2000 Cadillac Seville Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2000 Cadillac Seville SLS 4.6 Liter Northstar from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

Beautiful to the eye, but overshadowed by high cost maintenance

Faults:

Both ride control front struts failed.

Both front heated seats failed.

Unusually high tire replacement.

Front wheel bearing failures.

Three battery failures.

Steering rod failures.

Electrical short, located in the headliner.

Coil bank failure.

General Comments:

This car has great engine performance and the ride, when not vibrating, is great.

Interior comforts are what you would expect from Cadillac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

2000 Cadillac Seville STS NOrthstar V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission NOrthstar V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

Terrific car

Faults:

Only problems with the Cadillac so far is the fit and finish is not that best. wood is starting to discolour in one spot...

General Comments:

The Cadillac has many bells and whistle, lots of toys, and does not vibrate like others seem too. Our family loves the new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

2000 Cadillac Seville from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Faults:

I absolutely love my 2000 Cadillac Seville. She has more than adequate horsepower, traction braking and automatic windshield rain adjustment. With heated leather seats and seat adjustment combined with side mirror automatic change combined with two separate radio stations (five channels each person), this is truly the good life. However, my Caddy is loosing oil, not burning, but leaking. I lost five quarts and have been adding about on quart weekly. She is scheduled to be returned to the garage for another look very soon. Does anyone have any ideas as to the problem? Thank you, Pauli.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

2000 Cadillac Seville SLS Norstar from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Norstar Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

A fair car supported by terrible service

Faults:

Vibration at 60-75 mph.

Heated seat failed.

Check Oil Level indicator stays on.

General Comments:

The vibration was noticed almost immediately. It was returned to the dealer several times to balance and re-balance the tires. I then stumbled onto a GM service bulletin that described the trouble I was having. The dealer told me that it needed new tires before they would look any further. After replacing all four tires and having them computer balanced on the finest equipment available, the dealer still refused to take the action stated in the service bulletin.

Then I headed for the dealer owner's office where he finally saw to it that it was repaired properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

1st Feb 2005, 19:56

I would like to know what was done to correct the problem.

2000 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

I love driving this car, but I am disappointed they quit making them

Faults:

Driver heated seat doesn't work.

The transmission was replaced under sales warranty @ 56k.

It has the vibration at higher speeds, it varies sometimes not until 75 mph sometimes at 65 mph. I am going to buy new tires even though the old ones are not worn out, suggestions?

I have to add a quart of Mobil 1 about 2500-3000 miles.

This one is strang, the stereo died about an hour after using mini disk, but came back two days later, no problems since.

General Comments:

This is the most fun car I have owned since my 1989 5.0 5sp Mustang over 10 years ago.

The oil is annoying, but I will put up with it as long as it doesn't cause any other problems.

Gas Mileage is great, I average 22 mpg, with a 4000 lb 300 hp car, that is incredible.

Handling is great, but the tires squeal easily, I will try upgrading.

Passengers love the heated seats (they make me jealous, the driver one doesn't work).

The Bose stereo system is incredible, 425 watts, and a 10 inch subwoofer from the factory, wow!

The car looks great, doesn't look like an old man's Caddy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

2000 Cadillac Seville sts 350 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Faults:

I have had a vibration at 62 miles per hour since around 7,000 miles. The dealer has given me the usual run around with balancing the tires with no improvement. Someone has suggested a softer set of tires (H rated) to reduce the problem, but I have not tried it yet. There seems to be ample evidence for a class action suit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

30th Jun 2003, 08:42

I too have the same problem with a vibration somewhere between 60 and 70. I just had the wheels balance again and the vibration is still there? Other than this irritating vibration the car is excellent. The power is unreal from the Northstar engine.

28th Jul 2004, 11:39

Which tires did they solve the problem with??? The car came with Goodyear Integrity's or Goodyear Eagle's, both of which seem to contribute significantly to the problem. Or Michelins, which sometimes exhibit the problem, but other times are the cure for the problem.

Thanks in Advance.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews