1994 Buick Roadmaster Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Buick Roadmaster Limited LT1 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission LT1 350 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Modern Detroit muscle with style

Faults:

The computer had to be replaced at 105,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever driven.

At almost 2 tons its not the fastest off the line, but I've wasted my friend's 2001 mustang with it.

At high speeds its unbeatable and its got me thirsty for more power. I'm considering straight piping the exhaust and adding a supercharger.

This has got a towing capacity of 7,500 lbs. This is the car I use to pull my 5,000 lb boat. It pulls it like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

1994 Buick Roadmaster Station Wagon 5.7 LT-1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT-1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carAll Makes All Models

Summary:

One AWESOME car overlooked by many

Faults:

Since I have owned it.

I have replaced the sway bar links (broken).

I have replaced the heater core (plugged).

I have replaced the thermostat (engine temp. a little high).

General Comments:

This Car is seriously quick, but rides like a Buick... Could use some suspension mods for a handling vehicle.

This car will stick with the Mustangs, Camaro's, 'Birds, etc stoplight to stoplight... and I have yet to find out it's top end. Highest I have run it is 120 MPH in 3rd gear, and I still have 4th, and lock-up.

Short of my 69 Charger I had when I was 19... this is one extremely quick grocery getter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

14th Aug 2005, 00:10

I have a 96 roadmaster and it's speed limiter hit at about 108 mph how does yours hit 120 and above?

24th Oct 2007, 19:52

"Overlooked" and "Under appreciated" are words to describe any of the GM and Ford full-size wagons from the 80's and 90's. Strong, reliable, comfortable, and damn good looking cars, yet so overlooked, often just because they are station wagons.

But as time goes on, I think that the big American wagons, even if they never return, will eventually have a big change in image, and many people will one day be very grateful they kept their big Roadmaster Estate or whichever big wagon they owned, or very sorry they didn't.

If there is any underrated type of car that is both easy to obtain and likely to become very valuable, it is cars like the Roadmaster Estate.

3rd Jan 2012, 14:11

These cars are governed to 106 mph.

1994 Buick Roadmaster Estate Wagon LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Great all round vehicle

Faults:

Outer tie rod, loose, replaced.

A week later, inner tie rod threads stripped and the rod disconnected: I suddenly lost steering! Everything checks out now, but the steering still slips from time to time.

Intermittent total electrical failures. Mechanic unable to find cause.

General Comments:

I love the car. It's comfortable, fast, economical (got 24 mpg on one highway tank), but lately the steering and electrical problems have got me spooked. I hope I can fix everything because this is the best car I've ever had. I've been using it like a truck to move plywood sheets and lumber, and as a hotel (slept in the back several nights on the road).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

29th Jan 2003, 08:28

For the electrical failure check the Positive + pole in your car battery. If you notice it has two cables. Unplug it from the battery, then disassemble the Screw and the two cables, clean them with a wire brush and baking soda, be sure to clean the center part between the 2 cables, then assemble and plug it in again. Also check that one of the cables goes to a power block in the Right hand Wheel Cover and clean also the connectors there. I had this type of problem and as soon as I did the terminal cleaning It went away. I clean my terminals once a year and I have not had the problem since.

1994 Buick Roadmaster Limited Sedan LT-1 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission LT-1 350 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13641 miles
Most recent distance24052 miles
Previous carChrysler Cordoba

Summary:

Fastest, most comfortable

Faults:

Twilight Sentinel will come on when it turns dusk, but the lights will not shut off when the car is turned off. Also, the trunk light level sensor came apart.

General Comments:

Replaced 195' thermostat with a 180' to facilitate engine/transmission computer setting changes. Engine would heat up in the summer with or without the A/C on, and I didn't like that. Hypertech makes a computer module which you plug into the diagnostic port. You thought it was fast before. Plus there are numerous other changes you can make, especially the temp in which the radiator fans come on. That alone was worth the money I paid for the programmer. Have had no problems with anything else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews