2004 Chevrolet Aveo Reviews - Page 15 of 15

2004 Chevrolet Aveo 1.6 LS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Fun to drive, cheap small car

Faults:

Nothing, it was our hire car on holiday in the US.

General Comments:

Aveo is a small hatchback sold in the USA. It is similar to the Daewoo Kalos sold in the UK.

This car was fun to drive, it handled well and seemed to be very economical. If they sold it here and I needed a small car I would buy one.

Fairly spacious inside for a little car.

It was fairly well built, but obviously built to a price. Nice car to hire out, it was the cheapest option and didn't disappoint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

8th Mar 2004, 03:19

The reason for it being similar to a Daewoo is because it IS a Daewoo-GM bought Daewoo recently, and this is the first Daewoo-made car they are selling under a GM nameplate in the US. They are also selling a couple Daewoo models under the Suzuki nameplate (which GM owns a stake in and basically controls).

30th Mar 2004, 23:29

I thought they were Suzuki-designed.

6th May 2004, 09:05

They were never designed by Suzuki. GM did all the design work from 1989-2001 and suzuki contributed the engine.

16th Sep 2004, 03:10

As off today there will be little confusion as Daewoo are now being re branded to Chevrolet in Europe.

14th May 2005, 17:54

Daewoo designed this car before the GM take Over. The engine in the American version is not a Suzuki engine. It is a Holden 1.6L. A copy of an old Opel design. Daewoo has used GM engines for years. Basically you can follow the chain back to the '80's. Some markets still get a version of the old kadette engine!

23rd Jun 2005, 10:33

To the person who posted on 2005-03-10:

There's still some confusion because the model in Europe is still called "Kalos", while in the US it's called "Aveo".

2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance856 miles
Previous carToyota ECHO

Summary:

The Chevrolet Aveo is #1 subcompact on the market

Faults:

Nothing, this is the best new car I have ever bought for the price.

Brand new it's got all the options and it was way cheaper than the crappy Echo I traded in on it.

I am so over joyed about my new car. Bright red paint, great sound system, lots of power and snappy auto transmission. Mini cars don't get any better than this little sucker.

General Comments:

I love this Aveo, it's a huge jump over the Echo in everyway. I could out run the Echo anyday in this. In the Echo it was hell trying to merge into traffic, but with my new Aveo I cruise right onto the freeway with no problems. I can run with the best of them now and I have no regrets about buying this.

I really hope this car makes it big in America, cause it's a wonderful compact that brings flare into a line of cars that are always dull and boring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

19th Feb 2004, 10:43

Doesn't sound like this car may be around much longer... there is a news item today stating that GM has advised Chevrolet dealers to stop selling Aveos... no explanation as to why...

26th Feb 2004, 05:29

That was a while ago. There were 6 accidents involving Aveo's. The dealers were told to stop selling them and they investigated into the accidents. It was then found that they did not cause the accidents and the go was given to sell them again.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews