2004 Chevrolet Aveo Reviews - Page 14 of 15

2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Very good value

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this automobile. I am particular. Amazingly, I can say I have not found any defects in either material or workmanship.

My only complaint is that it does not come with body side moldings.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive.

It has more than enough power.

The trunk space for the 4 door is impressive. I have the Aveo 4-door.

It is relatively quite.

Quality of assembly is excellent.

There are no rattles, squeaks, or wind noise.

The standard CD sound system has punch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

28th Jun 2004, 13:45

Yep mines perfect too-

29th Jul 2005, 02:13

The 2004 Chevrolet Aveos are extremely amazing cars. The little peppy 4 Cyl engine has the power of a V6, the 4 Speed shifts very smoothly, the engine is quiet, lots of interior room, impressive trunk space, MP3/CD system stock, and many more options for no more than 11 Grand. I would recommend this car to ANYONE!

2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Inexpensive to drive

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

The car drives well on the highway as well as in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

16th Feb 2005, 18:19

Come on, don't bother writing a "review" if it's 2 sentences, man. That is just a waste of time, yours and the potential readers.

2004 Chevrolet Aveo from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance952 miles
Previous carGMC Geo Metro

Summary:

Great performance for economy car

Faults:

The digital clock did not show the proper time twice in the first two weeks of my ownership.

General Comments:

It has been great to go from a 3 cylinder Geo Metro to this fun 'not so little' car. I always felt like I was sitting so much lower than all the other cars on the road. The Aveo hatchback has a larger body frame that sits higher off the road. A great added feature is that the driver's side seat has a handle that rolls the driver's seat up to a higher level. This helps those of us with long legs. I no longer feel like I'm climbing out of my car. It is very roomy inside, as well.

The performance of the Aveo is surprising for it's size. It has a lot of power entering into traffic or making those fast lane changes when you get stuck behind the super slow drivers in bumper to bumper traffic. I have to be careful, though. I've caught myself cruising at 80 mph thinking I'm only at 65 mph... it rides that smooth. Amazing for a small car.

It's nice to have power steering & air conditioning. The air feels strong & does get pretty crispy cold against my skin. This says a lot since I've always been a very warm blooded person. The 4 speaker sound system is solid & strong. The 2 rear passenger seats are easy to flip down to both the horizontal & then to the vertical position (s).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS 1.4L DOHC from Singapore

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance624 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Affordable compact car with all the bells and whistles

Faults:

Nothing so far. It is a brand new car.

General Comments:

Affordable motoring with space and style.

Gear stick feels a little rubbery, but no problems with that. Clutch pedal is soft and easy. Brakes are very effective. Comes with ABS.

Steering is very precise. Light on parking thanks to the power assisted steering.

The cabin is very roomy for a car this size. Boot space is really big. There are two versions. Mine is the sedan which is longer by a bit compared to the hatchback. My option has leather interiors, 5 disc CD changer mounted in front and 4 speakers.

1.4L DOHC engine pulls pretty well. Has good power at 4th gear for those overtakes on the expressways. Suffers somewhat with 5 adults and stuff loaded on the boot.

With minimal load, goes to 175kph maximum speed easily. Engine still relatively quiet and some wind noise can be heard.

Aweful handling with skinny 155/80/13 tires. Dealer owes me 185/60/14 tires. Exploring the option of lowering the ride with progressive springs from Apex.

This model is made by General Motors - Daewoo Auto and Technology. It is basically the same as the Daewoo Kalos. Thanks to GM's "badge engineering", it is found in Canada as the Suzuki Swift+. Will be released as the Pontiac Wave as well. Finding performance parts would mean searching for 4 names. Kalos, Aveo, Swift+ and Wave.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

2nd Jul 2004, 17:11

Have you found any after market performance parts yet like lowering springs? please email me back at mgonzales482@aol.com.

5th Oct 2004, 19:29

Leather on an Aveo? A 5-disc changer? Must be after-market parts.

24th Oct 2004, 01:50

In May we bought our 2004 Aveo. I need to know if anyone else have a problem with squeaking noise coming from the brake paddle area?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews