1990 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1 Mulit from North America


Awesome and Affordable


Not many things have gone wrong with my car, I have replaced the fuel module, alternator, and battery. All this was done over 300 000km's

I have also had to replace driver and passenger seats because of poor care on my part.

General Comments:

I would recommend this car to anyone! I have made many long trips with no problems at all.

Handles extreamly well, around corners and threw snow.

Extremely fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2004

1990 Chevrolet Beretta GTZ 2.3 DOHC from North America


Fast and fun if you have the money to keep it in shape


I've blown the cylinder head apart.

Always having alternator problems.

If you put more horsepower to it you'll blow CV axles every other time you race.

General Comments:

Surprises lots of people for a 4 cylinder.

Tough to find performance parts for it, and if you find them they are usually pricey.

Hangs with V8's when I've put 210hp to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

1990 Chevrolet Beretta GTZ 2.3 DOHC Quad 4 from North America


A comfortable, convenient and fast, high performance car


Paint is peeling due to common primer problem and previous owner washing it with a pressure washer.

Broke motor mount and strut plates auto-crossing. (not the car's fault)

General Comments:

180hp make the car super quick, it is a rocket off the line.

Handles well. Had to replace the struts when I broke them racing, (did not upgrade), and it is fairly tight now. Minimal body roll, quite flat.

Not enough lateral support in the seats, but that is common in American cars.

Interior is comfortable for long trips and there is plenty of room in the back seats.

Cruise control is excellent, as per usual in a GM car.

Have all the power options and they work very well.

Stock Getrag 5-speed is very nice. Smooth shifts and short throws.

Sharp looking car. The stock skirts and spoiler create a really sporty look on a fairly plain car.

Gas mileage is not bad. Usually 25mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

1990 Chevrolet Beretta GT from North America


Berettas make me happy! =)


The engine was replaced early on, before I even got the car. We had a computer problem, too, but that was several years ago, and ever since, it's been pretty much smooth sailing. Cosmetically, the interior's a little shabby - especially because the doors are falling out from the inside and we can't find a junkyard that has any interior doors that aren't falling apart.

General Comments:

Technically, the Beretta is now my husband's car, but I still get to drive it sometimes and I absolutely love it. This is hands down the best car I've ever driven and we're going to keep driving it until it won't go anymore. The ride's smooth, and it handles great in the snow. I wish they still made cars this good!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

27th Nov 2004, 14:44

Hi, I absolutely agree! Thanks for a great review!

1990 Chevrolet Beretta GT 3.1L V6 from North America


Long-lived, reliable, speedy car


Very little has gone wrong with my Beretta. The fuel pump started to go out at 200,000 miles, and the water pump went out at 220,000.

Other than normal maintenance, I have spent less than $500 on the life of this vehicle (1990-2003 and 286,000 miles).

General Comments:

Great car, best I've ever owned. Never let me down, great performance and handling, very good gas mileage considering how speedy it is.

Unfortunately I was T-boned by a drunk at 286,000 miles, but it still runs (despite the bent rear axle).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

20th May 2003, 10:10


I completely agree. I posted a review last month for my 1990 GT/Indy. I bought it new and still have it. I can't get over the fact that almost nothing has gone wrong with it in 240,000 plus miles. Now you say you've had the same experience.

I have always said Chevy makes good cars. But people love to rag on them. The Beretta GT was one of their best in my opinion. Especially with the manual trans. An unsung jewel. Congrats.

"On my way to 300K"

John S.

25th May 2004, 01:04

I too have put in my opinion of this car. This is the first car I have owned that has given to me more than it's fair share. I actually KNEW about Chevy shelving the Beretta design before I bought my Indy, but bought it anyway, and I'm still driving it today. It's on it's way to a very healthy 200,000 miles.

Who says japanese cars are the only cars that keep on giving?

-Indy or not Indy, that is the question. Don't say no unless you've tried the best. Chevy!

15th Sep 2005, 19:45

Yea we have a 3.1L Beretta that we have put on around 10000 clicks on it and it has 230000 clicks and it is quite powerful. Chevy`s are good cars if you take care of them. mine gets around 27-31 mpg.