:12

I am the writer of this review and I thought I might give you guys an update:

I have since put 39,000 miles on it and it is working like something made of invincible iron. Since then, I've only put 315.00 into it: (Gm's OnStar tune up). The loose seats were fixed under GM's Warranty. (take that Camry!)

Being 24, People constantly think I was spoiled or something when I was growing up, but They'd be surprised to know that all the money that went into the Buick was mine. People give me stares on the street, but they're good stares- and are almost in awe when I pull up to the Taco Bell drive thru! Ever since I was a little kid, I dreamed of owning a Futuristic car. This Lucerne is it. It has superb technology and class few other cars can match. Especially at this price! And now I am living the dream with the Lucerne. I can see myself riding in this thing forever.

23rd May 2008, 11:41

I'm very glad that you, as a young person, are enjoying your Buick. Congratulations on owning a really nice piece of American iron.

As for "driving it forever", you probably could. Our Buick turned 31 years old this year and is still in great shape. At that rate you should at least be able to drive yours until you're a grandfather!!

12th Jun 2008, 21:27

My 80 year old mother-in-law bought a 2006 Lucerne and I'm her designated driver. The Northstar V8 provides crisp performance although it could use a bit more torque. It sounds awesome with the dual exhaust tips, kind of a low rumble, and surprised my Mustang-loving neighbor the first few times I drove by.

The car has 18,000 miles on it and has had two relatively minor problems, both fixed under warranty. The weather seal on the driver's door leaked air and was noisy at highway speed and also one of the spoked wheels suffered discoloration after it was rotated to the front. As I said, both problems were corrected under warranty.

This Lucerne is a top-end model and has every option except the backing sensor. I am a big guy, 6'4" and 260 pounds, and the power seats adjust to give me plenty of leg room and head room. Shoulder room is a bit tight, though. The adjustable lumbar support in the front seats is a nice feature, and the seats have heaters but they don't get used much here in southern Arizona, and the traction control has never been used. The Harmon-Karon sound system is exceptional.

I like the tire air pressure sensors. The tires went a bit low over the winter and a warning light came on so I put 2 or 3 psi in each as needed. The magnetic suspension and ride control system are dreamy, making the car handle like a sports car with a firm and controlled ride, but even bumpy roads are handled with aplomb as the ride sensors operate at something like 1,000 samples per second and adjust the suspension to road conditions seamlessly.

OnStar and the built-in phone are nice to have features but a bit pricey.

Style-wise, the car is a looker and draws a lot of appreciative stares. It's nice to know that you can tell the V8 editions from the 6 cylinder models by the number of air ports on the fenders. Four per side for the V8.

All in all, I would recommend this car and my wife does also. She loves to drive it and it is perhaps the only car we've had in which she will pass other vehicles on the two-lane highways where we live. This car gives her confidence that she can complete a pass with room and engine power to spare.

As for the age thing, I'm 52 and mostly gray-haired but this is a sharp looking car for drivers of any age. I can see used ones being hot sellers in a few years for young folks seeking good-looking high-performance vehicles. Slap on a few aftermarket parts and you'll be ready to roll.

15th Jun 2008, 17:15

I'm 60, drive a customized "Grabber Orange" Mustang, and wish every time I drive on a bumpy road that I had a Lucerne!! Good cars, good performance, AWESOME ride!!

17th Dec 2008, 22:37

My wife and I have been looking to replace her 2001 Bonneville SSEi with a 2005 Bonneville GXP V8. Long story short, rare and over priced on used market. We looked at the Lucerne (same car under the hood) and glad we did!

I'm 41 and have always appreciated a car with power. We purchased a 2007 Lucerne CXS and couldn't be happier with it in all aspects, most of all the fun to drive factor and power (plenty!). As far as replacing the

Bonny with the G8, bad move. I drove a new G8 V6 and afterward I said I thought our 2001 Bonneville was a funner car to drive even at 65000 miles. If they thought they needed to replace it with a new large Pontiac how about a retro Catalina?

1st Jul 2011, 00:39

Excuse me, but the Camry isn't even a real car, neither is the Corolla. I have never seen such junk in my life. I traded the Corolla a month after we purchased it, and will NEVER buy a Japanese car again, NEVER.

1st Jul 2011, 00:44

From everything I have researched and all the great comments about them, I am sure they are very good cars. We just bought one, but I haven't had it long enough to see. I can tell you the smooth ride is amazing, and the 3.8l engines last a very long time.

1st Jul 2011, 17:20

I bought my 2007 Lucerne with 25k on it.

The first thing that I noticed was the rotors are a little warped; okay, not too bad.

The next thing is my oil level low indicators came on. I was 1-1/2 qts low on oil in 3500 miles. I added oil and then changed oil with Valvoline oil service, and now we are keeping a eye on the oil level every 1000 miles. So far I am right on track 1/2 qt low at 1000 miles. I asked several GM dealerships what is the normal oil consumption range for my 3.8 engine. The answer was 1 qt per 2000 miles. Call your dealerships and ask them the same question. I would like to see GM acknowledge the normal oil consumption range for this car is 1 qt per 2000 miles.

Also my car was GM certified. Good luck with that too.

Signed Ed Gruba, White Bear Lake, MN emgruba@msn.com

Also I love how my Lucerne handles and rides. It is a great car except for the oil burning.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site