1994 Buick Roadmaster 5.7 LT1 from North America

Summary:

A car whose day has come - and gone

Faults:

Routine maintenance only for a used car.

General Comments:

These cars are made like they were in the 60's and 70's, huge, floaty, fast (in a straight line only), and horrible on gas. The Roadmaster is terribly ugly - or unique - depending on your point of view. If I close my eyes I am in my dad's 1970 Chrysler Newport. The guy who said they blow away any import on the road - true, as long as you don't have to take a corner.

Back seat room is terrible and hard to understand for a car this size. A little less trunk and more leg-room please.

They look better without the vinyl roof - I will never understand that half-vinyl roof thing? Why is that so popular in North America? Never seen a Mercedes or a Jag or a BMW with a half a pool liner on the roof. ruins the lines of the car.

Time will tell, but I don't see these being hugely collectible in the future - I imagine most of them will get cannibalized for the Chevy 350 LT1 engines.

In this day and age, vehicles like this don't make any sense from a performance or gas consumption point of view. These dinosaurs had to die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2007

14th Sep 2007, 17:51

They may be cannibalizing Roadmasters for the LT-1 engine, but they won't be getting yours, because the 350 in your '93 is NOT an LT-1, just the regular 180 hp 350. The LT-1 did not go into Roadmasters until the '94 model year.

17th Nov 2009, 15:30

X2... lt1's 94 and up.

28th May 2010, 13:34

The 1994 Buick Roadmaster is one of the best cars on the highway. They will never be able to make a car like that again. Very easy on gasoline. 33 miles to the gallon. Very nice ride. Like sitting on your sofa at home. Love it.

4th Sep 2012, 20:40

The sedans, maybe, although there's a group of people who really like them.

The Wagons have had a fanatically loyal following since the last one rolled off the line. They're already really starting to see pretty stiff bidding wars for lower mileage models (which on these is anything under 120. If you have one under 50, forget it. Big $$$).

As a friend once said, "The last car from the 1960's ever made was the Buick Roadmaster in the 1990's".

Right now, they're in that weird 15-20 year old netherworld where they're not yet old enough to be considered classic, yet way too old to be contemporary. Give it another decade, you won't be able to get a decent Wagon for cheap, that's for sure.

7th Sep 2012, 09:33

How many cars from the 1960's used as many plastic exterior body components as the Roadmaster?

Try none.

10th Jul 2013, 08:34

Actually, the 94 estate wagon has the 350, not the LT1.

1994 Buick Roadmaster Estate Wagon 350 Corvette LT1 from North America

Summary:

Best car that I have ever owned... bar none

Faults:

When purchased, the engine had a leak in the front seal behind the distributor and water pump.

Cost $340 to replace seals at local Buick dealer. Had my personal mechanic work on the car prior to the Buick dealer, and he was unable to stop oil leak. That exercise in futility cost $289.

One of the wires in the cluster on the firewall shorted out. Car towed to dealer. Located bad wire and repaired it...$123.

Brakes got spongy feeling at 93500 miles.. dealer lubricated brake area and adjusted brakes to firm up properly. $82 for the repair.

General Comments:

This is the eight passenger Roadmaster Estate Wagon... leather interior and with all the bells and whistles. Car in wonderful shape. Fast as a bullet.

Highway mileage amazing...25-29 mpg on highway on cruise control setting. Not so hot around town...15-18.

All the electronics work on the car. A/C is a delightful COLD blowing unit.

Vin Report showed that the car has not ever been part of any recall. Report shows car was owned by two previous owners. Had immaculate care.

Car very comfortable. Handles well and has Gran Touring Suspension package. Holds road well.

Motor and transmission operate flawlessly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2005

8th May 2006, 23:30

Any idea why my 1994 wagon only gets 12 miles/gal mixed? (i.e. 70% in town, 30 on hwy?)

Thank you.

Pavel.

Baffin_island@yahoo.com.

13th Sep 2006, 01:09

I get about that in my 95 sedan with mostly city driving.

20th Mar 2009, 22:37

First, check the spark plugs and wires. Then go to the fuel filter and air filter.

If that doesn't work, then try the mass airflow sensor and the throttle positioning sensor. If those aren't the problem, then check and replace the catalytic converter and O2 sensors; there should be 4 of them, and if I am thinking correctly on this car, there should be 1 maybe 2 converters, depending on the set up you have on your car. If the car lugs when accelerating, replace the converters.

21st Mar 2011, 18:30

Your low gas mileage may be caused by a worn timing chain. This causes the timing mark on the engine to be in error.

Before replacing the chain, advance the spark a little at a time, and test drive. Listen for a ping on regular gas, then back it down slightly. This helped mine a lot, even without replacing the chain.

3rd Apr 2011, 15:38

I have a 94 with 116k miles and I think I just need a tune up. It sputters and jerks when driving. I'm planning on doing a tune up this week. Any other ideas I would love to hear.

I've only put about 6k miles on this year and it's driven like a dream until now.