1994 Buick Roadmaster Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1994 Buick Roadmaster Sedan LT1 5.7L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission LT1 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Grandma's Hotrod!

Faults:

Fuel pump replaced at 128,000.

That's it so far!

General Comments:

This is almost the ultimate car. (I would say it was, but it sure would be nice if it were a wagon, then it WOULD be!!)

The car will put others much smaller to absolute shame both on the street and at the drag strip. This car turns more heads than a red Lambourghini on fire at the local track (best run 15.4 @ 90 mph, and working on coaxing more out of it.)

Not only is it faster than anyone would ever suspect, it's also as comfortable as the Buick name implies. I've driven it on long trips and never have been uncomfortable.

This car has yielded me a best of 26 mpg on a trip to and from Michigan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

20th Feb 2005, 21:15

What color is your 1994 Buick Roadmaster?

1st Aug 2009, 00:06

I have a volvo 240 1990 with a 2.3 engine, boy is it dog slow merging on the freeway. I would love to get a 5.7 liter buick. I get 24 mileage max with combined city highway driving, more like 22. To get the same mileage with an engine that is more than two bigger is something I may go for.

1994 Buick Roadmaster LT-1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission LT-1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Best car I have owned

Faults:

Passenger power window sometimes doesn't work.

Door trim is loose.

Service engine soon light comes on once in a while (most likely an O2 sensor).

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, very quick, and gives a feeling of reliability I had not experienced.

No car I have come up against will leave it behind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

1994 Buick Roadmaster Limited 5.7 LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired141235 miles
Most recent distance157426 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Great sleeper car, can't wait to customize it some

Faults:

Replaced front brakes including rotors at 143,282 miles.

Replaced heater core due to leak at 157,312 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles real well for it's size and weight.

The limited version has all the comforts of most Cadillacs.

The power it produces is obviously compatible to the Z-28 I had.

This is a outstanding vehicle for us thirty something motor heads who now have families and need to pick up the kids and the groceries.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

11th Nov 2004, 12:39

At 97,876 replaced front shocks still rides like a dream.

1994 Buick Roadmaster Station Wagon 5.7 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The best car I ever owned!

Faults:

First year I owned her the EGR valve needed an easy 1 hour replacement.

Later on I replaced the rear air shocks because of small leaks.

The last thing I have done for her was change her radiator and transmission cooling lines.

General Comments:

In 2001 I had her shipped to Germany. I upgraded her EPROM computer and made her ungoverned. Top speed for me is 132 mph and she had plenty more gas pedal left! People are fooled by the looks of her. She is a true muscle car under that wagon shell.

Who knows how fast this car will go will the right combination of higher drive axle gears. She floats down the Autobahn over here at 120 mph no problem. I get a lot of jokes about her woodgrain and size, but when it comes to performance I leave every car and I mean every car, even the BMW's, sucking my Detroit exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

6th Dec 2007, 16:59

That's awesome that you like american muscle... What's funny is the new BMW M3 has a V8, and Mercedes as well as Audi have performance V8s. Let me tell you, when it comes down to it, nothing in the world compares to Detroit power, just look at stock car racing (Nascar).

BTW, if you bought a forced induction system for your Lt1, you would be untouchable.

7th Nov 2009, 15:15

The only problem with the LT1 is it is not as reliable or durable as the simple ordinary 350 it replaced, and costs more to fix. For normal people there is unlikely to ever be any use-able difference in everyday performance.

1994 Buick Roadmaster 5.7 LT1 based from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 based Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

A true SLEEPER from the 90's

Faults:

The normal water pump problem.

General Comments:

After a few easy mods this car is even faster!

My back is not as problematic as with other cars and I enjoy a long trip.

It is GM's loss that they killed production on this wonderful combination of power/lux.

Updating this car with many F-Body LT1 options (and a few from the LT4) has been the most cost effective way to reach the 300+ HP range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

2nd Aug 2005, 15:03

I have a '94 limited. I'd love to know what kind of cheap mods can be performed! Haven't done anything except a K&N air filter!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews