1993 Buick Roadmaster Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Buick Roadmaster sedan limited the big one from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission the big one Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170 miles
Most recent distance210 miles
Previous carBuick Roadmaster

Summary:

Awsome

Faults:

Fuel pump failed at 190k miles, which is located in the gas tank failed at about 190k, a spendy fix ($200.00) and told not to run it on empty to help keep the pump immersed and cool.

Starter, alternator, battery cables failed at 200k+, but who's complaining?

Leather seats are giving away to Texas sun, I should have put on window tint.

Pinging got unbearable, a simple timing adjustment fixed that.

I have noticed the transmission sticks under full/hard acceleration, not sure how to address that, other than to be easy on the old girl.

General Comments:

I swear I am blessed to have acquired the 93 Roadmaster. My dad had it for nearly 10 years as a company car. He kept it immaculate. In 2002, his boss sold it to him for $3000. with 170k miles on it. Dad then gave it to me as a gift during some tough financial times. I love the car and highly recommend it to anyone wishing a powerful luxury ride of the century.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

19th Mar 2004, 17:15

I have a 93 Roadmaster with 250.000kms, and works fantastic. Extremely economical to run very low maintainence. Best car ever!!! Rob from Nova Scotia.

28th May 2004, 21:43

I am Rob from Connecticut with a 92 Roadmaster wagon. The rubber side bumper strips must be removed, scraped with a chisel and cleaned with lacquer thinner. Same for the chrome side moldings that they are glued to... scrape with a chisel and clean all the old adhesive off with lacquer thinner. This is a miserable job only for the most devoted restorer. Buy 3M double sided tape, NAPA #03609 and apply it to your rubber as it was from the factory then stick it to the chrome moldings using pressure and a heat gun. This fix is better than factory.

"Dynaride" shocks can be replaced with NAPA air shocks #MA-717. =Rob kinnaird@mags.net.

8th Dec 2004, 20:33

I have a 1992 Road Master and when we accelerate the transmission has a whining noise and can't seem to find out anything on the computer scope. Can anyone help?

1993 Buick Roadmaster estate wagon 5.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carLexus ES250

Summary:

Sensational product of Detroit excess

Faults:

Tie rod ends inner outer, cost with labor and taxes, $140.

Tires, one was bald do got all 4 changed at cost including road hazard mounting, taxes, balance $130.

Cup holder in armrest worn, a couple screws fixed it.

Door handle came out, a screw and some glue did the trick.

General Comments:

I know I have not owned the vehicle for very long, but bought the car for $2400 taxes, dealer charges, license included and its great for the cost.

The car is fast for a road monster.

Has great gas mileage for its size, better than my Lexus! which runs on premium.

Can fit my entire family and their stuff in it.

I just wish it came with a leather interior.

The air conditioning works flawlessly.

(good for the summers in chicago)

The heat in remarkable.

Love the way it soaks up bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

25th Mar 2003, 06:31

Another great thing about these cars is some of em have the LT1 engine, which they use in the Police Cars, Impala SS, LT1 Corvette (thats right, a Corvette engine in a Buick) and other performance-oriented cars. You get a Buick which looks like a grandpa car with that engine and you got the perfect sleeper ;)

1993 Buick Roadmaster 4 DSD sedan 350 L TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 L TBI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

The Roadmaster is a great car to drive day to day and the greatest on trips

Faults:

I had trouble with the power locks, but needed a new control unit installed under the dash. The alternator, radiator, and air conditioner compressor were all replaced as well.

General Comments:

I love to drive my Roadmaster. It is quiet, smooth, and responsive.

The leather interior is well designed and offers a lot of support. I like the woodgrain touches on the doors and dash, it still gives the great feeling of large GM sedans of the past.

I love the 350 V8, it is very fast and quiet, and gets 28 mpg on the highway.

The 4 note horn blasts the foreign autos right out of the way.

The outside appearence is very stately and sophisticated. The aluminum wheels lend a sporty sense to the overall luxurious body.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2001

16th May 2003, 20:31

I find it very doubtful that a Roadmaster with 5.7L V8 can get 28mpg. I have the same engine in a Caprice, basically the same car and the best it does is about 22-24. It is a big motor and the car is heavy (mine is 4500 lbs).

Now on the other hand, the 4.3L engine available in some B-bodies could get as high as 25-26 mpg.

Still, both mpg ratings are nice for a big V8 sedan.

25th Jul 2003, 22:45

How about 27 mpg from Portland, Maine to Boston. This was without the A/C on. Now, only 23 mpg with A/C on constantly. Not a bad price to pay for a frosty ride in the summer heat!

10th Dec 2003, 01:03

Up in Canada in -20 Farenheit weather, my 92 Roadmaster with the 350 V8 gets 28mpg (around 10L/100km) on the highway. It has about 150000 miles on it and runs like a dream.

19th Jun 2004, 11:56

I have a 94 with 200,000 still gets 26-28 mpg on the highway driving around 75-80 mph.

19th Aug 2004, 10:11

I agree my 93 roadmaster gets 28 mpg. a little less when hauling 22' travel trailer. Rob from N.S.

17th Mar 2006, 18:37

Cape Cod, MA. to Augusta ME. Cruise control on, now AC. 27mpg.

31st May 2006, 10:51

I just bought a 1993 roadmaster. It has the 350 in it. Hauling my 14' tri-hull boat was a breeze. By the way my air shocks was leaking. Still went GREAT up I-95. Fix the air shocks and went even better. I love it so far.

8th Dec 2006, 14:20

26 mpg was the EPA-rated highway fuel economy for these cars, but that is only a rough estimate. In real world conditions, it may be possible to get slightly higher than that, say up to 28, but in most cases it will be well below.

24th Dec 2007, 11:13

We had a 1993 Roadmaster; drove it 10 years and it was totalled. We purchased another one with 125,000 miles and love it. We have gotten over 25 miles to the gallon on trips. We pull a flat bed trailer with it with no problem in the D1 gear. My wife and I agree that for comfort, power, safety and appearance we only want a Buick Roadmaster. Buick got it right with this model.

1993 Buick Roadmaster Limited 350 lt1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 lt1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Powerful beauty despite GM's faults

Faults:

Because of poor dealer service:

Starter was replaced twice.

Speed/odometer replaced (mileage counted backwards at 90000 miles).

Trim mouldings replaced 2x by the dealer (very expensive and coming off again!!).

Electrical short caused the windows/dash not to work.

Car wanders, constantly need to control the steering/sway (four mechanics and they still can't find anything wrong).

At 105000 miles it keeps losing power.

General Comments:

Front seats not cushioned enough, exterior trim was applied about the worst I have seen with GM -cheesy plastic wood trim.

All that said I still love this car and will continue to buy low mileage Roadmasters when I can find them!!! Awesome power/looks/comfort!!! Wish they still made them!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

20th Apr 2003, 15:27

OK for your side moldings-- live a little and go buy something good to get them to stay. Ours has been sticking for a good 2 years after putting new adhesive on. Also--hey every kind of car looses some power at 105,000 miles. No car has its original power with that much mileage. These are awesome cars all around. The power, styling, body, and to tip the ice-burg, the horn.

27th Oct 2004, 16:57

I love this car no matter what! It can burn tire and the power is still great at 100,000 miles. The V8 is just great!

2nd Aug 2005, 14:55

If you're talking about the gray rubber moldings, I was losing mine too. Siliconed them back on.

I think I want to be buried in this car!

1994 White/ blue int.

16th Jan 2007, 08:23

Where are you located?

29th Oct 2010, 11:59

I am crying as we are giving this car to our granddaughter. We love it -- the comfort, & all the extras. Also the power one could rely on when needed. We will miss it.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews